Medical Student Course Guide for Accessing UCI Libraries' Resources

Step-by-step guidance is provided for symptom evaluation, diagnosis, treatment, follow up and prevention. Updated daily using robust evidence based methodology and expert opinion.

A clinical search engine and point-of-care database that provides access to thousands of online resources including books, journals and multimedia.

Current and accurate, evidence-based content for practicing clinicians. A multidisciplinary systematic database of emerging scientific literature and clinical practice guidelines.

Point of care resource of filtered, synopsized, and evidence-based information. Contains clinical references which are the equivalent of 40,000 pages of original peer-reviewed text. Specific practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment are provided.

Resource for data on Infectious Diseases. Includes data on bacterial, fungal, parasitic and viral infections, vaccines and immunoglobulins, microbes, and drugs.

Isabel is used by healthcare providers around the world to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis. 

Isabel is a diagnosis checklist tool, which helps clinicians broaden their differential diagnosis and recognize a disease at the point of care. By entering the information normally captured in a patient workup, you are provided with a list of possible diagnoses to assist with making an accurate final diagnosis quickly and easily at the point of care.

A diagnostic and visual clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Includes thousands of images representing hundreds of visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. Quickly search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or review travel or medication-related events at the point of care.

Provides comprehensive drug, acute care, and toxicology information. Databases can be searched individually, or a collection of databases can be searched simultaneously. A suite of PDR sources and Martindale are included in this resource.

Monthly summaries of infectious diseases new or updated practice guidelines, recent clinical trials, new reviews, relevant drug safety notices, new drug approvals, new dosage forms, new treatment indications and other current developments.

Research and guidelines from over 150 medical journals curated and summarized by physician-editors, including expert commentary. Content covers General Medicine and numerous specialties. Subscribe to receive free email alerts based on topics or specialties of interest.

Contains content from over 120 clinical journals selected on the basis of scientific merit and assessment of relevance to evidence-based internal medicine practice. The articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts. ACP Journal Club is editorially independent from Annals of Internal Medicine and the American College of Physicians.

Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques. It also includes communication and interpersonal skills videos.

Producer and provider of science videos with the mission to improve scientific research and education. Scientists, educators and students of universities, colleges, hospitals and biopharmaceutical companies worldwide use JoVE for research, teaching and learning.

StatPearls develops educational activities for healthcare professionals through practice-relevant online professional medical education with a comprehensive educational and point-of-care resource for physicians, nurses, physician associates, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and a wide range of other allied health professionals. Resources for medical students, USMLE preparation, recertification, and continuing education for healthcare professionals at hospitals.

An online e-book resource that provides access to health sciences information. Contains thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools and more.

Collections of eBooks by specialty in the fields of Anesthesiology, Cardiology, Critical Care, Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Medical Education, Neurology, ObGyn, Oncology, Pediatrics, Pharmacy and Surgery, as well as Basic Sciences.