Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Asian Studies: Chinese Studies Faculty

Currently, this subject guide primarily focuses on East Asia, and covers resources for the study of various social and humanities aspects (e.g. languages, literature, economics, history, politics, cultures...) of China, Japan, and Korea. Resources marked
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/asian_studies

Chinese Studies Faculty

Ackbar Abbas

"Chinese Cities: Design and DisappearanceChapter" In: Krause, Linda, ed. Sustaining Cities: Urban Policies, Practices, and Perceptions. New Brunswick, NJ : Rutgers University Press, 2012. 167p., pp.111-121.Available online from http://antpac.lib.uci.edu:80/record=b4822570~S7

"Affective spaces in Hong Kong / Chinese cinema" In: Braester, Yomi; Tweedie, James, eds. Cinema at the city's edge: film and urban networks in East Asia. Hong Kong: Hong Kong University Press, 2010. xii, 204p. , pp. 25-35. Langson Library PN1993.5.E19 C56 2010 

"Faking globalization" In: Huyssen, Andreas, ed. Other cities, other worlds: urban imaginaries in a globalizing age. Durham, N.C.; London: Duke University Press, 2008. viii, 327p. , p. 243-264. Langson Library HT149.5 .O84 2008

“The new Hong Kong cinema and the deja disparu” In: Eleftheriotis, Dimitris; Needham, Gary, eds. Asian cinemas: a reader and guide. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press; Edinburgh, Scotland: Edinburgh University Press, 2006. x, 473 p. 72-99.  Langson Library  PN1993.5.A75 A87 2006

Internationalizing Cultural Studies. Co-edited with John Erni. Oxford:Blackwell, 2005. Langson Library HM623 .I573 2005

“Shanghai reflections : architecture, urbanism, and the search for an alternative modernity : Princeton University, Hong Kong University, and Tongji University : essays” by Mario Gandelsonas, Ackbar Abbas, and M. Christine Boyer ; edited by Mario Gandelsonas. New York : Princeton Architectural Press, c2002. Langson Library  NA1547.S5 G36 2002

“Cosmopolitan de-scriptions: Shanghai and Hong Kong”.Public Culture (Durham, NC) 12, no.3 (Fall 2000) 769-786. Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/49198

Hong Kong: Culture and the Politics of DisappearanceMinneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1997. Langson Library   DS796.H75 A34 1997

“Hong Kong: other histories, other politics”. Public Culture (Chicago) 9, no.3 (Spr 1997) 293-313. Langson Bound Periodicals NX180.S6 P8  v.10 1997/98

“Chen Danqing: painting after Tiananmen” Public Culture (Chicago) 8, no.3 (Spr 1996) 409-440. Langson Bound PeriodicalsNX180.S6 P8  v.9 1996/97

“Building on disappearance: Hong Kong architecture and the city” Public Culture (Chicago)6, no.3 (Spr 1994) 441-459. Langson Bound Periodicals NX180.S6 P8  v.6 1993/94

Yong Chen

Chop Suey, USA: The Story of Chinese Food in America. New York: Columbia University Press, 2014. Available in Langson Library; Also available online

"'Food town': Chinatown and the American journey of Chinese food" In: Vanessa Künnemann and Ruth Mayer (eds.) Chinatowns in a transnational world: myths and realities of an urban phenomenon. New York; London: Routledge, 2011, pages 182-197. Available in Langson Library; Also available online

华人的旧金山: 一个跨太平洋的族群的故事, 1850-1943. Beijing : Beijing da xue chu ban she, 2009. Langson East Asian F869.S39 C515123 2009

"The American dream and dreams of China: a transnational approach to Chinese American history" In: Künnemann, Vanessa; Mayer, Ruth, eds. Trans-Pacific interactions: the United States and China, 1880-1950. New York; Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire, England: Palgrave Macmillan, 2009. vii, 210p. , p. 21-41. Langson Library E183.8.C5 T677 2009

"Asian American political activism" In: Guiyou Huang (ed.) The Greenwood encyclopedia of Asian American literature. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2009. xxii, 1197p.  v.1, 48-52. Langson Library PS153.A84 G74 2009 v.1; Also available online at http://www.myilibrary.com?id=242025

"Gold mountain" In: Guiyou Huang (ed.) The Greenwood encyclopedia of Asian American literature. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2009. xxii, 1197p.  v.1, 314-318. Langson Library PS153.A84 G74 2009 v.1; Also available online at http://www.myilibrary.com?id=242025

"National Origins Act of 1924" In: Guiyou Huang (ed.) The Greenwood encyclopedia of Asian American literature. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2009. xxii, 1197p.  v.13 750-753. Langson Library PS153.A84 G74 2009 v.3; Also available online at http://www.myilibrary.com?id=242025

"World War II (1939-1945)" In: Guiyou Huang (ed.) The Greenwood encyclopedia of Asian American literature. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2009. xxii, 1197p.  v.13 1012-1015. Langson Library PS153.A84 G74 2009 v.3; Also available online at http://www.myilibrary.com?id=242025

Understanding Chinese American transnationalism during the early twentieth century: an economic perspective” In: Chan, Sucheng, ed. Chinese American transnationalism: the flow of people, resources, and ideas between China and America during the exclusion era. Philadelphia, Pa.: Temple University Press, 2006. xvi, 294p. (Asian American history and culture) 156-173.   Langson Library E184.C5 C478 2006

Chinatown, city and nation-state: toward a new understanding of Asian American urbanity” Journal of Urban History (Thousand Oaks, CA) 30, no.4 (May 2004) 604-615.  Langson Bound Periodicals HT101 .J6  v.30 no.4-6 2004 Also available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/16788

“Invisible historical players: uncovering the meanings and experiences of children in early Asian American history” In: Tong, Benson, ed. Asian American children: a historical handbook and guide. Westport, Conn.; London: Greenwood Press, 2004. xv, 268p. 25-45.  Langson Library E184.A75 A8256 2004

“Understanding Chinese American participation in U.S. political process in historical and transnational perspectives” Chinese Historical Review (Indiana, PA) 11, no.2 (Fall 2004) 183-211.

Origins of Chinese emigration to California” In: Kurashige, Lon; Murray, Alice Yang, eds. Major problems in Asian American history: documents and essays. Boston, Mass.: Houghton Mifflin, 2003. xvii, 522p. 47-54. Langson Library E184.A75 M35 2003

“In their own words: the significance of Chinese-language sources of studying Chinese American history [pre-World War II Chinese American history]” Journal of Asian American Studies (Baltimore, MD) 5, no.3 (Oct 2002) 243-268. Langson Bound Periodicals E184.O6 J68  v.5 2002 Also available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/629

Surviving the City: Chinese Immigrant Experience in New York City, 1890-1970 / by Xinyang Wang; Seeking Modernity in China's Name: Chinese Students in the United States, 1900-1927 / by Weili Ye; Smuggled Chinese: Clandestine Immigration to the United States / by Ko-lin Chin”  Journal of Asian American Studies (Baltimore, MD) 5, no.3 (Oct 2002) 277-282. Langson Bound Periodicals E184.O6 J68  v.5 2002 Also available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/629

Chinese San Fancisco, 1850-1943: a trans-Pacific community. Stanford, Calif: Stanford Univerersity Press, 2000.  Langson Library F869.S39 C515 2000

China in America : a cultural study of Chinese San Francisco, 1850-194. Dissertation (Cornell University) 1993. Langson Library F869.S36 C44 1993a 

Michael Fuller

Drifting among rivers and lakes : Southern Song dynasty poetry and the problem of literary history. Cambridge, Massachusetts : Harvard University Press, [2013]. Available in Langson Library  

Defining the sovereign body [review article of Jack W. Chen, The Poetics of Sovereignty: On Emperor Taizong of the Tang Dynasty]. T'ang Studies, No.30 (2012) p. 70-85.

Why form matters: a systematic 21st century shihua on the Song dynasty poet He Zhu [review article of Stuart H. Sargent, The Poetry of He Zhu (1052-1125): Genres, Contexts, and Creativity. Leiden, 2007]. China Review International,  Vol.18, No.1 (2011) p. 1-6. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/604

"North and south: the twelfth and thirteenth centuries." In: Chang, Kang-I Sun; Owen, Stephen, eds. The Cambridge history of Chinese literature. Volume 1: to 1375; Cambridge, England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2010. 711p. , pp. 465-556.

“Aesthetics and Meaning in Experience: A Theoretical Perspective on Zhu Xi’s Revision of Song Dynasty Views of Poetry,” Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies Vol. 65, No. 2 (Dec. 2005), pp. 311-55. Langson Bound Periodicals DS501 .H3  v.65 2005

“Sung dynasty Shih poetry.”  In: Mair, Victor H., ed. The Columbia history of Chinese literature. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001. xx, 1342p. 337-369. Langson Library PL2265 .C65 2001

中國詩歌經驗的理論闡釋:對宋詩史的反思緒言“Theorizing Chinese Poetic Experience: a Prolegomenon to Rethinking the History of Song Dynasty Poetry.” Xin Song xue [New Song Studies] 1(2001):167-181.(Translated by Chen Lin)

An Introduction to Literary Chinese. Harvard University Press (1999). Langson Library    PL1128 .F85 1999

“Liu Kezhuang on Tang poetry”.  T'ang Studies (Bloomington, IN) no.13 (1995) 119-141.

“Chin-ling post station [Wen T'ien-hsiang (1236-1282)]” In: Mair, Victor H., ed. The Columbia anthology of traditional Chinese literature. New York: Columbia University Press, 1994. xxxvii, 1335p. (Translations from the Asian classics) 259. Langson Library PL2658.E1 C65 1994

 “Song literary studies: the state of the field”.  Journal of Sung-Yuan Studies (Albany, NY) 24 (1994) 350-355.

