Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Medical Student Course Guide: USMLE

This guide is specifically designed for UCI medical students. It provides direct links to online key resources and textbooks for the undergraduate medical education curriculum.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/MS_courseguide

USMLE Step 1

Online Resources:  

*BoardVitals USMLE and Shelf Exam Prep [electronic resource]:  This resource provides students and residents with advanced board preparation and review resources, which includes high yield questions banks and practice exams for USMLE and Shelf Exam. The NBME Shelf Exams question banks have been specifically adapted for the Medical School Student Level. They include thousands of multiple choice questions (MCQ), vignettes, and long-form questions for use during clerkship rotations.  

  • To access, go to BoardVitals and select Register to create a free user access account.  For authorized access, you must use your UCI email when registering for a user account.  If done remotely, be sure to go through the VPN with your UCInetID and password. 
  • After initial registration, click here to login.
     

*Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams.  This resource provides students and residents with advanced board preparation and review resources, which includes high yield questions banks and practice exams for the board.

  • Step 1 Board Preparation -- Recently updated, this module is designed to emulate the look and feel of the actual step 1 exam in accordance with the USMLE blueprint. As with the actual exam, the majority of questions will be case-based, while a small percentage of general principle, factual recall questions will be available.

    Step 1 Medical Subject Review -- This module is designed for those students who desire to focus their studies based on the relevant basic science subjects rather than the USMLE blueprint. The exam is not designed to mimic the USMLE and may contain questions that are not similar to those found on the actual exam.  However, the knowledge bits addressed in each question will give the students an overall edge in their ability to pass and score high on the USMLE step 1 exam

*Case Files Collection: This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.  The Basic Science Cases include:

*Harrison's Online.  New York : McGraw-Hill Health Professions Division, [1998?-

Crush step 1 : the ultimate USMLE step 1 review / Theodore X. O'Connell, Thomas Blair, Ryan Pedigo
O'Connell,
Theodore

USMLE step 1 secrets [electronic resource] / Thomas A. Brown, Sonali J. Shah. Philadelphia, PA : Saunders/Elsevier, 2013. 3rd edition.

 

Click here for more USMLE Step 1 Prep materials found in the UCI Libraries

Additional Study Resources for Step 1

Books that are only available in Print for Studying Step 1

 

Clinical Decision Tools

Clinical Decision Tools

USME Step 2 & 3

Online Resources:  

*BoardVitals USMLE and Shelf Exam Prep [electronic resource]:  This resource provides students and residents with advanced board preparation and review resources, which includes high yield questions banks and practice exams for USMLE and Shelf Exam. The NBME Shelf Exams question banks have been specifically adapted for the Medical School Student Level. They include thousands of multiple choice questions (MCQ), vignettes, and long-form questions for use during clerkship rotations.  

  • To access, go to BoardVitals and select Register to create a free user access account.  For authorized access, you must use your UCI email when registering for a user account.  If done remotely, be sure to go through the VPN with your UCInetID and password.  
  • After initial registration, click here to login.
     

*Exam Master Online [electronic resource]: USMLE and medical specialty board exams.  This resource provides students and residents with advanced board preparation and review resources, which includes high yield questions banks and practice exams for the board.

  • USMLE Step 2 CK Board Preparation (2,678) -- This module is designed to emulate the look and feel of the actual Step 2 CK exam in accordance with the USMLE Step 2 CK blueprint. As with the actual exam, all test items will be case-based, with an emphasis on health promotion and disease prevention.
  • USMLE Step 2 CK Medical Subject Review (2,678) -- This module is designed for the students who desire to focus their studies based on the relevant clinical science subjects rather than the USMLE blueprint. The exam is not designed to mimic the USMLE and may contain questions that are not similar to those found on the actual exam.  However, the knowledge bits addressed in each question will give the students an overall edge in their ability to pass and score high on the USMLE step 2 exam.
  • USMLE Step 3 Board Preparation (2,460) -This module is designed to emulate the look and feel of the actual Step 3 exam in accordance with the USMLE blueprint. As with the actual exam, all test items will be case-based, and the majority will be third order questions..
  • USMLE Step 3 Medical Subject Review (2,593)  -- This module is designed for the students who desire to focus their studies based on the relevant clinical science subjects rather than the USMLE blueprint. The exam is not designed to mimic the USMLE and may contain questions that are not similar to those found on the actual exam.  However, the knowledge bits addressed in each question will give the students an overall edge in their ability to pass and score high on the USMLE step 3 exam.
  • Go to https://uci.myexammaster.com/register to create a free account. Be sure to use your UCI EMAIL address to register!  If you encounter any problem, please email one of the Health Sciences Librarians

 

*Case Files Collection: This comprehensive case collection helps students learn and apply basic science and clinical medicine concepts in the context of realistic patient cases.  The Clinical Rotation Cases include:

Harrison's Online.  New York : McGraw-Hill Health Professions Division, [1998?-

LWW Health Library Clinical Skills

Passing the USMLE [electronic resource] : clinical knowledge / Ahmad Wagih Abdel-Halim. New York : Springer, c2009

USMLE images for the boards : a comprehensive image-based review / Amber S. Tully, James S. Studdifo.  Philadelphia, PA : Elsevier Saunders, [2013]

Brochert's crush step 2 [electronic resource] : the ultimate USMLE step 2 review / Theodore X. O'Con.  Philadelphia : Saunders/Elsevier, c2013. 4th ed

Click here for more USMLE Step 2 Prep materials found in the UCI Libraries

Additional Resources for Step 2

Books that are only available in Print for studying Step 2