Find Articles - Using Databases - Urban Planning & Public Policy - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Research Impact on Public Policy

Sage Policy Profiles
Powered by Overton, this free-to-use tool for social science researchers and those in related fields can see where their research has been used in policy and can export that data, visualize it, and share what find. Driven by Orcid iD #, it allows specific or all research to be tracked for impact in social & public policy.

Browzine

Additional information about BrowZine is available here.

Browzine

BrowZine for UCI
A current awareness service to help you keep up with the latest research in your field. You can use it on the web, through a mobile app, or both as it syncs your account across all devices. It's available to all UC Irvine faculty, staff, and students.

BrowZine is designed to facilitate an experienced researcher to quickly narrow to their area of expertise and follow known, ranked titles of interest. Its main intent is to assist scholars in staying current in their field of expertise by providing a reader with superior browsing capabilities.

American Society of American Society of American Institute Materials Research Institute of Electrical Annual Review
Civil Engineers Mechanical Engineers of Chemical Society & Electronics
Engineers Engineering

Note:

Due to the status between the UC System and Elsevier, journal titles marked as [Elsevier] will not grant full-text access to content from 2019 and later.

To get full-text articles published in 2019 and later, please see our Alternative Access page.

BrowZine using a web browser

Open your favorite web browser.
Go to browzine.com.
Click Choose My Library
Select University of California Irvine.
Go to Settings.
Under BrowZine Account, click Login
Click Sign up create an account.
Browse journals by clicking BrowZine Library, or search for journal by title, subject, or ISSN. Add journals to your bookshelf by clicking on a journal, then clicking Add To My Bookshelf.

Finding Articles and Databases

AccessAsia
AccessAsia is a free online specialized search engine that focuses on experts in the field of contemporary Asian affairs, including economics, health, politics, foreign policy, energy, security, and trade. These experts' specializations range from Japan to Afghanistan and Russia to Australia.
AmeliaCA
Available in English, Spanish & Portuguese. Ameli, Open Knowledge for Latin America and the Global South (AmeliCA) is an initiative launched by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the Latin American Council of Social Sciences ( CLACSO ), the Network of Scientific Journals of Latin America and the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal (REDALYC), the Autonomous University of the State of Mexico (UAEM), the University of Antioquia (UdeA) and the National University of La Plata (UNLP). This is a new configuration of strategies in response to the international, regional, national and institutional context, which seeks a collaborative, sustainable, protected and non-commercial Open Access solution for Latin America and the Global South.
Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA)
British and European influences predominate this database in the Applied Sciences.
BCC Research
Marketing content that projects 5 yrs out from date of report how product & industry is likely to perform with market shares. Wide range of topics. Global coverage.
British Library for Development Studies
The British Library for Development Studies (BLDS) has the largest collection of economic and social development materials in Europe and over half of it originates from developing countries. But until now, much of the BLDS physical collection has only been available to visitors to the library or users of its Document Delivery service. BLDS is hoping that its newly-launched Digital Library will help redress the situation by making developing country research more accessible and visible online
more...less...
The new service, funded by the UK’s Department for International Development, has been created to help decades of research from developing country institutions enjoy a wider global readership. BLDS is working with partner research institutes in Africa and Asia, to digitise their printed publications and host them online so they can be easily found through search engines. Nearly 600 papers have been digitised so far from Uganda, Kenya, Ethiopia, Zimbabwe and India, with more to be added in coming months as BLDS continues building partnerships with research institutes. The publications in the BLDS Digital Library are being made available through a Creative Commons licence which enables future sharing and dissemination of this content by others. Also visit the BLDS Global Projects webpage at http://blds.ids.ac.uk/global-projects
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)*
The practice, theory and history of design, crafts, architecture and advertising with an emphasis on visual literacy and more recently on environmental sensitivity.
DisasterLit for Disaster Medicine & Public Health
This database is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) links to disaster medicine and public health open access resources.
Resources include grey literature, guidelines, reports, proceedings, trainings, fact sheets, etc., for a professional audience.

