Urban Planning & Public Policy

Non-profit research institute analyzing public administration in New Orleans but affecting all metropolitan areas. Bibliography of publications and links to university public policy institutes.

Non-partisan organization promoting ethics in government. 50 States Project rates states on public disclosure laws. Research reports on financing presidential and Congressional elections.

The Citizen's Handbook provides information and resources about citizen activism. It contains excerpts and articles from various authors on the topic of citizen activism and engagement. The website also provides other resource recommendations.

Internet search engine. Advanced Search permits searching by domain. Many states have a domain ending with state.two-letter abbreviation.us, (e.g. state.mi.us or state.ca.us).

IPR is an interdisciplinary public policy research institute, and includes urban policy and community development in its policy and community development in its policy briefs and working papers series.

Many resources and publications on this site emphasize the long tradition of the Lincoln Institute to be a primary source of information on topics related to land development and policy.

Research projects on state and local governance with emphasis on Arizona. Economics, education, environment, government, effect of tax cuts. Full text of Arizona Policy Choices and selected other publications available online.

The National Council of Public-Private partnerships advocates fort he use of public-private partnerships to benefit both government and the private sector. The NCPPP website provides general information, case studies, publications, issues papers, and other resources about public-private partnerships.

Annual surveys that summarize a variety of issues important to life and work in Orange County, California. (1983-2004)

Public policy think tank for Massachusetts issues. Includes policy briefs and white papers. Focus on charter schools, deregulation and contracting.

The world’s largest discovery service and database of reports, papers, and other resources published by over 8,000 NGOs, think tanks, IGOs and research centers from across the world. Subject coverage is comprehensive: architecture, agriculture, business, climate, development, education, employment, energy, environment, finance, health, law, libraries, migration, inequality, investment, governance, industry, pensions, poverty, science, technology, trade, social issues, urban areas and more. It includes a Directory of over 21,000 organizations involved in public and social policy. Users can upload their own reports and links to resources, make lists and stay up-to-date by following searches, organizations and topics.

The Policy Consensus Initiative is focused on the creation of a "collaborative system governance" through consensus building. PCI's website provides introductory information on collaborative governance, case studies, research publications by PCI, and tools for supporting the collaborative governance mission.

PolicyLink promotes policies and programs that advance economic and social equity. Specifically, it focuses on issues of health and place, infrastructure, leadership and civic engagement, and federal policy. Past and current PolicyLink research publications are available online, as is the Equitable Development Toolkit.

Search engine to politics on the web. Includes political party, think tank, and advocacy web sites.

Divided into 18 national policy areas, some of which are regulated by the states. Includes abortion, immigration, and the right-to-die. Frames the debate, provides several sides of an issue, and reports American public opinion.

PPIC is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to informing and improving public policy in California through independent, objective, nonpartisan research. Output is in form of many surveys, books, reports, interviews, etc.

The weekly radio talk show explores urban life and planning trends. Guests include public policy experts, elected officials, economists, developers, and planners.

An open-access journal, Social Geography is primarily concerned with the interrelation of society, practice and space and its implications for environmental and social policy.

List of free-market think tanks arranged by state. Includes address, phone, fax, and web link if available.

Use the Issues and Legislation/Issue and Interest Group Link. Specify name of state. Results include main lobby groups and their ratings of state legislators.

Summary of news articles about state legislative issues for all 50 states. States can be compared and ranked on population, economic, crime, budget, and environmental factors.

Nonprofit policy research organization in Washington, D.C. The Institute’s goals are to sharpen thinking about society’s problems, improve government decisions and their implementation, and increase citizens’ awareness about public choice.

UI is a nonpartisan economic and social policy research organization with a good balance of coverage among international, federal, state, and local sectors.