Access requires an active UCInetID and password.
Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).
Access available to all.
StatPearls develops educational activities for healthcare professionals through practice-relevant online professional medical education with a comprehensive educational and point-of-care resource for physicians, nurses, physician associates, nurse practitioners, pharmacists, and a wide range of other allied health professionals. Resources for medical students, USMLE preparation, recertification, and continuing education for healthcare professionals at hospitals.
Blueprints Family Medicine, 4e (print)
by
Blueprints Family Medicine provides a complete, yet succinct review of the key concepts and topics that students need to know for a four- to six-week family medicine clerkship. With its concise, well-organized format, it serves as an ideal rapid reference for day-to-day patient care as well as subject examinations and board review. Updates throughout reflect the most current treatment and management strategies. A new section covers the 25 drugs most commonly prescribed in the primary care setting. Case vignettes demonstrate clinical applications. 100 USMLE-style review questions, with full explanations, facilitate exam preparation. Key Points at the end of each chapter summarize important information. Clinical boxes highlight clinical manifestations, differential diagnoses, and treatment options. A helpful appendix provides easy access to evidence-based resources.
Case Files Family Medicine, 5e
by
Realistic patient cases help sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! Case Files: Family Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in patient care. Each case begins with a vignette accompanied by relevant open-ended questions designed to teach diagnostic or therapeutic approaches relevant to family medicine. The answers that follow emphasize mechanisms and underlying principles. This edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life family medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Graber and Wilbur's Family Medicine Examination and Board Review, 5e
by
Master every facet of family medicine with this comprehensive, engaging, meticulously updated guide and enjoy doing it! This is the go-to resource for students and practitioners. Whether you're studying for the boards or USMLE or looking to boost your professional knowledge, Family Medicine Examination & Board Review delivers everything you need to move to the next level of your career. Packed with 350+ progressive cases and thousands of questions with right and wrong answers explained in detail, this matchless guide provides both the information and practice required for complete mastery of the subject. This new edition gets you fully up to date with critical information on a host of topics--from health maintenance, metacognition, and diagnoses/treatments to new guidelines on cholesterol, blood pressure, heart failure, and anticoagulation--and includes a succinct guide to the recommended health maintenances for children and adults, perfect for a quick review. With its trademark wit and humor, quick quizzes, clinical pearls, and other learning features peppered throughout, Family Medicine Examination& Board Review is a dynamic, fast-moving guide that keeps you engaged and motivated beginning to end.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine Self-Assessment and Board Review, 20e
by
The book that serves as the basis for the popular "Harrison's Podclass" podcast series! This outstanding collection of internal medicine Q&A is perfect for prepping for board or shelf exams, getting in multiple "reps" of self directed learning, and increasing your understanding of clinical reasoning. It's packed with 1,000+ high-quality clinical vignettes, with expert, on-point explanations for correct and incorrect answers. Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine Self-Assessment and Board Review reflects all the specialties of internal medicine, and has been exhaustively revised and updated to reflect hundreds of never-before published Q&A in board-style format. This great resource will bolster your understanding of pathophysiology, epidemiology, differential diagnosis, clinical decision making, and therapeutics. Illustrations, radiographs, and pathology slides are included throughout. Each question is accompanied by a complete answer and explanation, and cross-referenced to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine for deeper-dive understanding. 325 full-color photos and illustrations Clinical vignettes and Q&A presented in board-style format Content consistent with board exam blueprint in internal medicine Aligned with Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, the global authority in medicine Explanations for correct and incorrect answer choices
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE: Pathology Q&A
by
Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology is the choice of medical students... ...I am very impressed ...These answers and explanations waste no time getting right to the point and hit the high-yield points a student must know... for the USMLE® Step 1 exam. - Nicholas T. Gamboa, MS-II (Second-year medical student, University of Utah School of Medicine) These path questions really tested the concepts succinctly and directly. - Amy Leshner (Fourth-year medical student, Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine) ...The major test-prep resources do not focus on these subjects in detail. A question bank...would be beneficial to those who struggle with these as an additional resource for studying ... - Ethan Young (Fourth-year medical student, University of South Dakota, Sanford School of Medicine) Thieme Test Prep for the USMLE®: Pathology provides medical students studying for boards with a thorough review of pathology concepts. Co-authored by a pathologist and family practice physician, this robust test prep tool combines pathology with strong clinical correlations. Key Highlights Over 1,100 USMLE®-style multiple choice questions and detailed explanations, classified by organ system and difficulty Questions begin with a clinical vignette and approximately 20% are image-based, mirroring the USMLE®-format This essential resource will help you assess your knowledge and fully prepare for board examinations.
