Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Art History: Home


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/arthistory

REMOTE HELP

W21 Remote Quarter: I am available virtually Monday-Friday to help you with your research!

Individual AppointmentsSchedule a 30 or 45 minute consultation via Zoom.

Email MeYou can also reach me with any questions you have by email dufourj at uci dot edu or clicking the URL above.

VPNFor help with connecting off campus.

Welcome to the Art Research Guide!

Hello! This guide was designed to point you to resources for art historical and visual arts research. Art History is an incredibly vast discipline - geographically, historically, and intellectually. There are so many amazing resources to support you with your research, ideas, and information needs. The tabs along the top of this guide will point you to many resources and various types of information. It can feel like a lot! So if you are just getting started, I recommend browsing the recommended resources below on this main page. And as always, I'm here to help! :)

Are you looking for background information (artist biographies, overviews of artistic periods and movements, etc.)? Are you looking for bibliographies or art imagesOr maybe you need to find art history e-Books or scholarly articles and exhibition reviews? This guide has you covered! 

Artist Biographies + Background Information

Background Information:
Oxford Art Online Lock Icon

  • Includes access to the Benezit Dictionary of Artists (artist biographies + more!)
     
  • Includes access to Grove Art Online (artists, movements, periods, topical overviews)
     
  • Detailed bibliographies and exhibition histories in many artist entries.

Bibliographies for Art History

Bibliographies:
Oxford Bibliographies: Art History 
Lock Icon

  • A reliable and comprehensive resource for  bibliographic guidance.
     
  • Spans all periods in art and global coverage of topics.
     
  • Compiled by leading scholars on all aspects of art history.

 

eBooks for Art History

Art History eBooks:
Art & Architecture E-Portal 
Lock Icon

  • A collection of exhibition catalogs and art books/criticism/theory.
     
  • 200 eBooks available + growing!
     
  • Many we own in print, but now you can access these remotely.

Articles + More


 

Scholarly Articles, Exhibition Reviews, Artist Interviews:
Art Source Lock Icon

  • The largest full-text database covering visual arts and easy to use!
     
  • You'll find scholarly articles, exhibition reviews, artist interviews, etc.
     
  • Strong international coverage as well.

Finding Images

Images Online:
Artstor Digital Library Lock Icon

  • A digital library of images and artworks licensed for educational use!
     
  • Images are contributed by many museums & libraries globally.
     
  • High resolution for analysis and other fun tools.

Art & Visual Studies Subject Guide

Jenna Dufour's picture
Jenna Dufour
Contact:
949.824/6672

Connecting to Library Resources

  • The Lock Icon icon means this resource is paid for by the libraries and requires UCI authentication. 
  • For help with VPN & connecting off-campus visit https://www.lib.uci.edu/connect.