“Pursuing the complete bamboo in the breast: reflections on a classical Chinese image for immediacy [Su Shi's metaphors]” Harvard Journal of Asiatic Studies (Cambridge, MA) 53, no.1 (Jun 1993) 5-23. Available onlinehttp://www.jstor.org/journals/00730548.html

The Road to East Slope: The Development of Su Shi's Poetic Voice . Stanford: Stanford University Press (1990). Langson Library  PL2685.Z5 F85 1990

Qitao Guo

"Genealogical pedigree versus godly power: Cheng Minzheng and lineage politics in mid-Ming Huizhou [explores the articulation of power among elite lineages in Huizhou, 1450-1550]". Late Imperial China, v.31, no. 1 (June 2010): 28-61. Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/640

Ritual Opera and Mercantile Lineage: The Confucian Transformation of Popular Culture in Late Imperial Huizhou. Stanford University Press, 2005.  Langson Library HB91 .G86 2005

Exorcism and Money: The Symbolic World of the Five-Fury Spirits in Late Imperial China. Berkeley: Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California, 2003. Langson Library BL1812.R57 G86 2003

Ying Hu

Burying Autumn: Poetry, Friendship and Loss. Harvard University Asia Center, 2016. Langson Library PL2278 .H767 2016

Beyond exemplar tales : women's biography in Chinese history (co-ed.) Berkeley, California : Global, Area, and International Archive : University of California Press, 2011. Langson Library CT3710 .B49 2011

"九葬秋瑾:历史纪念与公共记忆的制造" 中国学术, No.27. On order

翻译的传说: 中国新女性的形成: 1898-1918. 南京 : 江苏人民出版社, 2009. Langson East Asian HQ1767 .H825123 2009

"Bingxin, 1900-1999." In: Pong, David, ed. Encyclopedia of modern China. Detroit; London: Gale Cengage Learning, 2009. v.1, p. 144-146 

"Translation of foreign literature." In: Pong, David, ed. Encyclopedia of modern China. Detroit; London: Gale Cengage Learning, 2009. v.3, p.596-598

"Wang Shuo, 1958- [popular and controversial writer in contemporary China]." In: Pong, David, ed. Encyclopedia of modern China. Detroit; London: Gale Cengage Learning, 2009. v.4, p.52-53

"'How can a daughter glorify the family name?' Filiality and women's rights in the late Qing [examines married daughters' filiality toward their natal families through case studies of Qiu Jin (1875?-1907), Wu Zhiying (1868-1934) and Xu Jihua (1873-1935)]." Nan Nu: Men, Women and Gender in China v.11, no.2 (2009) p. 234-269. Available online

“Qiu Jin's nine burials: the making of historical monuments and public memory [history of the multiple burials, exhumations and remains of an anti-Manchu revolutionary woman who was executed in 1907]” Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (Columbus, OH) 19, no.1 (Spr 2007) 138-191. Langson Bound Periodicals PL2303 .M63 v.19 2007

"Zeng Pu (1 March 1872-23 June 1935)” In: Moran, Thomas, ed. Chinese fiction writers, 1900-1949. Detroit; New York: Thomson Gale, 2007. xxv, 445p. (Dictionary of literary biography, v.328) 290-295. Langson Reference PN451 .D537 v.328

“The Translation of Chinese Fiction in the United Kingdom and the United States,” In: Michael Cronin and Lawrence Venuti (eds.) The Oxford History of Literary Translation in English, Vol 5: 1900-2000. Oxford University Press. Langson Library PR131 .O944 2005  v.5

“Chi Zijian [(1964- ) writer]” In: Davis, Edward L., ed. Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture. London; New York: Routledge, 2005. xxxiv, 786p. 85-86. Langson Library DS779.23 .E53 2005

“Lin Bai [(1958- ) writer]” In: Davis, Edward L., ed. Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture. London; New York: Routledge, 2005. xxxiv, 786p. 335. Langson Library DS779.23 .E53 2005

“Writing Qiu Jin’s Life: Wu Zhiying and Her Family Learning,” Late Imperial China. 25/2 2004. Langson Bound Periodicals DS754 .C5332  v.25 2004; Also available online: http://muse.jhu.edu/journals/late_imperial_china/

“Death of the Artist” by Wang Anyi, Manoa: Special Issue, Postmodern Stories from China, 2003. (Translations) Langson Bound Periodicals PN2 .M363  v.15 2003; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/644

“Late Qing fiction” In: Mostow, Joshua S., et al., eds. The Columbia companion to modern East Asian literature. New York: Columbia University Press, 2003. x, 803p. 348-354. Langson Library PL493 .C55 2003

"Naming the First New Woman, " in Rethinking the 1898 Reform Period: Political and Cultural Change in Late Qing China. eds. Rebecca Karl and Peter Zarrow, Harvard University Press, 2002. Langson Library DS768 .R48 2002

“Records of anomalies”. In: Mair, Victor H., ed. The Columbia history of Chinese literature. New York: Columbia University Press, 2001. xx, 1342p. 542-554 Langson Library PL2265 .C65 2001

Tales of Translation: Composing the New Woman in China, 1898-1918, Stanford University Press, 2000.Langson Library HQ1767 .H825 2000

"Beyond the Glow of the Red Lantern, or, what does it mean to talk about women's cinema in China?" In Redirecting the Gaze: Gender, Theory, and Cinema in the Third World. eds. Diana Robin and Ira Jaffe. State University of New York Press, 1999: 257-82.Langson Library PN1995.9.W6 R45 1999

"Re-configuring Nei/ Wai : Writing the Woman Traveler in the Late Qing," Late Imperial China , 18/1 (1997): 72-99. Langson Bound Periodicals DS754 .C5332  v.18 1997; Also available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/640

“Yang Jiduan (fl. late 18th century)” In: Chang, Kang-i Sun; Saussy, Haun; Kwong, Charles, eds. Women writers of traditional China: an anthology of poetry and criticism. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 1999. xxix, 891p. 548-551.(Translations) Langson Library PL2278 .W65 1999

“Qiu Chan (early 20th century) [preface to Banyue lou shichao]” In: Chang, Kang-i Sun; Saussy, Haun; Kwong, Charles, eds. Women writers of traditional China: an anthology of poetry and criticism. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 1999. xxix, 891p. 717-718.(Translations) Langson Library PL2278 .W65 1999

“Wang Pengyun (1848-1904) [male critic and poet's preface to Xu Naichang, Xiao tan luan shi huike baijia guixiu ci (Song-lyrics of one hundred famous women)]” In: Chang, Kang-i Sun; Saussy, Haun; Kwong, Charles, eds. Women writers of traditional China: an anthology of poetry and criticism. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 1999. xxix, 891p. 804-806.(Translations) Langson Library PL2278 .W65 1999

"Writing Erratic Desire: Sexual Politics in Contemporary Chinese Fiction," In In Pursuit of Contemporary East Asian Culture, ed. Xiaobing Tang and Stephen Snyder. Boulder, Colorado: Westview Press, 1996: 257-82.Langson Library DS509.3 .I5 1996<

“The translator transfigured: Lin Shu and the cultural logic of writing in the late Qing” Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique (Durham, NC) 3, no.1 (Spr 1995) 69-96. Langson Bound Periodicals DS501 .P67  v.3 no.1 1995

"Footsteps on the Roof," by Chen Cun, in Chairman Mao Would Not Be Amused: Fiction from Today's China, ed. Howard Goldblatt. Emeryville: Grove Press, 1995. (Translations) Langson Library PL2658.E8 C43 1995

“Angling with beauty: two stories of women as narrative bait in Sanguo zhi yanyi” Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (Bloomington, IN) 15 (Dec 1993) 99-112. Langson Bound Periodicals PL2250 .C533  v.14-15 1992-93; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/22190

Martin Huang

"Introduction: remembering female relatives: mourning and gender in late imperial China". Nan Nü: Men, Women and Gender in China, Vol. 15, No.1 (2013): 4-29. Available online http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=1387-6805 or http://booksandjournals.brillonline.com/content/15685268

"Negotiating wifely virtues: guilt, memory and grieving husbands in seventeenth-century China [examines how three literati husbands--Ye Shaoyuan (1589-1648), You Tong (1618-1704), and Zhang Zhen (1637-1712)--mourned and wrote about their late wives]" . Nan Nü: Men, Women and Gender in China, Vol. 15, No.1 (2013): 109-136. Available online http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=1387-6805 or http://booksandjournals.brillonline.com/content/15685268

"英语世界中《金瓶梅》的研究与翻译". 励耘学刊(文学卷), No.2 (2011): Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/170331

中华帝国晚期的欲望与小说叙事 = Desire and fictional narrative in late imperial China. Nanjing Shi : Jiangsu ren min chu ban she, 2010. Langson East Asian PL2437 .H828123 2010

"Sage, hero and bandit: Zhu Yuanzhang's image in the sixteenth-century novel Yinglie zhuan." In: Schneewind, Sarah, ed. Long live the emperor! Uses of the Ming founder across six centuries of East Asian history. Minneapolis: Society for Ming Studies, 2008. xii, 508p. (Ming studies research series, no.4) , p. 137-148

Male Friendship in Ming China, Brill, 2007. Langson Library HQ1090.7.C6 M35 2007

"A selected bibliography of secondary sources [a list of articles related to male friendship in Chinese history]." Nan Nu: Men, Women and Gender in China v.9, no.1 (2007) p. 179-184. Available online

"Male friendship and jiangxue (philosophical debates) in sixteenth-century China [status of friendship in sixteenth-century cultural discourse and the relevant roles played by the jiangxue activities on the part of members of the popular neo-Confucian movement of the School of the Mind]."Nan Nu: Men, Women and Gender in China v.9, no.1 (2007) p. 146-178. Available online

"Male friendship in Ming China: an introduction." Nan Nu: Men, Women and Gender in China v.9, no.1 (2007) p. 2-33. Available online

Negotiating Masculinities in Late Imperial China (Hawaii, 2006) Langson Library BF175.5.M37 H83 2006

Sankes'Legs: Sequels, Continuations, Rewritings and Chinese Fiction, Hawaii, 2004. Langson Library PL2415 .S65 2004

Sage, hero, bandit: Zhu Yuanzhang's image in the sixteenth-century novel Yinglie zhuan [The Romance of Ming Dynasty Heroes]” Ming Studies (Minneapolis, MN), no.50 (Fall 2004) 77-90. Langson Bound Periodicals DS753 .M594 no.49-50 2004

“From caizi to yingxiong: imagining masculinities in two Qing novels, Yesou puyan and Sanfen meng quan zhuan” Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (Bloomington, IN) 25 (Dec 2003) 59-98. Langson Bound Periodicals PL2250 .C533 v.25 2003 ; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/22190

Desire and Fictional Narrative in Late Imperial China, Harvard, 2001. Langson Library PL2437 .H828 2001