Case Files Internal Medicine, 6e
by
Case Files: Internal Medicine presents realistic clinical scenarios to enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Sixty high-yield cases illustrate essential concepts in internal medicine. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and board-style review questions to reinforce your learning. This updated sixth edition features a new format with bulleted summaries, shorter paragraphs, and clearer headings. New Cases on Metabolic Syndrome, Alcoholic Cirrhosis, Cushing Syndrome, Parkinson's Disease, Polycythemia Vera, and Opiate Overdose Realistic internal medicine cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Challenge Questions help you assess your ability to integrate and apply your knowledge Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Cases in Hospital Medicine: An Evidence-Based Approach
by
Written by authors who are hospitalists and clinician-educators, Cases in Hospital Medicine uses practical case studies and current medical evidence to guide you expertly through the types of cases seen most often by practicing hospital-based clinicians. This engaging handbook covers the wide range of both broad and specific knowledge required in the hospital environment, while focusing on highly relevant questions and today’s best practices. You’ll find real-world guidance on essential topics, including commentary on research studies and clinical guidelines.
Provides an evidence-based approach to clinical cases most often encountered by hospitalists, including the key questions in these situations, such as:
What sort of diuretic regimen—bolus or continuous infusion—should I use to remove fluid from a 73-year-old man with acute congestive heart failure?
How soon should a 49-year-old woman with gallstone pancreatitis undergo prophylactic cholecystectomy?
What are the risks and benefits of continuing aspirin therapy perioperatively in patients undergoing noncardiac surgery?
What is the optimal anti-inflammatory agent for a 60-year-old man with acute gouty arthritis?
Maintains a clinical focus throughout, discussing the most practice-relevant questions for hospital-based clinicians and providing answers to specific clinical dilemmas.
Covers a wide variety of frequently-seen situations such as skin and soft tissue infection, pneumonia, alcohol withdrawal, sepsis, COPD exacerbation, syncope, atrial fibrillation, pancreatitis, acute kidney injury, end-of-life care, and much more.
The Cleveland Clinic Foundation Intensive Review of Internal Medicine, 6e
by
Succeed on internal medicine board certification and recertification exams with Cleveland Clinic Intensive Board Review of Internal Medicine, 6e! The new edition contains ancillary and online exclusive content, drawing from the expertise of the distinguished Cleveland Clinic faculty. Taking a more clinical approach than other review texts, this practical resource includes a unique and well-structured set of exercises that offer a challenge at the end of each chapter.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine Self-Assessment and Board Review, 20e
by
The book that serves as the basis for the popular "Harrison's Podclass" podcast series! This outstanding collection of internal medicine Q&A is perfect for prepping for board or shelf exams, getting in multiple "reps" of self directed learning, and increasing your understanding of clinical reasoning. It's packed with 1,000+ high-quality clinical vignettes, with expert, on-point explanations for correct and incorrect answers. Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine Self-Assessment and Board Review reflects all the specialties of internal medicine, and has been exhaustively revised and updated to reflect hundreds of never-before published Q&A in board-style format. This great resource will bolster your understanding of pathophysiology, epidemiology, differential diagnosis, clinical decision making, and therapeutics. Illustrations, radiographs, and pathology slides are included throughout. Each question is accompanied by a complete answer and explanation, and cross-referenced to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine for deeper-dive understanding. 325 full-color photos and illustrations Clinical vignettes and Q&A presented in board-style format Content consistent with board exam blueprint in internal medicine Aligned with Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, the global authority in medicine Explanations for correct and incorrect answer choices
Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review, 12e
by
Mayo Clinic Internal Medicine Board Review builds on years of knowledge, refinement, and expertise from Mayo Clinic's Department of Medicine to provide the latest information necessary to prepare for the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Certification and Maintenance of Certification examinations. In the 12th edition, new chapters on Physician Well-Being and Hospital Internal Medicine join a wide array of concise chapters that review focused subjects within each specialty.An authoritative resource, this book provides a succinct review of allergy, cardiology, endocrinology, gastroenterology and hepatology, general internal medicine, hematology, infectious diseases, nephrology, oncology, psychiatry, pulmonology, and rheumatology. This all-inclusive and easy-to-use volume includes questions and answers at the end of each section and a reader-friendly format that makes it the perfect study companion for anyone preparing to certify in internal medicine or seeking to provide state-of-the-art care to patients. Key features of the 12th Edition: Concise preparatory material that also provides didactic reference material· Key points are in bold throughout and repeated for emphasis· Provides detailed drug descriptions for each disease described· Relevant for both ABIM exams and the USMLE Step 3 exams
On Rounds: 1000 Internal Medicine Pearls
by
Clinical judgment is a critical aspect - perhaps the most critical aspect - of efficient, accurate, and cost-effective patient care. Focusing on essential clinical skills, On Rounds: 1000 Internal Medicine Pearls helps clinicians in training and in practice to identify the critical findings that will simplify complex clinical problems and lead to an accurate diagnosis. One thousand easy-to-remember clinical aphorisms, or "pearls," help you distinguish the important findings from the incidental, pointing out the distinctive features amidst the mass of data that is accumulated in the evaluation of a sick patient, and leading to the development of mature clinical judgment.Go "on rounds" with one of the most respected educators in internal medicine and learn from his nearly 50 years of clinical experience.Focus on the areas that are often a source of confusion for students, trainees, and even seasoned practitioners.Learn each pearl in a relevant clinical context, with tables, clinical images, and physiology information, where appropriate.Recognize "black pearls:" statements that, although widely believed, are demonstrably false.Improve your clinical judgment skills whether you're a resident or an experienced clinician.Carry these pocket-sized pearls with you for quick reference.
Pocket Medicine, 8e
by
Pocket Medicine, 8th Edition, is a must-have resource for fast answers to the diagnostic and therapeutic questions you'll face on rounds and exams. Edited by Dr. Marc S. Sabatine and compiled by residents, fellows, and attending physicians at the world-renown Massachusetts General Hospital, this best-selling reference provides dependable, up-to-date information needed to make an accurate diagnosis and develop a state-of-the-art treatment plan. Featuring easily accessible bulleted lists, tables, and algorithms, Pocket Medicine provides focused coverage of internal medicine in the traditional, easy-to-use binding you know and love. Offers fast and easy access to essential information on the most common disorders in cardiology, pulmonary medicine, gastroenterology, nephrology, hematology-oncology, infectious diseases, endocrinology, rheumatology, and neurology. Includes references to landmark papers to help you intelligently answer questions on rounds-all from a trusted source acceptable for use on rounds. Features user-friendly tabs and a two-color design to help you find information quickly, as well as a full-color, 16-page insert featuring radiology and pathology images. Provides ideal coverage for medical students, interns, residents, advanced practice nurses, and PAs.
The Saint-Chopra Guide to Inpatient Medicine, 5e
by
This new and updated edition of the acclaimed The Saint-Chopra Guide to Inpatient Medicine focuses on the most commonly encountered problems in hospital medicine, presented in a handy user-friendly outline. It provides an easily accessible framework to help students, residents, and inpatient clinicians diagnose and develop treatment and management approaches for a broad range of medical conditions. Covering the spectrum of potential health conditions clinicians can expect to see in their hospitalized patients, this compendium of concise knowledge will provide useful reference for all levels of hospital-based physician. Composed of lists, flowcharts, and "hot key" clinical insights based on the authors' decades of experience, The Saint-Chopra Guide ushers clinicians through common clinical scenarios from admission to differential diagnosis and clinical plan. It will be an invaluable addition -- and safety net -- to the repertoire of trainees, clinicians, and practicing hospitalists at any stage of their career.
