As much as we wished research was quick, linear, and streamlined, it is often quite messy in its early stages and takes us in many directions before we arrive at a thesis or clear direction. Conducting good research requires searching in multiple databases and places for information, especially when your interests intersect with other disciplines or if your methodology includes a historiographical framework and you are searching for an equal amount of primary and secondary sources.
The Articles tab of this research guide includes 4 sub-pages for finding articles, organized thematically by different kinds of library databases and other tools for finding articles of all kinds: visual arts databases, primary source databases, multidisciplinary databases, and newspaper databases.
Note: UCI Libraries curates many other Research Guides that will link you to discipline-specific databases. You can also browse on A-Z Database Page, which lists all of UCI's currently subscribed or freely available databases across all areas of study.
Please note that some databases only index the articles (rather than provide the full-text) which means that you'll have to use the button to run an automated search to find the full text. Often times, the full-text article will be available in a different library database. You can also search by a specific journal title in UC Library Search by selecting "Journals @ UCI" button.
Off-campus? Please use the Software VPN and choose the group UCIFull to access licensed content. For more information, please Click here
Software VPN is not available for guests, so they may not have access to some content when connecting from off-campus.