"'情''欲'之间 ──清代艳情小说《姑妄言》初探" 明清小说研究, No.10 (1999). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/258262

“Sentiments of desire: thoughts on the cult of qing in Ming-Qing literature”. Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (Bloomington, IN) 20 (Dec 1998) 153-184. Langson Bound Periodicals PL2250 .C533 v.20 1998 ; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/22190

“Stylization and invention: the burden of self-expression in The Scholars [Rulin waishi]” In: Ames, Roger T.; Kasulis, Thomas P.; Dissanayake, Wimal, eds. Self as image in Asian theory and practice. Albany, N.Y.: State University of New York Press, 1998. x, 473p. 89-112. Langson Library B5015.S34 S43 1998

Literati and Self-Re/Presentation: Autobiographical Sensibility in the Eighteenth-Century Chinese Novel, Stanford, 1995. Langson Library PL2437 .H83 1995

"Author(ity) and reader in traditional Chinese xiaoshuo commentary”. Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (Bloomington, IN) 16 (Dec 1994) 41-67. Langson Bound Periodicals PL2250 .C533 v.16 1994 ; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/22190

“Dehistoricization and intertextualization: the anxiety of precedents in the evolution of the traditional Chinese novel. “ Chinese Literature: Essays, Articles, Reviews (Bloomington, IN) 12 (Dec 1990) 45-68. Langson Bound Periodicals PL2250 .C533 v.12-13 1990-91 ; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/22190

“The inescapable predicament: the narrator and his discourse in The True Story of Ah Q” Modern China (Beverly Hills, CA) 16, no.4 (Oct 1990) 430-449. Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/44271 OR http://uclibs.org/PID/20808

Daphne Lei

“Dance Your Opera, Mime Your Words: (Mis)Translate the Asian Body on the International Stage.”  In Nadine George (ed) The Oxford Handbook of Dance and Theatre, Oxford University Press, 2015. Available in Langson Library

Alternative Chinese Opera in the age of globalization : performing zero. Basingstoke ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2011. Langson Library ML1751.C5 L44 2011

“Interruption, Intervention, Interculturalism: Robert Wilson’s HIT Productions in Taiwan,” Theatre Journal v.63, no. 4 (2011): 571-586. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/679

“Homeland under Attack: Looking for a New Theatrical Paradigm for Asian Americas.” In Nina Lee Aquino and Ric Knowles (eds.) Asian Canadian Theatre. Toronto: Playwrights Canada, 2011, 33-48.

“Ruptures Within and Without: Pageantry – A Work in Progress by Denise Uyehara and Sri Susilowati.” Theatre Research International 35, no. 2 (2010): 188–192. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/21222

“Blood-Stained Text in Translation: Tattooing, Bodily Writing and Performance of Chinese Virtue.” Anthropological Quarterly 82, No. 1 (2009), 99-127. Langson Bound Periodicals GN1 .P7  v.82 no.1 2009; Also available http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=0257-5876

“物質與非物質之吊詭: 崑曲在海外的保存與發展”(The Paradox between Materiality and Intangibility: Preservation and Development of Kunqu Overseas). 文藝研究 (Arts and Literature Studies, no. 6, 2009): 78-86. East Asian Bd.Periodicals NX583.A1 W47  no.5-8 2009 Also available online http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=0257-5876

“Sung J. Rno.” Dictionary of Literary Biography: Twentieth-Century American Drama, Fifth Series, ed. Garrett Eisler.  Detroit: Gale Cengage Learning, 2008, vol. 341, 177-181. Langson Reference PN451 .D537 v.341 

“變臉與變性:京劇在國際舞台上的呈現”(Face and gender metamorphosis:  Beijing opera on the world stage). 文藝研究 Arts and Literature Studies, no. 9, 2007, 107-113. East Asian Bd.Periodicals NX583.A1 W47 no.9-12 2007 ; Also available online http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=0257-5876

"Lai Sheng-ch'uan." The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama. 2 vols. Eds. by Gabrielle H. Cody and Evert Sprinchorn. New York: Columbia University Press, 2007, 795-796. Langson Reference PN1861.C65 2007  v.1 & v.2

"Liu Ching-min." The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama.2 vols. Eds. by Gabrielle H. Cody and Evert Sprinchorn. New York: Columbia University Press, 2007, 827-828. Langson Reference PN1861.C65 2007  v.1 & v.2

Operatic China: Staging Chinese Identity Across the Pacific, (Palgrave Macmillan, 2006). Langson Library ML1751.C5 L45 2006

"The Virtual Chinatown and New Racial Formation: Performance of Cantonese Opera in the Bay Area."  Critical Theory and Performance, Revised and Enlarged Edition, eds. Janelle G. Reinelt and Joseph R. Roach (Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2006). Langson LibraryPN2039.C75 2007

“Staging the Binary: Asian American Theatre in the Late Twentieth Century." Blackwell Companion to Twentieth-Century American Drama,ed. David Krasner (Oxford, UK; Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2004),301-317. Langson Library PS350.C655 2005

“The Production and Consumption of Chinese Theatre in Nineteenth-Century California.” Theatre Research International (Vol 28, No 3, October 2003), 289-302. Langson Bound Periodicals PN2000.A1 T5 v.28 2003 ; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/21222

“Can You Hear Me? Female Voice and Cantonese Opera in the San Francisco Bay Area.” The Scholar & Feminist Online (Barnard Center for Research on Women) Available online http://www.barnard.edu/sfonline/ps/lei.htm

“Envisioning New Borders for the Old China in Late Qing Fiction and Local Drama.” Political Frontiers, Ethnic Boundaries, and Human Geographies in Chinese History, eds. Nicola Di Cosmo and Don Wyatt (RoutledgeCurzon, an imprint of the Taylor and Francis Group, 2003), 373-397.

"Biography of Sung J. Rno." Asian American Playwrights: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook, ed. Miles X. Liu (Westport, CT:Greenwood Press, 2002), 292-297. Langson Library PS338.A74 A9 2002

“Wang Zhaojun on the Border: Gender and Intercultural Conflict in Premodern Chinese Drama.” Asian Theatre Journal13, no. 2 (Fall 1996), 229-237. Langson Bound Periodicals PN2860.A842 v.13 1996 ; Also available online http://uclibs.org/PID/38090

Bert Scruggs

Translingual Narration: Colonial and Postcolonial Taiwanese Fiction and Film. Honolulu: University of Hawai'i Press. 2015 Langson Library PL889.T28 S38 2015

"Landscapes and Sublime Memories: Revisiting Liang Xiaosheng's 'A Land of Wonder and Mystery'". Frontiers of Literary Studies in China, vol.8 no.4 (2014): 513-531.

"The Postcolonial Appearance of Colonial Taiwan: Film and Memory" Frontiers of Literary Study in China vol.7 no.2 (2013) : 194-213. 

"Cultivating Taiwanese: Yen Lan-chuan and Juang Yi-tseng's Let It Be (Wu mi le) In: Lin, Sylvia Li-chun and Tze-lan D. Sang, Eds. Documenting Taiwan on Film: Issues and Methods in New Documentaries. London and New York: Routledge, 2012.

"Fallen bud"(co-tr.). Taiwan Literature: English Translation Series (Santa Barbara, CA) no.30 (2012) 168-186

"Camellias" (co-tr.). Taiwan Literature: English Translation Series (Santa Barbara, CA) no.27 (2011) 139-168

"Journey to Taimu Mountain" (co-tr.). Taiwan Literature: English Translation Series (Santa Barbara, CA) no.23 (Jul 2008) 67-108

“Narratives of discomfort and ideology: Yang Kui's short fiction and postcolonial Taiwan orthodox boundaries”. Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique (Durham, NC) 14, no.2 (Fall 2006) 427-447. Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/663 OR http://uclibs.org/PID/49199

“Identity and free will in colonial Taiwan fiction: Wu Zhuoliu's 'The Doctor's Mother' and Wang Changxiong's 'Torrent'” Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (Columbus, OH) 16, no.2 (Fall 2004) 160-183. Langson Bound Periodicals PL2303 .M63 v.16 2004

“Ritual as a vehicle for moral education in Rulin Waishi” In: Marcus, Marvin H., ed. Occasional papers in East Asian studies. Volume 3 (Spring 1998). St. Louis, Mo.: East Asian Studies Program, Washington University, 1998. 46p. 13-22.

Dorothy Solinger

"Social assistance under capitalist authoritarian rule: two management models in Chinese municipalities [case study of Wuhan and Lanzhou]" Journal of Contemporary Asia vol. 44 no.3 (2014): 500-520. Available online

The state, the poor, and the dibao: three models of the wellsprings of welfare and lessons for China. In Guo, Sujian (ed.) State-Society Relations and Governance in China. Lanham, Md.; London: Lexington Books, 2014, pp.3-13.

