Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

UPPP 292A Urban Planning Professional Report - 2019-20: Historical Orange County/California

To support culminating project/thesis
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/PPD_292A_Report_2019-20

Special Collections at UCI

 

Historical Orange County & California materials and general Special Collections - please contact Steve MacLeod (smacleod@uci.edu).  The Special Collections Dept will be closed on the Langson Library 5th floor due to reconstruction from Nov 29, 2010 - January 31, 2011.  The staff and limited resources will be available in the Southeast Asian Archive on the 3rd floor, Room 360.  For additional information please contact spcoll@uci.edu or (949) 824-3947.  Some specific resources include:

            a.  ArchiveGrid - a collection of finding aids for archival and manuscript materials found at hundreds of libraries and collections - full finding aids are not all available but links to holding institution for additional contact information is provided.  Contains lots of historical information about city plans and architecture, and related documents on a national scale

            b.  Online Archive of California - database containing archival holdings and images of 26 California museums, historical societies, libraries and institutions with descriptive finding aids - rather significant holdings

           c.  Rich print holdings - listed in ANTPAC & MELVYL

           d.  Southeast Asian Archive - chronicles the refugee experience and settlement in Orange County communities

           e.  Anteater Antics - a blog about interesting items in the UCI Special Collections Department.  Check it out.

 

 

 

Other Local Resources

Other Local Resources - for some of your sources you may need to visit area libraries that specialize in those holdings, ie) Los Angeles Public Library (www.lapl.org), County of Los Angeles Library System (http://www.colapublib.org/ which includes Stanton, Santa Clarita, Newhall, etc) or the UCLA Library; Riverside County or UCR Library - you have borrowing privileges at the other UC campus libraries; or local public libraries in the municipalities which you are studying, ie) Huntington Beach, Anaheim, Newport Beach or Orange County Public Library system (not all cities are a part of this - some are independent).  Also, you may want to search the city website for related documents and information.  Local public libraries are a wonderful source for local information and city agencies, governments, and their Planning Departments are also excellent sources for specs, guidelines, master plans, city plans and other resources.

 

Remember that Los Angeles County is large, diverse and extends across many miles from the far San Fernando Valley across the San Gabriel Valley and through the South Bay in addition to the metropolitan downtown or center city.  The population is greater than 14 million.

 

 

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu