Research in the Humanities generally involves careful analysis and inquiry of one or more primary sources. Primary sources are original sources created at the time a historical event occurs (or possibly afterwards) and are directly associated with their creator (or user). Examples of primary sources include newspapers, photographs, letters, art, literature, film, etc.
The following are examples of online collections or portals to primary sources. There are many other ways to find primary source online, such as through websites for museums, archives, etc. You may also wish to work with a physical primary source, such as a novel, an artwork, a film, etc. that you have found on your own.
You must be on UCI campus to access these items
Many of our databases take you directly to full-text scholarly articles. However, if a full-text article is not available, you can click on the Get it at UC icon for more options on how to access the articles online.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.