Your point of departure is likely to be the UCI Libraries Website
You will also determine that each Reseach Librarian in Social Ecology has prepared associated Subject Guides that will be useful for you to review and with which you should become familiar:
Finding Books - there are several methods:
Finding Journal Articles -
Finding other scholarly content -
Finding Newspaper coverage -
Finding Government Information - the jurisdiction is critical here - we divide our resources up by Local for Orange County and its municipalities; California, US Federal (all branches of government and its agencies) and International for foreign countries, regions, and NGOs. Increasingly the current and most recent information is available in online or digital formats. Consult UCLS and the Research/Subject Guides for starters and additional direction.
Finding Primary Resources - there are many specific databases that contain primary resource content that may range from manuscripts, photographs, interviews, images, etc. many secondary sources will cite primary resources that are available to you. Consult with a reference librarian for specific direction.
Finding Images - many image databases exist - some are general such as Google Images and others are specific to content areas both from open access sources & pubilc domain or from specialized content providers, where permissions and copyright may be an issue. Again, consulting with a reference librarian will be worthwhile. There is also a Subject Guide for Images and one for Visual Literacy.
Finding Data or Statistics - there are many sources that contain a range of data - depending on what you need and whether it is comparative, corresponds to local, national or international coverage and sources, it may be part of a collection or resource or totally independently packaged, again consulting with a reference librarian is recommended. There is a Subject Guide for Social Sciences Data Sources that may be helpful.
Conducting Literature Reviews - there are different methods on how to conduct a literature review - some are influenced by subject or discipline, and some by the resources themselves and the publishing traditions already in place. There are ways to qualify your search in order to obtain Review Articles in many databases. There is also a database that contains Annual Reviews - invited papers to summarize the research and knowledge that has been compiled on a certain topic.
Depending on the research strategies you will employ and the process by which you will capture data, record and manage it, and the final product you envision, you may consider the following resources:
Off-campus? Please use the Software VPN and choose the group UCIFull to access licensed content. For more information, please Click here
Software VPN is not available for guests, so they may not have access to some content when connecting from off-campus.