NLM selects resources from over 1,400 non-commercial publishing sources, which This database supplements disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public).
ELDIS
The aim is to share the best in development policy, practice and research. Browse more than 26,000 summarised documents from over 7,500 development organisations - all available free to download. Share your work with over 80,000 development practitioners. Prepared by the Institute for Development Studies in Great Britain.
GreenFile
Environmental Sciences about sustainability, renewables and creating green policies and lifestyles.
International Abstracts in Operations Research 1972+*
Major A&I service for the International Operations Research journal literature. No UC eLinks, thus looking up sources of journal titles in Library Search is required. UCI has majority of indexed titles.
Issue Lab
Contains easily searchable free full-text access to thousands of case studies, evaluation, white papers and issue briefs addressing some of the world's most pressing social problems that share the collective intelligence of the social sector. Covers public policy and knowledge mobilization.
Journal of Planning Literature
This journal publishes refereed articles from respected scholars and planners. It also provides listings, abstracts, and research notes on a wide range of timely city and regional planning issues.
NTIS Database Online*
National Technical Information Service provides full descriptive summaries of more than 2.2 million documents and other materials NTIS has received from U.S. Government agencies since 1964.
PoliticalPro California
Covers CA focused socio-political topics; Agriculture, Budget & Appropriations, Campaigns, Cybersecurity, Defense, Education, eHealth, Employment & Immigration, Energy, Financial Services, Health Care, Tax, Technology, Trade, Transportation.
Political Science: a SAGE full-text collection*
PoliticoPro California
POPLINE
A bibliographic reproductive health database POPLINE offers citations with abstracts are available for books and book chapters, technical reports, journal articles, laws, bills, and court decisions, papers presented at conferences, and more.
Selected Water Resources Abstracts (1968-2001)
An online compendium that provides a searchable index of abstracts relating to water resources and water management.
TED Talks
Invited speakers addressing topics of the day, especially about new roles of technology, entertainment and design but covers a lot of science and medicine as they promote technology and design in particular.
TRB (Transportation Research Board) Annual Meeting Compendium of Papers Online
Conduct a search for what you need using the search box on the upper right side. Not all the papers are available online and free. Please contact jgelfand@uci.edu if you have questions.
Uncovering California's Environmental Collections
The University of California's Digital Library (CDL), in partnership with nine California institutions, has been awarded a competitive grant to catalog thirty-three collections documenting a range of important issues- including irrigation, mining, forestry, agriculture, industry, land use, activism, and research- in the state's environmental history.
more...less...
Highlights from the collections include the corporate records of Unocal, a major oil company; the papers of Frank Sherwood Rowland, the Nobel-prize winning scientist who discovered the effects of CFC's on the state's tidelands controversy, with a complete environmental profile of Los Angeles Harbor.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture since 1934, covering the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation and interior design and decoration.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Content includes scholarly business journals (including open access journals), trade publications, news, conference proceedings, industry reports, country reports, company reports, and more.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
Source for theory and research in international affairs. It includes scholarship, working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals, case studies for teaching, and policy briefs. Topics include security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, lobal governance, development studies, and environmental studies.
Communication Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Comprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources on a world-wide scale. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers, such as international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index and full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including the University of California.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Published by the American Economic Association. Provides citations, with selected abstracts, to international literature on economics.
Frost & Sullivan This link opens in a new window
Global industry research reports that integrate seven perspectives (competitive intensity, customer dynamics, industry convergence, disruptive technologies, global mega trends, new business models, and emerging markets) into a complete, overall view of the factors that impact covered industries.
Gartner This link opens in a new window
Research applicable to all facets of IT. Content includes: Magic Quadrants (i.e., a graphical competitive positioning of four types of technology providers), Hype Cycles (i.e., a graphic representation of the maturity and adoption of technologies and applications), as well as other reports on vendors and technologies.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Established by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI) in 1966, this database provides access to a broad collection of geoscience literature across the world. It contains references to geoscience maps, serial, and non-serial literature, as well as to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Major areas of coverage include areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology.
Global Health via CABI This link opens in a new window
Global Health (GH) is a bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health. It compiles international medical and health research by capturing key literature, including journals, reports, books and conferences from 1973 to the present. Publications from over 100 countries are abstracted, and all relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research otherwise not available. The database's open serials policy and coverage of international and grey literature means that 40% of material contained in Global Health is unique to the database.
Global Think Tanks This link opens in a new window
A database of reports, papers, and other resources published by NGOs, think tanks, IGOs and research centers from across the world. It also includes a directory of thousands of organizations involved in public and social policy in most subject area. A module in the Policy Commons database.
Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A) This link opens in a new window
Assembles significant findings and practical applications in agricultural, food and beverage, chemical, and pharmaceutical industries.
National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) offers a public interface for accessing authenticated government technical reports in the U.S. Department of Commerce NTIS (National Technical Information Service) database. Provides indexing and access to historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service.
Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new window
Provides public access to detailed descriptions and finding aids of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS Index covers global public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, and world politics. It includes international sources such as journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not included.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable electronic journal archive of social science, humanities, natural and physical science journals produced in Iberoamerica.
Risk Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the literature on risks arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment of the magnitude and probability of risk and the management of risk.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts indexes social and behavioral sciences journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. It also covers topics such as culture and social structure; health, medicine and law; policy and planning; religion and science; and women's studies.
SSRN This link opens in a new window
SSRN (formerly Social Science Research Network) is a repository featuring many specialized research networks that altogether cover practically all academic disciplines. Scholars use SSRN to share their forthcoming research preprints (i.e., working papers and abstracts that have not been peer-reviewed), and to discover one another's forthcoming research. SSRN also classifies papers into topic-based eJournals that are distributed to institutional subscribers.
Most content in SSRN is available via Open Access.

