Encyclopedia articles/entries are excellent reference resources to (a) generate ideas and (b) discover further scholarship in a particular area. Grove Art Online is an authoritative reference resource published by Oxford University Press. It features entries written by academic experts on on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, including Egyptian and Ancient Near Eastern Art.
A Companion to the Archaeology of the Ancient Near East
A comprehensive and authoritative overview of ancient material culture from the late Pleistocene to Late Antiquity
Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East
An online encyclopedia which analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East. Ranging from prehistoric times up to the early centuries of the rise of Islam, the work covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa.
In addition to journal articles, it's important to include peer-reviewed monographs and edited works, which are simply detailed books on specialized subject areas, often esoteric. These books are excellent resources and written by the same scholars that publish articles in peer-reviewed journals.
Like articles, these books contain substantial bibliographies for further resources. While they can be intimidating at first, remember: you don't have to read the book cover to cover! You can select relevant book chapters, trace the footnotes to identify the main scholars in the area you're reading about, and then look for those citations in the library's holdings.
To discover & find books on your general topic, start by using keywords in some of the search tools below. If you're having a difficult time, I'm always happy to meet with you and help!
Below are just a few titles for inspiration based on your course's content. You can always email me for help to find books on your area of interest.
Khufu: Khufu : the secrets behind the building of the great pyramid by 
The search for Nefertiti : the true story of a remarkable discovery by 
Decoration on the Cult Chapel Walls of the Old Kingdom Tombs at Giza by Exhibition catalogs are publications produced to accompany an exhibition at an art museum or gallery. Some exhibition catalogs contain critical texts/essays while others may be as short as a list of works on display. While they are not peer-reviewed resources, they are often published by scholars and knowledgeable curators with advanced expertise in their area of study. Exhibition catalogs can become ruitful resources for finding extensive, contextual information about specific artworks.
Search tip: if you see the subject field including the term "exhibitions" in a library search result, it is an exhibition catalog. For example:
Sacred and profane : treasures of ancient Egypt from the Myers Collection, Eton College and University of Birmingham edited by Eurydice Georganteli and Martin Bommas. by 
It can be helpful to identify journals within a specific subfield or discipline because you can browse the contents, create alerts for new issues to read, or run keyword searches of a specific journal in many library databases. Here are a few journals to consider:
Antiquity
A scholarly quarterly journal reporting on new research, methodology, and matters of professional interest in archaeology.
Journal of Archaeological Research
This journal brings together the most recent international research summaries on a broad range of topics and geographical areas.
Journal of Egyptian Archaeology
Contains scholarly articles on ancient Egyptian culture, archaeology, history and texts, as well as reviews of Egyptological books.
Journal of Social Archaeology
The Journal of Social Archaeology is a fully peer reviewed international journal that promotes interdisciplinary research focused on social approaches in archaeology, opening up new debates and areas of exploration.
Near Eastern Archaeology
Near Eastern Archaeology brings to life the ancient world from Mesopotamia to the Mediterranean with vibrant images and authoritative analyses.
World Archaeology
A journal established specifically to deal with archaeology on a world-wide multi period basis. Each issue is dedicated to one theme of current interest and the papers adopt a broad comparative approach, looking at important issues on a global scale.
Keyword and subject searching methods are two widely used ways to effectively find books. There are important advantages to both methods; knowing how to use them and how they differ from each other will help you retrieve better, more accurate results.
What is keyword searching?
Example:
nefertiti (46 results in Library Catalog)
What is subject searching?
Example:
Nefertiti, Queen of Egypt, active 14th century B.C. (9 results in Library Catalog)
Some generic Subject Headings as examples of how they function differently than a basic keyword search:
Art, Ancient -- Egypt -- Themes, motives
Egypt -- Antiquities -- Exhibitions
Egypt -- Kings and rulers -- Exhibitions
Excavations (Archaeology) -- Egypt -- Valley of the Kings
Funeral rites and ceremonies -- Egypt
Great Pyramid (Egypt)
Mythology, Egyptian
Nefertiti, Queen of Egypt
Temples – Egypt
Tutankhamen, King of Egypt -- Tomb