"社会救助的根源:对福利体制、目标与方法之差异的初步思考华中师范大学学报(人文社会科学版),Vol. 52 No.1 (2013): 6-15. Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/257819

"Streets as suspect: state skepticism and the current losers in urban China" Critical Asian Studies  Vol. 5, No.1 (Mar 2013): 3-26. Available online  http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=1467

Socialism Vanquished, Socialism Challenged:  Eastern Europe and China, 1989-2009 (Co-editor with Nina Bandelj). Oxford University Press, 2012. Langson Library JN96.A58 S64 2012 

The new urban underclass and its consciousness: is it a class? [the 22 million urban residents of the Minimum Livelihood Guarantee (the zuidi shenghuo baozhang)]. Journal of Contemporary China Vol. 21, no.78 (Nov 2012): 1011-1028 Available online at http://ejournals.ebsco.com/Journal.asp?JournalID=104612

"Welfare, wealth and poverty in urban China: the dibao and its differential disbursement ." China Quarterly no.211 (Sep 2012) p.741-764.  Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/5691

"Dibaohu in distress: the meagre minimum livelihood guarantee system in Wuhan [description and assessment]." In: Beatriz Carrillo; Jane Duckett (eds.) China's changing welfare mix: local perspectives. London; New York: Routledge, 2011. xvi, 257p. (Routledge studies on China in transition, 37), pages 36-63 Langson Library HV418 .C444 2011 

"A question of confidence: state legitimacy and the new urban poor." In: Gries, Peter Hays; Rosen, Stanley, eds. Chinese politics: state, society and the market. London; New York: Routledge, 2010. xix, 279p. (Asia's transformations) , p. 243-257. Langson Library DT779.46 .C45 2010

"Social reforms in the cities: modernity, time warp, and marketing among disparate urban social strata." In: Wong, John; Bo, Zhiyue, eds. China's reform in global perspective. Singapore; Hackensack, N.J.: World Scientific, 2010. xx, 216p. (Series on contemporary China, vol.24) , p. 77-114. Langson Library DS779.26 .C457 2010

States' gains, labor's losses : China, France, and Mexico choose global liaisons, 1980-2000. Ithaca : Cornell University Press, 2009. Langson Library  HD8736.5 .S65 2009 

"Xiagang and the geometry of urban political patronage in China: celebrated state (once-) workers and state chagrin." In: Gold, Thomas B., et al., eds. Laid-off workers in a workers' state: unemployment with Chinese characteristics. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2009. viii, 261p. , p. 39-60. Langson Library HD5830.A6 L342 2009

"Business groups: for or against the regime?" In: Gilley, Bruce; Diamond, Larry, eds. Political change in China: comparisons with Taiwan. Boulder, Colo.; London: Lynne Rienner, 2008. vii, 309p. , p. 95-114. Langson Library JQ1510 .P64 2008

"The dibao recipients: mollified anti-emblem of urban modernization." China Perspectives no.4 (2008) p. 36-47. Available online from http://chinaperspectives.revues.org/

"Interviewing Chinese people: from high-level officials to the unemployed." In: Heimer, Maria; Thøgersen, Stig, eds. Doing fieldwork in China. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 2006. xi, 322p. , p. 153-167. Langson Library H62.5.C6 D65 2006

Narratives of the Chinese Economic Reforms. Editor. Lewiston, NY: The Edwin Mellen Press, 2005. Langson Library HD2346.C6 N37 2005

Path dependency reexamined: Chinese welfare policy in the transition to unemployment. Comparative Politics (New York) 38, no.1 (Oct 2005) 83-101. Langson Bound Periodicals JA3 .C67 v.38 2005

The creation of a new underclass in China and its implications. Irvine, CA : Center for the Study of Democracy, [2005]. Langson Library HC430.P6 S65 2005 ; Also available online at http://repositories.cdlib.org/csd/05-10/

The new crowd of the dispossessed: the shift of the urban proletariat from master to mendicant. In: Gries, Peter Hays; Rosen, Stanley, eds. State and society in 21st-century China: crisis, contention, and legitimation. New York; Abingdon, Oxon, England: RoutledgeCurzon, 2004. xv, 263p. (Asia's transformations) 50-66. Langson Library HN733.5 .S74 2004

Policy consistency in the midst of the Asian crisis: managing the furloughed and the farmers in three cities [Guangzhou, Shenyang and Wuhan. In: Naughton, Barry J.; Yang, Dali L., eds. Holding China together: diversity and national integration in the post-Deng era. Cambridge, England; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2004. xi, 304p. 149-192. Langson Library DS779.26 .H65 2004

State and society in urban China in the wake of the 16th Party Congress. In: Chu, Yun-Han; Lo, Chih-Cheng; Myers, Ramon H., eds. The new Chinese leadership: challenges and opportunities after the 16th Party Congress. Cambridge, England; New York: Cambridge University Prses, 2004. viii, 256p. (China Quarterly special issues. New series, no.4) 124-140. Langson Library DS779.26 .N49 2004

Guest editor's introduction [to Selections from Report on Poverty and Anti-Poverty in Urban China, by Tang Jun]. Chinese Sociology and Anthropology (Armonk, NY) 36, nos.2-3 (Win-Spr 2003-2004) 3-9. Langson Bound PeriodicalsHM1 .C45  v.36 2003/2004; Also available online http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=0009-4625

Chinese urban jobs and the WTO. China Journal (Canberra) no.49 (Jan 2003) 61-87. Langson Bound Periodicals DS701 .A93  no.49-50 2003; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/234

State and society in urban China in the wake of the 16th Party Congress. China Quarterly (Cambridge, England; New York) no.176 (Dec 2003) 943-959. Langson Bound Periodicals DS701 .C472  no.175-176 2003; Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

Globalization and human rights for workers in China: convergence or collision? In: Monshipouri, Mahmood, et al., eds. Constructing human rights in the age of globalization. Armonk, N.Y.; London: M.E. Sharpe, 2003. xxxiii, 353p. 178-213. Langson Library JC571 .C66 2003

Labour market reform and the plight of the laid-off proletariat. China Quarterly (Cambridge, England; New York) no.170 (Jun 2002) 304-326. Langson Bound Periodicals DS701 .C472 no.169-170 2002; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

Labor in limbo: pushed by the plan toward the mirage of the market. In: Mengin, Francoise; Rocca, Jean-Louis, eds. Politics in China: moving frontiers. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2002. xxviii, 261p. 31-61. Langson Library HC427.92 .P65 2002

The China difference: city studies under socialism and beyond. In: Eade, John; Mele, Christopher, eds. Understanding the city: contemporary and future perspectives. Oxford; Malden, Mass.: Blackwell, 2002. vii, 423p. 204-221. Langson Library HT119 .U53 2002

Why we cannot count the 'unemployed'. China Quarterly (Cambridge, England; New York) no.167 (Sep 2001) 671-688. Langson Bound Periodicals DS701 .C472  no.167-168 2001; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

Clashes between reform and opening: labor market formation in three cities. In: Chao, Chien-min; Dickson, Bruce J., eds. Remaking the Chinese state: strategies, society, and security. London; New York: Routledge, 2001. ix, 293p. 103-131. Langson Library JQ1510 .R463 2001

Demolishing partitions: back to beginnings in the cities? In: Edmonds, Richard Louis, ed. The People's Republic of China after 50 years. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. viii, 178p. (Studies on contemporary China). 67-77. Langson Library DS777.55 .P4242 2000

The potential for urban unrest: will the fencers stay on the Piste? In: Shambaugh, David, ed. Is China unstable? Assessing the factors. Armonk, N.Y.; London: M.E. Sharpe, 2000. xi, 177p. (Studies on contemporary China) 79-94. Langson Library HC427.92 .I8 2000

Contesting Citizenship in Urban China: Peasant Migrants, the State, and the Logic of Market. University of California Press, 1999. Langson Library HB2114.A3 S65 1999 ; Also available online: http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/ft638nb3hw/

Human rights issues in China's internal migration: insights from comparisons with Germany and Japan. In: Bauer, Joanne R.; Bell, Daniel A., eds. The East Asian challenge for human rights. Cambridge, Eng.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999. xiii, 394p. 285-312. Langson Library JC599.E18 E37 1999

Citizenship issues in China's internal migration: comparisons with Germany and Japan.Political Science Quarterly (New York) 114, no.3 (Fall 1999) 455-478. Langson Bound Periodicals H1 .P8  v.114 no.3-4 1999/2000

States and Sovereignty in the Global Economy. London: Routledge, 1999. Co-editor with David A. Smith and Steven C. Topik. Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/114963 

China's floating population. In: Goldman, Merle; MacFarquhar, Roderick, eds. The paradox of China's post-Mao reforms. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1999. viii, 454p. (Harvard contemporary China series, 12) 220-240. Langson Library JQ1510 .P37 1999

Demolishing partitions: back to beginnings in the cities? China Quarterly (London) no.159 (Sep 1999) 629-639. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

Job categories and employment channels among the floating population. In: O'Leary, Greg, ed. Adjusting to capitalism: Chinese workers and the state. Armonk, N.Y.; London: M.E. Sharpe, 1998. 181p. 3-47. Langson Library HD8736.5 .A34 1998 

Despite decentralization: disadvantages, dependence and ongoing central power in the inland--the case of Wuhan. China Quarterly (London) no.145 (Mar 1996) 1-34. SRLF Storage DS701 .C472  no.145-146 1996; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

China's urban transients in the transition from socialism and the collapse of the communist 'urban public goods regime'. Comparative Politics (New York) 27, no.2 (Jan 1995) 127-146. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/17655

The Chinese work unit and transient labor in the transition from socialism. Modern China (Beverly Hills, CA) 21, no.2 (Apr 1995) 155-183. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/20808

The floating population in the cities: chances for assimilation? In: Davis, Deborah S., et al., eds. Urban spaces in contemporary China: the potential for autonomy and community in post-Mao China. Washington, D.C.: Woodrow Wilson Center Press: Cambridge, Eng.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995. 449p. (Woodrow Wilson Center series.) 113-139. Langson Library HT147.C48 U72 1995

China's Transition from Socialism: Statist Legacies and Market Reforms. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 1993. Langson Library HC427.92 .S63 1993 

China's transients and the state: a form of civil society? Politics and Society (Thousand Oaks, CA) 21, no.1 (Mar 1993) 91-122. Langson Bound Periodicals H1 .P82  v.21 1993; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/21420

Urban entrepreneurs and the state: the merger of state and society. In: Rosenbaum, Arthur Lewis, ed. State and society in China: the consequences of reform. Boulder, Colo.; Oxford, Eng.: Westview Press, 1992. 240p. 121-141. Langson Library DS779.26 .S74 1992

From Lathes to Looms: China's Industrial Policy in Comparative Perspective. Stanford: Stanford University Press, 1991. Langson Library HD3616.C63 S65 1991

Urban reform and relational contracting in post-Mao China: an interpretation of the transistion from plan to market. Studies in Comparative Communism (Los Angeles, CA) 22, nos.2-3 (Sum 1989) 171-186. Langson Bound Periodicals HX 1 S75  v.22 1989; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/9621

Capitalist measures with Chinese characteristics. Problems of Communism (Washington, DC) 38, no.1 (Jan-Feb 1989) 19-33. Langson Bound Periodicals HX 1 P75  v.38 1989

Democracy with Chinese characteristics. World Policy Journal (New York) 6, no.4 (Fall 1989) 621-632. Langson Bound Periodicals D839 .W5687  v.6 1988/89

City, province and region: the case of Wuhan. In: Reynolds, Bruce L., ed. Chinese economic policy: economic reform at midstream. New York: Paragon House, 1988. 318p. (World social systems series, China in a new era.) 233-284. Langson Library HC427.92 .C451458 1989

