Research Guides: Public Health: Find Books

Research Librarian for the Health Sciences, Medicine, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Pharmacology, Public Health

Hector R. Perez-Gilbe

He, Him, His

Email Me

Contact:

UC Irvine
Science Library
Room 232
Irvine, CA 92623
perezhr@uci.edu

(949) 824-6957

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences, Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Public Health

Finding Books

Use UC Library Search for local access to books in all formats.

WorldCat An international library catalog containing the holdings of 50 thousands + member libraries world wide. Notes UCI holdings. You can use UCe-Links Request to order items not owned by UCI.

E-Book Collection

CABI Books This link opens in a new window
eBooks on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International. The subject collections include: agriculture; animal & veterinary sciences; environmental sciences; human health, food & nutrition; leisure & tourism; and plant sciences.

CRCnet Base Large eBook collection of titles from CRC Press grouped by diverse subject collections in Sciences, Engineering, & Public Policy. Not all titles may be currently available to UCI readers.
LWW Health Library LWW Health Library provides highly intuitive, interactive access and simple search capabilities to essentials texts, as well as rich multimedia ancillary content comprised of procedural videos, images, real-life case studies and quiz banks specifically tailored for the specialty.
Oxford Medicine Online A digital platform hosting Oxford University Press' prestigious medical titles.

SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Aggregates materials from SAGE's journal and reference content, including dictionaries, datasets, case studies, and books. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.

Springer Briefs in Public Health This book series is global in nature and reflects many different topics of interest in global health. An additional and smaller series is also available covering issues more related to children.
Springer eBooks and eBook Series

Additional eBook Collections

AccessMedicine *
Clinical medicine textbooks such as CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment and Principles of Critical Care. Lange Education Library Basic Science and Clinical Science textbooks.
Knovel *
Subjects include Biochemistry, Biology & Biotechnology; Pharmaceuticals, Cosmetics & Toiletries; Safety & Industrial Hygiene.

National Academies Press (NAP) This link opens in a new window
NAP publishes the publications of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Topics include science, engineering, and medicine, and science and health policy.

Online Books from Univ of Penn Digital Library
Directory of freely readable eBooks in a range of subject areas from the University of Pennsylvania’s Digital Library arranged by call number range. Check out related subject areas.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Case Studies

Case Studies for Global Health Issued by the members of the Alliance for Case Studies for Global Health.
Harvard Case-Based Teaching & Learning Library This page contains a catalog of public health teaching cases, covering a wide range of public health topics – epidemiology; environmental health; health policy; health services management; organizational behavior; social and behavioral determinants of health; and global health, among others. These cases are designed to engage students in real-life situations that reflect issues they will face as public health professionals.
National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science The mission of the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science at the University at Buffalo is to promote the development and dissemination of materials and practices for case teaching in the sciences. Our website provides access to an award-winning collection of peer-reviewed case studies. We offer a five-day summer workshop and a two-day fall conference to train faculty in the case method of teaching science. In addition, we are actively engaged in educational research to assess the impact of the case method on student learning.

Case Studies in Public Health by Theodore H. Tulchinsky
ISBN: 9780128045862
Publication Date: 2018-03-12
Essential Case Studies in Public Health by Riegelman; Katherine Hunting; Brenda L. Gleason
Call Number: WA 100 H948e 2012
ISBN: 9780763761318
Publication Date: 2012
Available @ Science Library
Global Public Health Policies: Case Studies from India on PLanning and Implementation by K. V. Ramani
ISBN: 9781631570766
Publication Date: 2015
Assessing the role of state and local public health in outreach and enrollment for expanded coverage : seven case studies from local and state health departments by Williams, Malcolm V.
ISBN: 9780833096258
Publication Date: 2016

Other Subject, Resource & Course Guides

Business of Healthcare
Consumer Health Use this guide to find medical resources aimed at consumers.
Demography and Social Analysis (DASA)
Environmental Psychology
Grunigen Medical Library
Medicine Resources Use this guide to help identify resources in Medicine.
Planning, Policy, and Design
Policy & Surveys
Policy Resources Use this guide to help you navigate U.S. and International policy research.
Poverty
Sustainability

Interlibrary Loan

The Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials from other libraries that are not available at the UCI Library. Please check Library Search before requesting an ILL.

Request Book ILL Form
Request Journal Article ILL Form
Request Government Document