You can find additional links to STEM resources through these guides:
Research in the Sciences follows the scientific method, a systematic and empirical way of acquiring and building knowledge. The scientific method is rigorous, and involves formulating a hypothesis, testing the hypothesis through experiments or measurable tests, and analyzing the results of the tests. The scientific method requires that the experiment can be repeated with the expectation that the same results will occur, and is subject to external evaluation.
Scientific research typically involves conducting a literature review as a preliminary phase. The literature review establishes what scholarship has already been published on the topic at hand, and how the currently conducted research builds upon and adds to the existing scholarly conversation.
In the sciences, it is important to make new scholarship known as quickly as possible. Therefore, there are several places where scholars post abstracts, preprints (scholarly articles in line for formal publication by a journal) or conference papers online.
You must be on UCI campus to access these items
Many of our databases take you directly to full-text scholarly articles. However, if a full-text article is not available, you can click on the Get it at UC icon for more options on how to access the articles online.
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
Click on the tutorial below to learn more about how to identify sections of a scholarly article in the social sciences or sciences.