Uncertain paternalism: tensions in recent regional restructuring in China. International Regional Science Review (Philadelphia, PA) 11, no.1 (1987) 23-42. Langson Bound Periodicals H1 .I57  v.11 1987/88

The 1980 inflation and the politics of price control in the PRC. In: Lampton, David M., ed. Policy implementation in post-Mao China. Berkeley; London: University of California Press, 1987. 439p. (Studies on China, 7.) 81-118. Langson Library DS779.16 .P65 1987

China's economy: reform and state control. Current History (Philadelphia, PA) 85, no.512 (Sep 1986) 261-264, 275. Langson Bound Periodicals D410 .C82  v.85 1986; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/6950

China's new economic policies and the local industrial political process: the case of Wuhan. Comparative Politics (New York) 18, no.4 (Jul 1986) 379-400. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/17655

Industrial reform: decentralization, differentiation and the difficulties. Journal of International Affairs (New York) 39, no.2 (Win 1986) 105-118. Langson Bound Periodicals JX1 .J6  v.39 1985/86; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/7138

Temporary residence certificate regulations in Wuhan, May 1983. China Quarterly (London) no.101 (Mar 1985) 98-103. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

Chinese Business Under Socialism: The Politics of Domestic Commerce. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1984 (pb, 1987). Langson Library  HF1604 .S64 1984  

Three Visions of Chinese Socialism. Editor. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1984. Langson Library HX419.Z7 T47 1984 

Commerce: the petty private sector and the three lines in the early 1980s. In: Solinger Dorothy J., ed. Three visions of Chinese socialism. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1984. xii, 154p. 73-111. Langson Library HX419.Z7 T47 1984  

Marxism and the market in socialist China: the reforms of 1979-1980 in context. In: Nee, Victor; Mozingo, David, eds. State and society in contemporary China. Ithaca, N.Y.: Cornell UP, 1983. 303p. 194-219. Langson Library DS777.75 .S76 1983

Politics in Yunnan Province in the decade of disorder: elite factional strategies and central-local relations, 1967-1980. China Quarterly (London) no.92 (Dec 1982) 628-662. Langson Library DS701 .C472  no.89-92 1982; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

The Fifth National People's Congress and the process of policy making: reform, readjustment, and the opposition. Asian Survey (Berkeley, CA) 22, no.12 (Dec 1982) 1238-1275. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/16603

Economic reform via reformulation in China: where do rightist ideas come from? Asian Survey (Berkeley, CA) 21, no.9 (Sep 1981) 947-960. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/16603

Socialists goals and capitalist tendencies in Chinese commerce, 1949-1952. Modern China (Beverly Hills, CA) 6, no.2 (Apr 1980) 197-224. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/20808

The shadowy second stage of China's ten-year plan: building up regional systems, 1976-1985. Pacific Affairs (Vancouver, B.C.) 52, no.2 (Sum 1979) 241-264. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/934

State versus merchant: commerce in the countryside in the early People's Republic of China. Comparative Studies in Society and History (New York) 21, no.2 (Apr 1979) 168-194. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/19846

Some speculations on the return of the regions: parallels with the past. China Quarterly (London) no.75 (Sep 1978) 623-638. SRLF Storage DS701 .C472  no.73-76 1978; Also available online:http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

Regional Government and Political Integration in Southwest China, 1949-1954. Berkeley: University of California, 1977. Langson Library JQ1509 1949 .S64

Minority nationalities in China's Yunnan Province: assimilation, power and policy in a socialist state. World Politics (Princeton, NJ) 30, no.1 (Oct 1977) 1-23. Available at: http://uclibs.org/PID/961

Yang Su

"“Above the Roof, Beneath the Law: Perceived Justice behind Disruptive Tactics of Migrant Wage Claimants in China.” Law & Society Review vol.47 no.4 (2013): 703-738. Available online.

"Social Scientific Inquiry into Genocide and Mass Killing." (co-au) Annual Review of Sociology, Vol. 39 (2013). Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/46957

"The Making of Maoist Model in Post-Mao Era: The Myth of Nanjie Village." (co-au) Communist and Post-Communist Studies. Vol. 46, No.1 (2013):39-51. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/2841

"Do the 'Haves' Come out ahead in Shanghai Courts?" (co-au) Journal of Empirical Legal Studies. Vol.10, No.1 (2013):120-45. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/31452

“Adapt Or Voice: Class, Guanxi and Protest Propensity in China.” Journal of Asian Studies. Vol.72, No.1 (2013):45-67. Langson Library Bound Periodicals DS501 .J546 v.72; Also available online from http://journals.cambridge.org/action/displayBackIssues?jid=JAS

"State-Sponsored Social Movements." In: The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Movements and Collective Action2012. Wiley-Blackwell.

"Perceived Happiness in the Era of Economic Growth." (co-author) Social Sciences in China, December, No.12 (2012):83-102. Langson Library East Asian Collection Bound Periodicals H8.C47 C48 2012; Also available online from http://eng.oversea.cnki.net/kns55/oldnavi/n_item.aspx?naviid=48&BaseID=ZSHK&flg=local&NaviLink=Social+Sciences+in+China

"Communist Resilience: Institutional Adaptations in Post-Tiananmen China."  (co-au) In: Nina Bandelj and Dorothy Solinger (ed.) Socialism Vanquished, Socialism Challenged: Eastern Europe and China, 1989-2009. NY: Oxford University Press, 2012. Langson Library JN96.A58S64 2012

Collective Killings in rural China during the Cultural Revolution. Cambridge University Press, 2011. Langson Library DS778.7 .S817 2011 

"Street as Courtroom: State Accommodation of Labor Protest in South China." Law and Society Review, Vol.44, No.1 (2010): 157-184.  Langson Library Bound Periodicals K12 .A75 v.44-45 2010-2011; Also available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/32035

"Mass Killings in the Cultural Revolution: A Study of Three Provinces" in J. Esheric, P. Pickowicz and A. Walder (ed), Chinese Cultural Revolution as History. Stanford University Press (2006). Langson Library DS778.7 .C4563 2006

State sponsorship or state failure? : mass killings in rural China, 1967-68. Irvine, CA : Center for the Study of Democracy, 2003. Langson Library DS778.7 .S8 2003 ; Also Available online at http://repositories.cdlib.org/csd/03-06/

"The Cultural Revolution in the Countryside: Scope, Timing and Human Impact." China Quarterly 2003 173(March):75-99. Langson Bound Periodicals DS701 .C472  v.173 2003; Also available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/5691

"The War at Home: Anti-War Protests and Congressional Voting, 1965-73." American Sociological Review 2002 67(5): 696-721. Langson Bound Periodicals HM1 .A75  v.67 no.4-6 2002; Also available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/887

"Protest Events: Cause or Consequence of State Action? The U.S. Women's Movement and Federal Congressional Activities, 1956-1979." Mobilization 1999 4 (2): 239-255. Langson Bound Periodicals HM281 .M63  v.4 1999; Also available online from http://www.metapress.com/content/119834/

"The Role of Community Service in Identity Development: Normative, Unconventional, and Deviant Orientations." Journal of Adolescent Research. 1999 14(2): 248-261. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/9845

 "The Contingent Effects of Risk Perception on Risk Taking Behavior: Adolescent Participative Orientation and Marijuana Use." Journal of Youth and Adolescence. 1998 27(1): 17-27. Langson Bound Periodicals HQ796 .J625 v.27 1998; Also available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/1614

"Social Integration: Community Service and Marijuana Use in High School Seniors." Journal of Adolescence Research 1997 12 (2):245-262. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/9845

"The Villagers and Their Interaction in Ancestor Worship Rites: A Field Study in Northwestern China, 1992." Sociology and Social Research (Beijing, China). January/February 1993: 58-72.

Feng Wang

"Challenging myths about China's one-child policy" China Journal no.74 (Jul 2015) :144-159. Available online

"(Re)emergence of late marriage in Shanghai: from collective synchronization to individual choice." In: Davis, Deborah S & Friedman, Sara L. (eds.) Wives, husbands, and lovers: marriage and sexuality in Hong Kong, Taiwan, and urban China. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2014. pp.97-117

"计划生育34年". 新民周刊, No.47 (2013). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/170331

"Beyond inequality: mobility and China's future: guest editor's introduction"  Chinese Sociological Review, Vol. 45, no.4 (2013): 3-5. Available online  http://www.metapress.com/content/122370/

"全球化与中国人口变迁". 文明, No.11 (2011). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/258875

Prudence and Pressure, Reproduction and Human Agency in Europe and Asia, 1700-1900 (co-ed.). Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2010. Langson Library HB991.A3 P78 2010

"Boundaries of inequality: perceptions of distributive justice among urbanities, migrants, and peasants [uses 2004 national survey data]". In: Whyte, Martin King, ed. One country, two societies: rural-urban inequality in contemporary China. Cambridge, Mass.; London: Harvard University Press, 2010. (Harvard contemporary China series, 16) 219-240. Langson Library HT147.C48 O62 2010

"全球化环境中的世界人口与中国的选择". 国际经济评论, No.6 (2010). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/257666

"4亿中国人是怎么少生的?". 中国改革, No.7 (2010).

"负增长危机".中国改革, No.7 (2010). No.Z1 (2010).

