Find Books - UPPP 292A Urban Planning Professional Report - 2023-2024 - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Library of Congress Classification Schedule - Call Numbers

The location of book material is dependent upon the call number which is driven by the Library of Congress Classification Schedule. The following call numbers correspond to the subject areas and can be browsed physically in the libraries or online in LIBRARY SEARCH by "Call Number." Located in the Langson Library (LL) & Science Library (SL), there are a variety of relevant resources that can be found and consulted. The is a growing number of electronic resources, eBooks, Government Information Sources, visual images, and of course journals and conference papers/proceedings. Increasingly many traditional print reference items now can be borrowed and are in the Library Stacks. Arrangement is by call number and you can browse and search the following areas:

BF 353 – environmental psychology

F 1250 – California statistics & demographics

G 70s - Green building (SL)

GE - Environmental Sciences (SL)

GF 125 – urban geography

HC – environmental economics

HD – 593 – land use

HD 9696 - Information Technology, Telecommunications

HE 305-311 - transportation

HT 165-167 - housing

HT 168-169 – planned communities

HT 170-178 – urban renewal

HT 390-395 – regional planning

KF 3775 – environmental law and zoning

KFC 811– California law and zoning

NA 9000 – architecture and design, Regional Science

TD 194 & TH 380s– sustainable development, sustainability (SL)

TX 355 – construction & environmental design (SL)

Finding Books & eBooks

There are many ways to identify the availability of a book, book chapter and format of the book - as an eBook or in print. UC Library Search was launched as a discovery source for all library holdings across all 10 UC campuses. The left side bar allows you to refine your search in many ways. One can retrieve content by searching for books, book chapters, journal articles, newspaper articles, theses/dissertations, films, videos, music scores & recordings, Government documents and Course Reserves. In addition, one can search only UCI's holdings by searching the Advanced Search option for the Library Catalog and selecting specific features of what one needs. It is recommended that one search databases for journal articles for more complete access to what has been published. he order of this recommendation includes priorities for UCI users. There may be multiple records for the different formats in UC Library Search. If UCI has an eBook format for a specific title and you prefer to read a print copy, you can borrow that book on ILL from another campus.by submitting an ILL request via UC Library Search.

Connecting from Off-Campus will require that you use the VPN to access licensed content. Follow the directions and load on up to five devices including your cell phone, tablets, laptops, and desktops. Please be aware that you may be asked to login with your UCInetID to access specific resources. This Duo MultiFactor Authentication is another layer of security when accessing protected systems and services. If you have any questions, please contact OIT (Office of Information Technology) 24/7 at 949-824-2222.

Finding book chapters is increasingly important and available in the digital arena. Many eBook platforms allow one to search at the chapter or full text level, and those will be noted in each subject area.

UC Library Search
Library Search is a new search and discovery tool for books, articles, images, databases, journals, and videos that offers powerful search and display features. This includes the traditional search options of a catalog (such as looking up specific authors, titles, and keywords) and expands the types of resources you can discover related to your research.
more...less...
To find books for which you have direct access to either as an eBook or in print, please restrict your search to Library Catalog, and consider using the Advanced Search option. You can further filter your searches using the left side bar (e.g. by Availability, Subject, Author/Creator, Location, Date etc). The default for results is to Relevancy; however, that can be changed using the pull down menu on the left.
“Almost everything” searches beyond the UCI collections to include material available in open access repositories; however, please refer to Melvyl to search other libraries’ holdings for interlibrary loans. Library Search is not a substitute for searching databases to find articles, conference papers, and other non-book materials. The library is committed to maintaining access to those subject related databases for their unique search potential.
WorldCat
An international library catalog noted on UC Library Search side bar as “External Search – Search Libraries Worldwide” to borrow materials not held at any UC Library via InterLibary Loan.
Amazon.com
Commercial site that may direct you to interesting items including some that may still be forthcoming; you can check to see if they are at UCI by consulting UC Library Search.

eBook Collections

There are many eBook resources - reference titles, collections from many publishers (Springer is the largest publisher represented) known for scholarly and professional title releases. There are scholarly societies and commercial publishers represented/. They are all identified in UC Library Search as "available online" and many are listed on different Subject Guides. Examples of these include the following collections and there are many more listed in UC Library Search:

There are many eBooks from trade publishers on different platforms listed on the EBooks Guide.