Case Files Neurology, 4e
by
A Doody's Core Title for 2024 & 2023! Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam Case Files®: Neurology presents 50+ real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in neurology. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, high-yield presentation of key diagnostic and treatment information, USMLE-style review questions. With this system, students learn in the context of real patients, rather than merely memorize facts. This fourth edition has been thoroughly updated with the most current medical information and therapy and includes new cases on acquired ataxias, status epilepticus, optic neuritis, radiculopathy, and sleep disorders. Learn from 50+ high-yield cases, each with board-style questions Master key concepts with clinical pearls questions Polish your approach to clinical problem solving and patient care Maximize your shelf exam score with this proven learning system NEW cases on acquired ataxias, status epilepticus, optic neuritis, radiculopathy, and sleep disorders
Neurology: Pre Test Self-Assessment and Review, 10e
by
Ace Your Clerkship and Shelf Exam! PreTest® is a name you can trust for exam review. Neurology: PreTest® is the perfect way to assess your knowledge for the neurology shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2 CK exam. You'll find hundreds of Board questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies, along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who completed their clerkships and passed the USMLE Step 2 CK exam--and know what it takes to succeed. Hundreds of practice questions and answers, reflecting the content and terminology you'll see on your exams For common neurologic conditions, pathophysiologic explanations have been added, as well as diagnostic pearls and management strategies Fully updated to include the latest AAN treatment guidelines, neurologic therapeutics and neurologic electrodiagnostic and imaging techniques Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers Targets what you need to know for exam success Student tested and reviewed
Case Files Gynecologic Surgery
by
The Cases You Need to Learn the Essential of Gynecologic Surgery Case Files: Gynecologic Surgery provides 40 clinical cases to illustrate evidence-based practice in the gynecologic surgery patient. Each case includes open-ended questions, extended discussion, Practice Pearls, a "Controversy" discussion, comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature with a brief critique of each article. With this unique learning system you'll learn how to become a better clinician in the context of real patients and the latest evidence-based medicine. Features 40 high-yield clinical situations tailored for management and understanding of disease (pathophysiology) in the gynecologic surgery patient Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps residents and fellows develop clinical thinking skills Based on current journal articles and landmark studies, with an accompanying brief critique "Practical Pearls" give evidence-based recommendations for patient management "Controversy" feature discusses current controversies and different views related to each case Multiple-choice comprehension questions accompany each case Approximately 25 original drawings and clinical images enhance the text Presents high-yield high-risk gynecologic surgery cases in an interactive and memorable format to help residents and fellows learn in the context of real patients Proven learning system improves exam scores
Case Files High-Risk Obstetrics
by
Real patients, real cases teach you high-risk obstetrics "This is an excellent handbook on high risk obstetrics. The ideal audience is medical students or residents in the field who like real life scenarios to accentuate their learning. It is best suited for those in a time crunch, and residents and students certainly qualify. 3 Stars."--Doody's Review Service Case Files: High-Risk Obstetrics uses fifty clinical cases to illustrate evidence-based practice in high-risk obstetrics patients. Each case includes open-ended questions, extended discussion, Practice Pearls, a "Controversy" discussion, comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature with a brief critique of each article. This unique learning system teaches you to be a better clinician by learning in the context of real patients and reinforcing the latest evidence-based medicine. Features Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps residents and fellows develop clinical thinking skills Based on current journal articles and landmark studies, with an accompanying brief critique "Practical Pearls" give evidence-based recommendations for patient management "Controversy" feature discusses current controversies and different views related to each case Multiple-choice comprehension questions accompany each case Original line drawings and clinical images Proven learning system improves exam scores
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, 6e
by
Realistic patient cases to help sharpen clinical decision-making skills A Doody's Core Title for 2022! The 60 cases in Case Files Obstetrics & Gynecology feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study.
