Research Guides: Urban Planning & Public Policy: Subject Coverage

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand

Contact:

Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Subjects: Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Informatics, Public Policy, Urban Planning

Subject Coverage

Other Subject Guides will help inform user on many topics. Recommended examples include:

Orange County Subject Guide
California Subject Guide
US Government Subject Guide
International Government Organizations Subject Guide
Demography and Social Analysis Subject Guide
Civil & Environmental Engineering Subject Guide
Sociology Subject Guide

Other academic guides that are helpful include:

Environmental Design Library, University of California, Berkeley

MIT Research Guide on Urban Planning & Design

Specialized sites to find specialized information on:

Cities & Urban Affairs/Studies
Demography
Design
Environmental Law & Climate Change
You will need to register for this set of resources from LexisNexis - one of its specialized communities with a focus on Environmental Law and Climate Change/Global Warming.
Profiles many legal cases, blogs and information sources on national & international relevance to topic.
Environmental Psychology
History of Planning
Housing - HUD User Home Page
HUD User hosts research, publications, and datasets from the US Department of Housing
and Urban Development’s (HUD) Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R).
Established in 1973, PD&R is the office “responsible for maintaining current information
on housing needs, market conditions, and existing programs, as well as conducting research on priority housing and community development issues.”
International Development
includes a lot of surveys, instruments and country rankings
Planning
Policy & Surveys
Poverty
Sustainability
Transportation
Water Resources
variety of resources to support the study of water sciences

General Sites to find Specialized Information

Active Living Network
ArchiveGrid
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid.
more...less...
Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. Contains broad databases available to historical research.
British-American Tobacco Document Collection
Over 2,000 tobacco industry documents made available by the Library and Center for Knowledge Management at the University of California, San Francisco.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Database
International index and database to multilingual, multidisciplinary humanities and social sciences from 1984 until 2015.
Globest
Free current real estate news content with coverage of Orange County, Southern California and coverage of other major cities. Provides news, features, deal tracking, resources and updates from the commercial and residential markets.
IBM Samrter Planet
Museums and the Open Archive of California
Search selected collections from MOAC partner institutions. This resource currently includes 75,000 records and images from 11 California cultural institutions presented online by the California Digital Library.
Online Archive of California
The OAC brings together historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives.
more...less...
Over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections are available.
Quest for Peace Interviews, 1983-1989
The Quest for Peace Interviews are collections of half-hour interviews with a wide range of world-renowned experts such as Condoleezza Rice, Norman Cousins, John Kenneth Galbraith and Julian Bond on the pursuit of lasting world peace in a nuclear age.
Social Science Information Gateway
Free database of over 50,000 Social Science Web pages and resources. Intute closed in July 2011 so no new content is being added to the archived resources.
ToxTown
Tox Town is designed to provide information on: everyday locations where you might find toxic chemicals, non-technical descriptions of chemicals, links to selected, authoritative chemical information on the Internet, etc.
World Digital Library
Zillow.com
Large national real estate values database - created with data from local county assessor's office when available.
Atlas of Cyberspaces

Training Session Notes - Oct 30, 2019

Coverage of today's session includes:

How to evaluate information - Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose - to reduce unreliable information, contributing to fake news
Framing the Research Question - focus on what you want to know and how information will be collected - start from an outline; state the hypothesis so it can be accepted or rejected by the evidence you collect (Sage Research Methods Online)
Consider how you account for gender, other population criteria such as age/lifespan, race,ethnicity, sexuality, socioeconomic, legal status, refugee; geography - where is the work being studied; what about any bias
Analytical methods - quantitative or qualitative approach
Theoretical constructs to contextualize ideas - what social theories define purpose; social underpinnings; chronology / dateline
Classic works - summaries (Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences,
Spatial relationships - depending on data in a specific location, environment - GIS generated? Examples may be to include concepts of neighborhood, framework, incorporate census data for population, education, housing, incarcerated, employment, etc
Noting core literature - adding how it was applied in different settings - use Research Guides
1. Books and authors
2. Theorists and movements
3. Key journal literature - Journal Citation Reports - part of WoS (SCIE, SSCI) - ranking & impacts
4. Conference papers/proceedings
5. Working Papers & Technical Reports
6. Case Studies
7. Theses & Dissertations -Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global
8. Grey Literature - white papers
9. Data sets
10. News & Media sources, blogs - social media coverage
11. Video & multimedia
Managing your research - Bibliographic Management Software - Zotero, Mendeley, EndNote & Endnote Basic (web)
Annotated works, compilations
Register for an ORCID ID - https://orcid.org
Research Impact
Specific to the Dissertation
Government Information