icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. Using campus WiFi, library resources will load an authenticate automatically. Off-campus, you'll need to use the software VPN (virtual private network) on your laptop or device.You can always make an appointment the visual arts librarian (Jenna Dufour) by clicking here. Appointments can be made virtually or in-person. I'm here to help!
As an art history student or scholar, your line of critical inquiry is likely rooted in other topics that expand the scope of visual arts content. Sometimes you need to research on a topic like climate change or environmental issues, gender studies, critical theory, etc. UCI Libraries curates many other Research Guides which point you to discipline-specific databases, since we have so many! You can also browse on A-Z Database Page, which lists all of UCI's currently subscribed or freely available databases across all areas of study. The databases listed on this page primarily cover humanities topics.
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the records and abstracts from Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB, 1947-2001), combined with Bibliographie Altägypten (BA, 1822-1946), the Aigyptos database with keywords, and more than 50,000 further items. Coverage is from 1822 to the present. It is updated nearly every day.