Creating wealth and poverty in postsocialist China. (co-ed.). Stanford, Calif. : Stanford University Press, c2009. Langson Library HC430.I5 C73 2009 

The demographic factor in China’s transitions (Wang Feng and Andrew Mason). In Loren Brant and Thomas Rawski (eds.), China’s Great Economic Transformations. Cambridge University Press. 136-166. 2008. Langson Library HC427.92 .C46525 2008

Boundaries and Categories: Rising Inequality in Post-Socialist Urban China. Stanford University Press, 2008. Langson Library HN740.Z9 S64655 2008

"21世纪中国人口负增长惯性初探". 人口研究, No.6 (2008). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/258442

"低生育率时代中国社会面临的挑战". 党政干部文摘, No.8 (2008). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/132850

China’s local and national fertility policies at the end of the twentieth century. (Gu Baochang, Wang Feng, Guo Zhigang, and Zhang Erli). Population and Development Review. March 2007 33 no.1 129-148. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/31457

Population ageing: challenges, opportunities, and institutions. In: Zhao, Zhongwei; Guo, Fei, eds. Transition and challenge: China's population at the beginning of the 21st century. Oxford, England; New York: Oxford University Press, 2007. xiv, 350p. 177-196. Langson Library HB887 .T73 2007; Available online: http://dx.doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780199299294.001.0001

Categorical sources of income inequality in urban China. In: Tang, Wenfang; Holzner, Burkart, eds. Social change in contemporary China: C.K. Yang and the concept of institutional diffusion. Pittsburgh, Penn.: University of Pittsburgh Press, 2007. viii, 324p. 125-152. Langson Library HN733.5 .S623 2007

"人口红利真的是取之不尽、用之不竭的吗?". 人口研究, No.6 (2007). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/258442

"中国经济转型过程中的人口因素".  中国人口科学, No.3 (2006). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/259487

Famine, social disruption, and involuntary fetal loss: evidence from Chinese survey data. Demography (Silver Spring, MD) 42, no.2 (May 2005) 301-322. Langson Bound Periodicals HB881.A1 D53  v.42 no.1-2 2005; Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/967 

Can China afford to continue its one-child policy? AsiaPacific Issues 77: 1-12. Honolulu: the East-West Center. 2005. Available online: http://www.eastwestcenter.org/fileadmin/stored/pdfs/api077.pdf

Society and mortality [compares East Asia and Europe]. In: Bengtsson, Tommy, et al. Life under pressure: mortality and living standards in Europe and Asia, 1700-1900. Cambridge, Mass.; London: MIT Press, 2004. xiv, 531p. (MIT Press Eurasian population and family history series) 107-132. Langson Library HB3581 .L545 2004

Housing improvement and distribution in urban China: initial evidence from China's 2000 census. China Review: An Interdisciplinary Journal on Greater China (Hong Kong) 3, no.2 (Fall 2003) 121-143. Aailable online: http://www.chineseupress.com/promotion/China%20Review/China_review_J.html#5

Double jeopardy? Female rural migrant labourers in urban China, the case of Shanghai. In: Garcia, Brigida; Anker, Richard; Pinnelli, Antonella, eds. Women in the labour market in changing economies: demographic issues. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2003. xiii, 341p. 166-183. Langson Library HD6053 .W638534 2003

Pretransitional fertility in China. Population and Development Review (Malden, MA) 28, no.4 (Dec 2002) 735-750. Langson Bound Periodicals HB848 .P6  v.28 no.3-4 2002; Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/981

Positive check or Chinese checks? [historical demography]. Journal of Asian Studies (Ann Arbor, MI) 61, no.2 (May 2002) 591-607. Langson Bound Periodicals  DS501 .J546  v.61 no.1-2 2002; Available online: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00219118.html

Rural migrants in Shanghai: living under the shadow of socialism. International Migration Review (New York) 36, no.2 (Sum 2002) 520-545. Langson Bound Periodicals  JV6001 .I5  v.36 no.1-2 2002; Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/8757

"摘掉人口决定论的光环——兼谈历史人口研究的思路与方法". 历史研究, No.1 (2002). Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/258169

Asian Population History. (Liu T’sui-jung, James Lee, David Reher, Osamu Saito, and Wang Feng, editors). Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2001. Langson Library HB3633.A3 A837 2001

Nuptiality among the Qing nobility, 1640-1900. In: Liu, Ts'ui-jung, et al., eds. Asian population history. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001. xii, 451p. (International studies in demography) 353-373. Langson Library HB3633.A3 A837 2001

Male nuptiality and male-fertility among the Qing nobility: polygyny or serial monogamy? In: Bledsoe, Caroline; Lerner, Susana; Guyer, Jane I., eds. Fertility and the male life-cycle in the era of fertility decline. Oxford, Eng.; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. x, 376p. (International studies in demography) 188-206. Langson Library HB901 .F469 2000

Gendered migration and the migration of genders in contemporary China. In: Entwisle, Barbara; Henderson, Gail E., eds. Re-drawing boundaries: work, households, and gender in China. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2000. xii, 344p. 231-242. Langson Library HD8736.5 .R4 2000; Available online: http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt938nd0k8

One Quarter of Humanity, Malthusian Mythology and Chinese Realities 1700-2000. (James Lee and Wang Feng). Cambridge: Harvard University Press. 1999. Langson Library HB3578 .L44 1999

Malthusian models and Chinese realities: the Chinese demographic system 1700-2000. Population and Development Review (New York) 25, no.1 (Mar 1999) 33-65. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/981

Inside China's cities: institutional barriers and opportunities for urban migrants. American Economic Review (Nashville, TN) 89, no.2 (May 1999) 276-280. Langson Bound Periodicals  HB1 .A44  v.89 no.1-3 1999. Available online: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00028282.html

The breakdown of a great wall: recent changes in the household registration system of China. In: Scharping, Thomas, ed. Floating population and migration in China: the impact of economic reforms. Hamburg: Institut fur Asienkunde, 1997. 376p. (Mitteilungen des Instituts fur Asienkunde Hamburg, Nr. 284) 149-165. Langson Library DS1 .I55 Nr.284

China: the many facets of demographic change (ed.) Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1996 214p. Langson Library  HB1064.A3 C46 1996

Age at marriage and first birth interval: the emerging change in sexual behavior among young couples in China. Population and Development Review (New York) 22, no.2 (Jun 1996) 299-320. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/981

A decade of the one-child policy: achievements and implications. In: Goldstein, Alice; Wang, Feng, eds. China: the many facets of demographic change. Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1996. 214p. (Brown University studies in population and development.) 97-120. Langson Library  HB1064.A3 C46 1996

Marital fertility control among the Qing noblity: implications for two types of preventive check. Population Studies (London) 49, no.3 (Nov 1995) 383-400. Available online: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00324728.html

Infant and child mortality among the Qing nobility: implications for two types of positive check. Population Studies (London) 48, no.3 (Nov 1994) 395-411. Available online: http://www.jstor.org/journals/00324728.html

Parity progression and birth intervals in China: the influence of policy in hastening fertility decline. Population and Development Review (New York) 19, no.1 (Mar 1993) 61-101. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/981

Chinese demography: the state of the field.  Journal of Asian Studies (Ann Arbor, MI) 49, no.4 (Nov 1990) 807-834. Available online http://www.jstor.org/journals/00219118.html 

The roles of individuals' socioeconomic characteristics and the government family planning program in China's fertility decline. Population Research and Policy Review (Amsterdam) 7, no.3 (1988) 255-276. Langson Bound Periodicals  HB648 .P653  v.7 1988; Also available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/1654

Benjamin van Rooij

"Prosecutorial regulation in the Global South: Environmental civil litigation by prosecutors in China compared to Brazil." Regulation & Governance, vol.9, no.3 (2015): 294–307, Available online

"The authoritarian logic of regulatory pluralism: Understanding China's new environmental actors". Regulation & Governance, 2014. Available online

"Regulation by escalation : unrest, lawmaking and law enforcement in China". In: Susan Trevaskes et al. (eds.) The politics of law and stability in China. Cheltenham, UK : Edward Elgar, [2014]. Available in Law Library

"Environmental challenges in middle-icome countries: a comparison of enforcement in Brazil, China and Indonesia" In: Randall Peerenboom, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Tom Ginsburg (eds.) Law and development of middle-income countries : avoiding the middle-income trap. New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2014. Langson Library K3820 .L38 2014 

Institutions, regulatory styles, society and environmental governance in China. London ; New York : Routledge, 2014. Available in Law Library

"From Support to Pressure: The Dynamics of Social and Governmental Influences on Environmental Law Enforcement in Guangzhou City, China."Regulation & Governance 7 no.3  (2012): 321-347. Available online: http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=1748-5983

"Bringing Justice to the Poor, Bottom-Up Approaches to Legal Development Cooperation." Hague Journal on Rule of Law 4, no. 2 (2012): 286-318. Available online: http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=1876-4045

"The People's Regulation, Citizens and Implementation of Law in China." Columbia Journal of Asian Law 25, no. 2 (2012): 116-179. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/47237

 "Explaining the enforcement gap in China: Local government support and internal agency obstacles as predictors of enforcement actions in Guangzhou." Journal of Environmental Management 111 (2012): 227-235. Available online: http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0301479712003891 (co-author)

"The Compensation Trap: The Limits of Community-Based Pollution Regulation in China." Pace Environmental Law Review 29, no. 3 (2012): 701-745. Available online: http://digitalcommons.pace.edu/pelr/vol29/iss3/2/

"Compliance: Understanding Legal and Social Approaches." In He Jiang and Zhile Wang (eds.) 合规—全球公司发展新趋势 Compliance, The New Development Trend of Global Companies, 102-117. Beijing: China Economic Publishing House, 2012. In Langson Library East Asian Collection

"Zhifa Queshi Kunjingzhong De Lvse Gongye, Dui Shijie Yinhang De Fazhanzhongguojia Wuran Jianguan Moshi Zhi Pingqian 执法缺失困境中的绿色工业——对世界银行的发展中国家污染监管模式之评鉴 (Greening Industry without Enforcement, a Critical Look at the World Bank Model for Pollution Regulation in Developing Countries)." Dongfang Faxue 4 (2012): 134-149. Available online: http://gb.oversea.cnki.net/kns55/

Regulating land and pollution at Lake Dianchi: compliance and enforcement in a Chinese and comparative perspective [near Kunming, Yunnan]. In:  Burell, Mattias; Svensson, Marina, eds. Making law work: Chinese laws in context. Ithaca, N.Y.: East Asia Program, Cornell University, 2011. viii, 414p. (Cornell East Asia series, no.154) , 367-403. Langson Library DS501.C676 no.154 

"Shenmo Shi Falü Fuquan? Guoji Falü Hezuo De Quanli Yu Jiejin Zhengyi (What Is Legal Empowerment? International Legal Development Cooperation and Access to Justice)." Sifa Gaige Lunping (Judicial Reform Review), no. 12 (2011): 11-25. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/132913

"Towards customary legal empowerment : an introduction" In: Janine Ubink (ed.) Customary justice: perspectives on legal empowerment. Rome : International Development Law Organization: Van Vollenhoven Institute, University of Leiden, c2011. Available online http://issuu.com/idlonews/docs/customaryjustice3

"The People vs. Pollution: Understanding Citizen Action against Pollution in China." The Journal of Contemporary China 19, no. 63 (2010): 55-77. Available online: http://www.tandfonline.com/toc/cjcc20/19/63

