Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Library Resources for High School and Community College: Using Bibliographies


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/highschool

Using Bibliographies

Bibliographies are a great source of information for your own research. If you've found a book or an article that you really like, always take a look at  the bibliography or works cited. You can use citations to find the books and articles that are referenced.

A great way to do this is with Library Search or with Google Scholar. 

Reading a Bibliographic Citation

When you encounter a bibliography, you will need to decipher the various parts of the bibliographic entry to do a search. Usually, the title of a book or journal will be in italics. The title of a journal article might be in quotations, but not always. In some scientific journals, you will see journal titles abbreviated. That's okay, because the title of the article won't be abbreviated, and that's what you need to put in the Citation Linker or Google Scholar to search for the article. 

Citation Table

 

"Cited By" searching

Bibliographies show you what scholars prior to the article or book you have in hand were saying about a topic. But... what if you want to find out what the article you have in hand contributed to the scholarly conversation moving forward?

"Cited By" or Cited Reference Searching is a newer tool that scholars are using to track the impact of particular sources on later publications. Google Scholar is a powerful tool for Cited Reference Searching, because it is multi-disciplinary, and also contains some book and book chapter information. Make sure you have the VPN turned on when you use Google Scholar, to ensure that you have access to the journals that UCI subscribes to.

This video demonstrates how to use Google Scholar to track cited references, and why it is an important component of research.

Cited Reference Searching (University of Chicago Libraries) [2:04]