The professional societies, especially in Engineering are listed on the professional society websites. These include:

IEEE - IEEE Xplore
ASCE - ASCE Research Library
ASME - ASME Digital Collection
SAE - SAE Mobilus
SPIE - SPIE
IET - IET Digital Library

Google Books
The Google legal agreement has been settled and there are 3 categories of books that can be searched: 1) In copyright & in-print books: titles that are available for purchase and may already be in our library collections to borrow 2) In-copyright but out of print books: titles that may be in library collections but can be purchased from special sources that handle out of print titles 3) Out of Copyrighted Books: Books that users can read, download and print and for which links will be available.
more...less...
Just remember to search Library Search or MELVYL to check on access or availability for works in categories 1 & 2. You can customize your searches and establish "My Library" by organizing and sharing information.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
As a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, including the University of California, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive
Vast collection of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more content.
Springer eBooks and Series
Largest collection of eBooks from one publisher from 2008+. The different book series and subject scopes on the left side bar can be used to refine your search. Emphasis is on STEM disciplines.
Elsevier eBooks
Large eBook collection in areas of STEM and Social Sciences/Humanities.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Large strong collection from many imprints including Routledge (mostly social sciences & humanities content), CRC (including CRCnetBases such as ENGnetBase, etc), T&F (sciences) reflecting many subject areas across social sciences and STEM fields.
National Academies Press
Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books. Supports STEM education and related topics.
Wiley / IEEE eBooks
Available from the IEEE Xplore platform on topics ranging from bioengineering, communication, networking, robotics, signal processing, materials, electromagnetics, general topics, etc.
OHE (O'Reilly for HIgher Education)
A collection of nearly 50k titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly and selective titles from 200+ global publishers covering subject ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Sciences, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000 hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education. Different presentation of content than usual page turning.
Wiley Blackwell eBooks
From 9 main subject areas, eBooks licensed by UC libraries.
Knovel
A large database of books from multiple publishers in engineering, chemistry & materials science including many reference works and interdisciplinary content in areas like sustainable energy. Contains formulas, equations, data and properties allowing you to incorporate your research data.
AccessEngineering
An engineering reference and teaching platform that provides access to interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. This database includes content from a number of McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classic texts such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and Schaum's Outlines. Contains hundreds of fulltext engineering books in most areas of engineering.
IGI Publishing List
IGI Publishes heavily in Engineering, Computer Sciences, Policy Sciences, Business & many other subjects. Read a chapter from more than 2500 books. All listed in UC Library Search.
Artech House Books
eBook collection with intense coverage about telecommunications, radar & electrical engineering related topics.
SPIE Online Books
Mostly on the subject of optics and photovoltaics.
IET eBooks
Electrical & Computer Engineering titles.
UC Press eBooks Collection 1928-2021
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes more than 5,000 books from the UC Press and its affiliated presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Later coverage of eBooks listed in UC Library Search.
MIT Press eBooks
Some may be on the IEEE Xplore platform. Complete holdings should be available from 2018 and all are listed in UC Library Search.

eReference

Finding information in online sources is increasingly the norm. There are general and specialized encyclopedias that serve as points of departure; handbooks and tools and eBooks. All individual titles are found in ANTPAC.

Sage eReference [electronic resource]
Reference books published by SAGE in social sciences and more.
more...less...
Sage also includes books in African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology.
Gale Virtual Reference Library*
Searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
Contains synopses of information as well as references to key works.
Oxford reference online premium
Large collection that includes Oxford Companion to the Mind and more. Longer entries contain bibliographies of key works.
AllREFER.com
Search by keyword or browse a wide variety of free encyclopedia and dictionary resources.
Britannica Online
Wikipedia
This free encyclopedia contains entries & contributions by volunteers that are not refereed and should be verified. Most contain extensive information with reference references in a short essay format.
Nolopedia
Free online legal encyclopedia from Nolo Press.
Wex LII / Legal Information Institute
Wex is an ambitious effort to construct a collaboratively created, public-access law dictionary and encyclopedia. Hosted by Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School.
Encyclopedia of Psychology