"Reorienting Regulation: Pollution Enforcement in Industrializing Countries" Law & Policy (Special Edition) 32, no. 1 (2010): 1-13. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/12014

"Fragile Convergence: Understanding Variation in the Enforcement of China's Industrial Pollution Law" Law & Policy (Special Edition) 32, no. 1 (2010): 14-37. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/12014

"Greening Industry Without Enforcement? An Assessment of the World Bank's Pollution Regulation Model for Developing Countries" Law & Policy (Special Edition) 32, no. 1 (2010): 127-152. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/12014

"Renmin Duikang Wuran Zhizhan: Renshi Zhongguo Gongmin De Fanwuranxingdong (the People's War against Pollution, a Study of People's Action against Pollution)." In Jennifer Holdaway, Wang Wuyi, etc. (eds.) Huanjing Yu Jiankang: Kuaxueke Shijiao 环境与健康: 跨学科视角 (Environment and Health: Cross-Disciplinary Perspectives), edited by , 210-238. Beijing: Social Science Academic Press China, 2010. On order

"Changes in Enforcement Styles among Environmental Enforcement Officials in China." Environment and Planning A 41 (2009): 2706-23. Available online: http://www.envplan.com/abstract.cgi?id=a41357 (co-author)

"Rural Land Acquisition Conflicts in China, Illustrated by cases from Yunnan Province." In J.M. Ubink, A.J. Hoekema and W. Assies (eds.) Land Tenure Legalization, Country Studies and Cases. Amsterdam: Leiden University Press, 2009.

"Land Reform and Tenure Security in China, History and Current Challenges." In In J.M. Ubink, A.J. Hoekema and W. Assies (eds.) Land Tenure Legalization, Country Studies and Cases. Amsterdam: Leiden University Press, 2009. (co-author)

"Land loss and conflict in China : illustrated by cases from Yunnan province". In Janine M. Ubink, André J. Hoekema, and Willem J. Assies (eds.) Legalising land rights : local practices, state responses and tenure security in Africa, Asia and Latin America. [Leiden] : Leiden University Press, c2009. Langson Library K3871 .L444 2009 

Lawmaking for Development: Explorations into the theory and practice of international legislative projects. Amsterdam: Leiden University Press, 2008. Available in Law Library; Also available online

"Bargaining About the Land Bill, Making Effective Legislation to Protect Arable Land in China." In J. Arnscheidt, B. van Rooij and J.M. Otto (eds.) Lawmaking for Development: Explorations into the Theory and Practice of International Legislative Projects. Amsterdam: Leiden University Press, 2008.  Available in Law Library; Also available online

"From Party Rule to Rule of Law? Thirty Years of Legal Reform in China." In Center for International Legal Cooperation (ed.) The Impact of Rule of Law Assistance on the Legal Reform Process in China. Leiden: CILC, 2008.

"The Return of the Landlord: Chinese Land Acquisition Conflicts as Illustrated by Peri-Urban Kunming." Journal of Legal Pluralism, no. 55 (2007): 211-45. Available online: http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=journals/jlpul&collection=journals

"Fazhan Yujingxia de Wuran Jianguan, Zhongguo de Lifa, Shoufa yu Zhifa Zhuangkuang ji he qita Guojia de Bijiao Yanjiu (Pollution Regulation in a Context of Development: China's Lawmaking, Compliance and Enforcement Compared to Other Countries)." Hongfan Pinglun (Journal of Legal and Economic Studies), no. 9 (2007).

Regulating Land and Pollution in China, Lawmaking, Compliance, and Enforcement; Theory and Cases. Leiden: Leiden University Press, 2006. Langson Library KNQ3127 .R66 2006

"Implementation of Chinese Environmental Law: Regular Enforcement and Political Campaigns." Development and Change 37, no. 1 (2006): 57-74. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/11924

"Implementation of Chinese Environmental Law: Regular Enforcement and Political Campaigns." In P. Ho and E.B. Vermeer (eds.) China's Limits to Growth, Greening State and Society, 27-55. London: Blackwell Publishers, 2006.

"China's War on Graft: Politico-Legal Campaigns against Corruption in China and Their Similarities to the Legal Reactions to Crisis in the U.S." Pacific Rim Law and Policy Journal 14, no. 2 (2005): 289-336. Available online: http://www.heinonline.org/HOL/Index?index=journals/pacrimlp&collection=journals

"Huanjing Peichangfa, Yi Helan Wei Li De Shehui Faxue Fenxi 环境赔偿法--以荷兰为例的社会法学分析" (Environmental Compensation Law, Dutch and Socio-Legal Lessons).Keji Yu Faxue (Science, Technology and Law), no.1 (2005). Available online: http://c.wanfangdata.com.cn/periodical/kjyfl/2005-1.aspx

"Falü De Weidu, Cong Kongjianshang Jiedu Falü Shibai 法律的维度--从空间上解读法律失败" (Law's Dimension, Understanding Legal Failure Spatially)." Sixiang Zhanxian (Thinking), no. 4 (2004): 109-17. Available online: http://c.wanfangdata.com.cn/periodical/sxzx/2004-4.aspx

"Organization and procedure in environmental law enforcement: Sichuan in comparative perspective." China Information 17, no. 2 (2003): 36-65. Available online: http://uclibs.org/PID/58717

"La loi peut-elle contrôler la pollution des eaux? De l'applicabilité et des améliorations possibles de la réglementation Chinoise." Perspectives Chinoises 72, no. 12 (2002): 43-57. Available online: http://www.persee.fr/web/revues/home/prescript/issue/perch_1021-9013_2002_num_72_1

"Implementing Chinese environmental law through enforcement, the shiwuxiao and shuang ge dabiao campaigns." In J. Chen, J.M. Otto and Y. Li (eds.) Implementation of law in the People's Republic of China, 149-178. Den Haag: Kluwer Law International, 2002.

"China's system of public administration." In In J. Chen, J.M. Otto and Y. Li (eds.) Implementation of law in the People's Republic of China, 323-342. Den Haag: Kluwer Law International, 2002.

Jeffrey Wasserstrom

The Oxford illustrated history of modern China (editor). Oxford University Press, 2016. On order

"China & globalization" Daedalus Vol.143, No.2 (Spr 2014): 157-169. Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/37288

"Fast change and Its discontents"  Dissent Vol.60, No.2 (Spr 2013): 26-29. Available online at http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=0012-3846

China in the 21st century : what everyone needs to know (2nd ed.). New York: Oxford University Press, [2013] Langson Library DS779.4.W376 2013 

Chinese characters : profiles of fast-changing lives in a fast-changing land. (co-ed.) Berkeley: University of California Press, 2012 Langson Library DS799.4.C425 2012 

"Learning from Chinese national and nationalist spectacles"  International Journal of China Studies Vol. 3, No.3 (Dec 2012) : 315-323

"Three ways of looking at China's latest campaigns [commentary]" Harvard Asia Quarterly Vol. 13, No.2 (Sum 2011): 10-12 Available online at sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=1522-4147

China in the 21st century: what everyone needs to know. New York : Oxford University Press, 2010. Langson Library DS779.4 .W376 2010 

"Country on the move: China urbanizes" Current History  Vol. 108, No.717 (Apr 2009): 167-172 Langson Library Bound Periodicals D410 .C82 v.107-108 no.713-717 2008-2009 

"Rebellions and social protest" In: Leese, Daniel, ed. Brill's encyclopedia of China. Leiden, The Netherlands; Boston, Mass.: Brill, 2009. xxiii, 1110p. (Handbook of Oriental studies, section four, 20) , pages 840-842

"Student organizations and activism, 1900-1949" In: Pong, David, ed. Encyclopedia of modern China. Detroit; London: Gale Cengage Learning, 2009. 4v., pages v.3, 504-506

China in 2008 : a year of great significance. Eds. Kate Merkel-Hess, Kenneth L. Pomeranz, and Jeffrey N. Wasserstrom ; with Miri Kim. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2009. Langson Library DS779.4 .C45 2009

Global Shanghai, 1850-2010 : a history in fragments. New York; London: Routledge, 2008. Langson Library DS796.S257 W37 2009  

"Cosmopolitan connections and transnational networks" In: Dillon, Nara; Oi, Jean C., eds. At the crossroads of empires: middlemen, social networks, and state-building in Republican Shanghai. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2008. xiii, 310p. , pages 206-223 Langson Library HN740.S484 A8 2008 

"Dreams and nightmares: history and U.S. visions of the Beijing games" In: Price, Monroe E.; Dayan, Daniel, eds. Owning the Olympics: narratives of the new China. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press and University of Michigan Library, 2008. 416p. (The new media world) , pages 163-184 Langson Library GV722 2008 .O96 2008 

China's Brave New World--And Other Tales for Global Times. Indiana University Press, 2007. Langson LibraryDS779.23 .W38 2007

Human Rights and Revolutions, co-ed. Rowman and Littlefield, 2000 and 2007 2nd ed. Langson Library JC585.H86 2000 & JC585.H86 2007

"A Big Ben with Chinese characteristics: the Customs House as urban icon in old and new Shanghai" Urban History Vol.33, Part.1 (May 2007) : 65-84 Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/1419

"Is global Shanghai 'good to think'? Thoughts on comparative history and post-socialist cities" Journal of World History  Vol. 18, No.2 (Jun 2007): 199-234 Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/136464

"Thinking outside the book: thoughts on Cohen's 'other' writings" Chinese Historical Review Vol.14, No.2 (Fall 2007): 198-203

"Terror and war at the turn of two centuries: the Boxer crisis revisited" In: Esherick, Joseph W.; Yeh, Wen-hsin; Zelin, Madeleine, eds. Empire, nation, and beyond: Chinese history in late imperial and modern times--a Festschrift in honor of Frederic Wakeman. Berkeley: Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California, 2006. viii, 323p. (China research monograph, 61), pages 192-210

""Shanghai pride: Shanghai has a long history of talking itself up" China Business Review  Vol. 31, No.6 (Nov-Dec 2004): 66-67. Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/47214

Twentieth-Century China: New Approaches, ed. Routledge, 2003. Langson Library DS774.T84 2003

"The Cultural Revolution and the democracy movement of 1989: complexity in historical connections" In: Law, Kam-yee, ed. The Chinese Cultural Revolution reconsidered: beyond purge and holocaust. Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2003, pages 241-261 Langson Library DS778.7.C4565 2003

"Current Chinese protests and the prism of Tiananmen" Harvard International Journal of Press/Politics  Vol. 8, No.1 (Win 2003): 81-86 Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/46814

"The second coming of global Shanghai" World Policy Journal  Vol. 20, No.2 (Sum 2003): 51-60 Available online at http://www.jstor.org/journals/07402775.html

Chinese Femininities/Chinese Masculinities: A Reader, co-ed. University of California Press, 2002. Langson Library HQ1075.5.C6C47 2002; Also available online http://ark.cdlib.org/ark:/13030/kt4f59q2wj

"Questioning the modernity of the model settlement: citizenship and exclusion in old Shanghai" In: Goldman, Merle; Perry, Elizabeth J., eds. Changing meanings of citizenship in modern China. Cambridge, Mass.; London: Harvard University Press, 2002. viii, 462p. (Harvard contemporary China series, 13) , pages 110-132 Langson Library JQ1517.A2 C53 2002 

"Waiting for China's Lech Walesa" Current History Vol. 101, No.656 (Sep 2002): 256-258 Langson Library Bound Periodicals D410 .C82 v.101 2002

The 20th Century: A Retrospective.Westview Press, 2000. Langson Library CB425.A135 2002

“History's place in the human rights debate” China Rights Forum (New York) (Spr 2001) 23-25.