If UCI Authorized Affiliates (i.e. current students/faculty/staff) also want to get a Research Network's (RN) eJournal via email, then UC Irvine must be a subscriber to that RN. (Note: Not all RNs produce eJournals.)

The full list of RNs is at: ssrn.com/index.cfm/en/subscribe/. Select the RN name for a list of subscribers, and look for UC Irvine in the list.

If you want UC Irvine to subscribe to an RN, please email your subject librarian: lib.uci.edu/subject-librarians
Sustainability Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database explores all aspects of sustainable development, human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management.
Transportation Research International Documentation (TRID) This link opens in a new window
TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Transport Database This link opens in a new window
International air and surface (road, rail, and marine) transportation information. It combines the following databases: Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS), International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) from OECD, and TRANSDOC from ECMT. Includes historical content.
One user at a time. If refused, try again later.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic entries of key relevance to the discipline, including urban affairs, community development, and urban history.
Water Resources Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.

Major Journals & Publishing Platforms

California Planning and Development Report
For 20 years, California Planning & Development Report has been regarded as the authoritative periodical on planning and development issues - required reading for planners, land-use lawyers, developers, environmentalists, citizen activists, and others interested and involved in the process of planning and development in California. Since 1986, CP&DR has been a unique institution - a monthly newsletter that serves the California planning and development community by providing comprehensive and up-to-date information in an impartial way using the highest journalistic standards.

Almost all of CP&DR's editorial material is prepared by professional journalists with special knowledge in planning and development. CP&DR is the only independent publication in the nation covering planning and development issues in a single state.
Government Technology
Short articles about trends and solutions to problems about transportation, smart cities, cybersecurity, and hosts of other issues.
Journal of Planning Literature
This journal publishes refereed articles from respected scholars and planners. It also provides listings, abstracts, and research notes on a wide range of timely city and regional planning issues.
Journal of the American Planning Association
Call number: NA 9000 A45
Full-text articles available from 1988-present.
Places Journal
The peer-reviewed journal explores the relationship between design and the creation of neighborhoods, parks, streets, workplaces, infrastructure, and other spaces that support communities.
ScienceDirect*
Elsevier Scientific Publishers and Academic Press. Full text access to over 900 scientific, medical and technical journals published by Elsevier Scientific Publishers.
Springer Link*
Springer Verlag Publishers. Abstracts and full text of over 200 journals in the sciences. Full text coverage: 1997 to the present.
Sustainability: Science, Practice, and Policy (SSPP)
Published semi-annually, SSPP is a peer-reviewed, open access journal that provides a platform for the dissenmination of new practices and for dialogue emerging out of the field of sustainability.
Taylor & Francis Journals
Offers full-text access to journals in a wide range of disciplines of social sciences, STEM fields and related subjects, representing the publishers now incorporated into T&F, such as Carfax which included a large number of critical titles to different aspects of urban & regional planning.
Wiley-Blackwell
Journal TOCs
JournalTOCs is for all researchers and is the largest, free collection of scholarly journal Tables of Contents (TOCs): 31,604 journals including 13,563 selected Open Access journals and 11,855 Hybrid journals, from 3140 publishers.
JournalTOCs alerts you when new issues of your Followed journals are published.

