Research Guides: News & Newspapers: News Broadcasts &amp; Transcripts

News Broadcasts

British Pathe Newsreel
Approximately 85,000 streaming titles from a major producer of newsreels during the 20th Century. Coverage 1896-1976. British Pathe also represents Reuters' historical collection with materials dating from 1910–1984.

60 Minutes: 1997 - 2014 This link opens in a new window
Provides streaming video access to the 60 Minutes news show archive for the years 1997 - 2014, the third and fourth decades of this show, plus segments from the CBS News program Sunday Morning. The database includes transcripts of the videos. Topics include international and national news, politics, women's studies, society and culture, and many more.

TV News - Internet Archive
Over 508,000 news programs collected 2009 - present from national U.S. networks.
UCLA KTLA News Project
100 news clips from 1958-1981 from KTLA. Segments document local, national and international issues, covering politics, economics, civil rights and women’s activism, as well as African-American, Asian-American, Mexican-American, Native American and LGBT communities.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The collection indexes and abstracts evening news segments from ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, and Fox News. UCI only has streaming access to NBC (Aug 5, 1968 -present) and CNN (1989 - present) content.

Streaming video is limited to parts of the collection due to copyright. News segments not available streaming can be purchased through the Archive and will be loaned digitally and available for 30-days. To request, users must create an account with the Archive. More information can be found here: https://researchguides.library.vanderbilt.edu/tvnews

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.