"New approaches to old Shanghai" Journal of Interdisciplinary History Vol. 32, No.2 (Aut 2001): 263-279 Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/19912

"Beyond ping-pong diplomacy: China and human rights" World Policy Journal  Vol. 17, No.4 (Win 2000-2001): 61-66 Available online at http://www.jstor.org/journals/07402775.html

"Big bad China and the good Chinese: an American fairy tale" In: Weston, Timothy B.; Jensen, Lionel M., eds. China beyond the headlines. Lanham, Md.: Rowman & Littlefield, 2000, pages 13-35 Langson Library HN733.5.C4285 2000

"Locating old Shanghai: having fits about where it fits" In: Esherick, Joseph W., ed. Remaking the Chinese city: modernity and national identity, 1900-1950. Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 2000 , pages 192-210 Langson Library HT147.C48 R46 2000 

"Sophisticated guides to a changing Chinese landscape" China Journal  No.43 (Jan 2000): 141-147 Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/234

“Student protests in fin-de-siecle China” New Left Review (London)no.237 (Sep-Oct 1999) 52-76.  Langson Bound Periodicals HX3.N36  no.235-238 1999; Also available online http://newleftreview.org/

"Echoes of the May 4th Movement: defenders of communist orthodoxy and democracy activists both lay claim to a Chinese movement of 1919" Media Studies Journal Vol. 13, No.1 (Win 1999): 2-7

"Mao matters: a review essay (David E. Apter and Tony Saich: Revolutionary Discourse in Mao's Republic; and Li Zhisui: The Private Life of Chairman Mao: The Memoirs of Mao's Personal Physician Dr. Li Zhisui)" China Review International Vol. 3, No.1 (Spr 1996) : 1-21 Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/604

"Shanghai's 'dogs and Chinese not admitted' sign: legend, history and contemporary symbol" China Quarterly No.142 (Jun 1995) : 444-466 Available online at http://uclibs.org/PID/23000

"Student associations and mass movements" In: Davis, Deborah S., et al., eds. Urban spaces in contemporary China: the potential for autonomy and community in post-Mao China. Washington, D.C.: Woodrow Wilson Center Press: Cambridge, Eng.; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1995. 449p. (Woodrow Wilson Center series.) , pages 362-393 Langson Library HT147.C48 U72 1995

"Scholarship on Shanghai student activism"  Chinese Studies in History Vol. 27, Nos.1-2 (Fall-Win 1993-1994): 13-21

Popular Protest and Political Culture in Modern China, co-ed. Westview Press, 1992 and 1994 second edition. Langson Library DS779.32.P67 1992 & DS779.32.P67 1994

“The evolution of the Shanghai student protest repertoire; or, where do correct tactics come from?” In: Wakeman, Frederic, Jr.; Yeh, Wen-hsin, eds. Shanghai sojourners. Berkeley: Institute of East Asian Studies, University of California, 1992. 362p. (China research monograph, 40.) Langson Library DS796.S257 S57 1992

"Towards a social history of the Chinese revolution: a review: part 1: the evolution of a field" Social History Vol. 17, No.1 (Jan 1992): 1-21 Available online at http://www.jstor.org/journals/03071022.html

"Towards a social history of the Chinese revolution: a review: part 2: the state of a field" Social History Vol. 17, No.2 (Jay1992): 289-317 Available online at http://www.jstor.org/journals/03071022.html

Student Protests in Twentieth-Century China: The View from Shanghai. Stanford University Press, 1991. Langson Library LA1134.S4 W37 1991

"Acting out democracy: political theater in modern China" Journal of Asian Studies  Vol. 49, No.4 (Nov 1990): 835-865 Available online at http://www.jstor.org/journals/00219118.html

"Student protests and the Chinese tradition, 1919-1989" In: Saich, Tony, ed.. The Chinese people's movement: perspectives on spring 1989. Armonk, N.Y.; London: M.E. Sharpe, 1990, pages 3-24 Langson Library DS779.32.C5 1990

“Student protest and student life: Shanghai, 1919-49” Social History (Hull, England) 14, no.1 (Jan 1989) 1-29. Langson Bound Periodicals HN1.S48  v.14 1989

“'Civilization' and its discontents: the Boxers and Luddites as heroes and villains” Theory and Society (Amsterdam) 16, no.5 (Sep 1987) 675-707. Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/23056

“The first Chinese red scare?: fanchi propaganda and pro-red responses during the Northern Expedition” Republican China (Urbana, IL) 11, no.1 (Nov 1985) 32-51.

“Resistance to the one-child family” Modern China (Beverly Hills, CA) 10, no.3 (Jul 1984) 345-374. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/20808

Robert Wue

Art Worlds: Artists, Images, and Audiences in Late Nineteenth-Century Shanghai . University of Hawai'i Press, 2014. Langson Library NC998.6.C62 S539 2014  ;

"The Mandarin at Home and Abroad: Picturing Li Hongzhang (1823-1901)," Ars Orientalis, Vol. 43 (2013): 140-156. Available online 

“From Paragon to Butcher: Iconography and Identity in the Early Portraiture of Ren Bonian (1840-1895),” in Shane McCausland and Yin Hwang, eds., On Telling Images of China: Essays in Narrative Painting and Visual Culture  (Hong Kong University Press, 2013): 265-292.

"Selling the Artist: Advertising, Art and Audience in Later Nineteenth Century Shanghai," Art Bulletin, XCI/4 (December 2009), 464-481. Langson Bound Periodicals N11 .A7  v.91 2009

"Shanghai school of painting". In: Pong, David, ed. Encyclopedia of modern China. Detroit; London: Gale Cengage Learning, 2009. 4v. v.3, 382-384.

“Deliberate looks: Ren Bonian's 1888 Album of Women” In: Kuo, Jason C., ed. Visual culture in Shanghai 1850s-1930s. Washington, D.C.: New Academia Publishing, 2007. xvi, 356p. 55-77. Langson Library    N7347.S48 .K86 2007

“Essentially Chinese: The Chinese Portrait Subject in Nineteenth-Century Photography,” in Wu Hung and Katherine R. Tsiang, eds., Body and Face in Chinese Visual Culture (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Asia Center, 2005), 257-280.Langson Library N7574.5.C6 B63 2004 

“The profits of philanthropy: relief aid, Shenbao, and the art world in later nineteenth-century Shanghai” Late Imperial China (Baltimore, MD) 25, no.1 (Jun 2004) 187-211. Langson Bound Periodicals  DS754 .C5332  v.25 2004; Available online http://uclibs.org/PID/640

Picturing Hong Kong: Photography 1855-1910. New York: Asia Society Galleries, c1997. Langson Loan Res Desk TR102.H6 P56 1997

Mei Zhan

"Human oriented? Angels and monsters in China's health care reform [examines yihuan guanxi, or relations between medical professionals and patients, under China's health care reform]". In: Peggy Watson (ed.) Health care reform and globalisation: the US, China and Europe in comparative perspective. London; New York: Routledge, 2013, pp. 71-92.

"Worlding Oneness: Daoism, Heidegger, and possibilities for treating the Human." Social Text 29:4 (2012)):107-28. Available online from http://uclibs.org/PID/40134

“Human Oriented? Angels and monsters in China’s health-care reform.” East Asian Science, Technology, and Society: An International Journal, 2011:5:291–311. Available online

Other-worldly: making Chinese medicine through transnational frames. Durham : Duke University Press, 2009. Ayala Science Library Bar WB 55.C4 Z63o 2009 

“A Doctor of the Highest Caliber Treats an Illness before It Happens.” Medical Anthropology, special issue on the globalization of Chinese Medicine, 28:2, forthcoming in 2009. Available from http://openurl.cdlib.org/?sid=SCP:SCP&genre=article&__char_set=utf8&issn=0145-9740

Wild consumption: relocating responsibilities in the time of SARS” In: Zhang, Li; Ong, Aihwa, eds. Privatizing China: socialism from afar. Ithaca, N.Y.; London: Cornell University Press, 2008. viii, 282p. 151-167.  Langson Library HD4318 .P755 2008

“Civet Cats, Fried Grasshoppers, and David Beckham’s Pajamas: unruly bodies after SARS,” American Anthropologist, 2005, 107:1:31-42.  Langson Bound Periodicals GN1 .A5  v.107 2005; Also available from http://www.anthrosource.net/loi/aa

“Does it take a miracle? Negotiating knowledges, identities, and communities of traditional Chinese medicine [Shanghai, San Francisco]” Cultural Anthropology (Arlington, VA) 16, no.4 (Nov 2001) 453-480. Langson Bound Periodicals GN301 .C85  v.16 2001; Also available from http://www.anthrosource.net/loi/can

Loading

Subject Librarian

Ying Zhang's picture
Ying Zhang
Contact:
Office: 466 Langson Library

Phone: (949) 824-0489

Fax: (949)824-0605

Email: yingz@uci.edu
Subjects:Humanities