Environmental Law

Current Law Journal Table of Contents
This free database provides TofC for >1500 law reviews and legal journal titles, including many environmental law publications.
E&E News
Includes Energywire, Climatewire, E&E Daily, Greenwire, E&E News PM, Reports that update daily with news content.
Foreign Law Guide
This service is intended to provide accurate, authoritative and current information in the area of foreign law research. One can search by country or jurisdiction and by broad subject headings such as environmental protection, etc.
Hein Online
Most comprehensive coverage of law review literature - from volume 1 to last full year of coverage. Searchable and fulltext coverage.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
The Index to Foreign legal periodicals is a multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide. Also analyzed are the contents of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congress reports. Covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and Australia. Restricted to one simultaneous user.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
This database has selective fulltext coverage from 1995 and indexes and contains books as well as legal periodicals.
LegalTrac
This database is increasingly fulltext and includes law reviews, trade publications including the Los Angeles Daily Journal and other journals & resources that reflect International Agencies such as United Nations conferences and content.
NexisUni
A fulltext database containing Legal content for US/Federal jurisdictions and State Law. Includes caselaw, codes & statutes, law review articles. Click on the "Legal" tab and then make sure you set the time frame you want searched just below the search strategy box. Also provides access to fulltext newspapers.
Westlaw Campus
A fulltext searchable legal database containing caselaw, regulatory and statutory law for US Federal and individual states and law review coverage.
Yearbook of International Environmental Law
Langson Bound Journals - K 3581.2 Y43

Additional Recommended Databases

These databases contain relevant information and content but are not centrally composed of journal articles or conference proceedings.

APA Daily Planning News
American Planning Association offers full-text access to planning articles from U.S. newspapers and periodicals.
Center for Digital Government - Papers
White papers and reports commissioned by the Center for Digital Government
Proquest Dissertations & Theses Fulltext*
Index to doctoral dissertations and masters' theses submitted to the UMI Dissertations database from all participating institutions in North America with a growing collection of foreign content in 80+ countries.
more...less...
Contains fulltext to most dissertations from 1997+ and an increased collection of earlier submissions. This is an expanded subscription.
Environment and Safety Library*
Provides access to the following Daily Environment Report, Environment Reporter, Environment & Safety Library, International Environment Daily, International Environment Reporter, and State Environment Daily.
GlobalLex
Tools for building resource collections and seeking information on Foreign, International & Comparative Law
Open CRS
A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports.
more...less...
Sources of reports in Open CRS come from:
National Council for Science and the Environment
Federation of American Scientists
Thurgood Marshall Law Library/University of Maryland School of Law
National Memorial Institute for the Prevention of Terrorism
Center for Democracy & Technology
More collection information
The Earth Institute at Columbia University
The institute supports research in the biological, engineering, social and health sciences fields, with a focus on sustainable development.
more...less...
Current research projects at the institute can be explored using an interactive map tool found under the "Action" section.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides easy-to-use tools for visual exploration of demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data, and more. With these interactive online tools, users can visually explore change over time and understand the patterns behind the raw numbers.

New Information Resources

These products are from the Synthesis collection of Morgan & Claypool and from Now Publishers:

Energy & the Environment: Technology, Science, & Society
Frank Kreith, University of Colorado
Strategic Behavior and the Environment
New (2011) title from NOW Publishers. Strategic Behavior and the Environment provides a platform for various disciplines that jointly contribute to our understanding of strategic behavior in design and implementation of environmental policy.