Pre Test Obstetrics & Gynecology, 15e
by
The trusted resource that asks the right questions so that you'll be equipped with the answers! Part of the successful PreTest series, the new edition of PreTest Obstetrics & Gynecology has been heavily revised to reflect all the critical new information needed to succeed on your rotation and on the shelf exam. It features hundreds of high yield questions, along with clear, targeted answers explaining both correct and incorrect answer choices. To ensure that all content is relevant, timely, and high-yield, this edition was reviewed by students who successfully completed their clerkships and passed the shelf exam.
Blueprints Pediatrics (Print)
by
Clear, concise, and complete with more than 100 board-style review questions, Blueprints Pediatrics delivers a succinct, "need-to-know" review perfect for a pediatrics rotation and exams. This thoroughly revised, updated, full-color edition makes clerkship and exam preparation more approachable than ever. Engaging narratives guide students through each chapter accompanied by robust learning features, clinical vignettes, and UMSLE-style review questions with complete answers and rationales to reinforce key points. Updated content reflects the latest clinical approaches to pediatrics. New full-color design engages students for a more effective review. Revised and updated board-style review questions equip students for success on exams. Clear, concise chapters save time and emphasize essential topics. Case-based vignettes clarify clinical application of key concepts. Learning features, illustrations, and diagrams highlight key terms and concepts for quick reference and reinforcement. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
Case Files Pediatrics, 6e
by
Realistic patient cases to help sharpen clinical decision-making skills The 60 cases in Case Files Pediatrics feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study.
McGraw-Hill Specialty Board Review Pediatrics, 2e
by
1000+ Q&As and 100+ real-world cases provide all the preparation you need for any pediatric examination and the boards McGraw-Hill Specialty Board Review: Pediatrics is the perfect way to prepare for any type of pediatric test or examination required for training and certification. You'll find everything you need in one comprehensive case-based review: more than 1000 board-style questions, answers with thorough explanations, more than 100 cases, full-color illustrations, and material that follows the exam content requirement of the American Board of Pediatrics. Here's why this is the best review tool for any pediatric examination: More than 1000 board-style multiple-choice questions with detailed answer explanations Progressive case-based approach, includes real-life clinical vignettes Covers all areas addressed by the board and recertification examinations, across all subspecialties 4-page color insert, featuring 33 color photographs for cases pertinent to emergency medicine, dermatology, and infectious diseases Cases and questions emphasize understanding key medical concepts fundamental to pediatric practice making it easily transferrable to real-life clinical situations
Pediatrics Pre Test Self-Assessment and Review, 15e
by
Assess knowledge of pediatrics for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. It includes 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. Readers will find vignette-style questions and updates on the latest treatments and therapies for infants, children and adolescents. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam. 500 USMLE-style questions and answers; Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers; Targets what you really need to know for exam success; Thoroughly reviewed by students who aced their clerkship; Targets all the topics students must know for clerkship success.
Case Files: Psychiatry, 6e
by
The 60 cases in Case Files: Psychiatry feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study.
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases
by
DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases presents patient cases that exemplify the mental disorders categorized in DSM-5-TR, bringing DSM-5-TR alive for teachers and students of psychiatry, psychology, social work, nursing, and related mental health and healthcare fields. With chapters that correspond to the main DSM-5-TR diagnostic categories (i.e., the first 19 chapters in Section II), this book guides the reader through the complexities of clinical assessment and the many types of contextual information needed to obtain a full diagnostic picture of a patient. Every feature in the book helps to bridge the distance between the formal classification and the real-life presentation of patients: * The cases and discussions make for fresh, compelling reading for both experienced clinicians and those new to diagnostic classification. Case authors were selected for their expertise in the diagnostic categories described in the specific case. * Cases and their accompanying discussions adhere to a consistent format developed by the editor to fully illuminate the disorder being profiled. Areas explored in case discussions may include patient history (e.g., present illness, family psychiatric history, medical conditions), mental status exam and laboratory test results, and sex-, gender-, and culture-related issues. Each case closes with one or more diagnoses and a list of suggested readings.* As is often true in real life, the cases are incomplete, and not all diagnoses are clear-cut. The discussions often explore how the case may not entirely fit diagnostic criteria, and what other information might be helpful.* A comprehensive index enables readers to locate cases by type of disorder, special interests, and DSM-5-TR diagnosis.* The book is designed to serve as an auxiliary text in a variety of contexts--from graduate-level psychology courses to medical school and residency training programs to social work curricula. In addition, practicing clinicians can use the book to help firm up their diagnostic skills and to prepare for specialty examinations. Fascinating, practical, and instructive, DSM-5-TR Clinical Cases succeeds in bringing DSM-5-TR to the examining room.
Psychiatry Pre Test Self-Assessment and Review, 15e
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ace your clerkship and shelf exam! PreTest is a name you can trust for exam review. Psychiatry: PreTest is the perfect way to assess your knowledge for the psychiatry shelf exam and the USMLE Step 2 CK exam. You'll find hundreds of Board questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies, along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who completed their clerkships and passed the USMLE Step 2 CK exam--and know what it takes to succeed. Hundreds of practice questions and answers, reflecting the content you'll see on your exams NEW! Stronger focus on the nuances between psychiatric disorders and the correlation between internal medicine and psychiatry Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers Targets what you need to know for exam success Completely revised and reorganized to reflect today's psychiatric practices and clerkships Student tested and reviewed
Case Files Surgery, 6e
by
This book is organized for versatility to allow the student “in a rush” to go quickly through the scenarios and check the corresponding answers, and to provide more detailed information for the student who wants thought-provoking explanations. The answers are arranged from simple to complex: a summary of the pertinent points, the bare answers, an analysis of the case, an approach to the topic, a comprehension test at the end for reinforcement and emphasis, and a list of resources for further reading. The clinical vignettes are purposely arranged by system to allow students to synthesize knowledge. A listing of cases is included to aid the student who desires to test their knowledge of a certain area or to review a topic, including basic definitions. Finally, we intentionally did not primarily use a multiple-choice question format to begin each case because clues (or distractions) are not available in the real world. Nevertheless, multiple-choice questions are included at the end of each scenario to reinforce concepts or introduce related topics.
Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review, 2e
by
Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review has proven to be the premiere resource to help prepare medical students for the surgical shelf exam and clinical wards. The second edition was conceived after listening to the feedback we received from students. We have added several new chapters and updated the others. This book continues to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of surgical diseases in one easy-to-use reference that combines multiple teaching formats. The book begins using a case based approach. The cases presented cover the diseases most commonly encountered on a surgical rotation. The cases are followed by a series of short questions and answers, designed to provide further understanding of the important aspects of the history, physical examination, differential diagnosis, diagnostic work-up and management, and questions that may arise on surgical rounds and on the shelf exam. The book is written in an easy-to-understand manner to help reinforce important surgical exam concepts. The second edition of Surgery: A Case Based Clinical Review will be of great utility for medical students when they rotate on surgery, as well as interns, physician assistant students, nursing students, and nurse practitioner students.
Surgery Pre Test Self-Assessment and Review, 14e
by
Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is a targeted way to prepare for the surgery clerkship. You’ll find hundreds of questions that cover the content you’ll encounter on the actual shelf exam. The range of question topics covers the clerkship's core competencies and each question includes high yield explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who successfully completed their clerkship to ensure that topics and questions align directly with today’s surgery clerkships. It includes hundreds of questions just like you’ll see on the shelf exam, high yield explanations for right and wrong answers, target what you really need to know for clerkship success, updated to include all relevant advances in the surgery field, and student tested and reviewed
This book is available online through the UCI Libraries subscription via Access Surgery. VPN login with your UCInetID is required.