Gentrification is studied through a very interdisciplinary lens, reflecting economic, political and social forces. Related to the often outcomes of displacement that arise due to gentrification, by street, neighborhood or even wider geography and access to basic human rights such as food and other basic necessities, there are legal and related implications, The concept of food deserts was based on examples of gentrification taking place in urban areas. Resolving some of these issues requires examining how public policy and activism contribute to human rights in these areas.
Subject headings or descriptors associated with gentrification include:
These books and tools will provide a foundation in understanding gentrification principles and issues:
Use these databases to find journal articles, conference papers & proceedings and preprints about different aspects of gentrification - the first four (4) databases can be searched together by clicking on other databases in the tool bar and selecting them and there will be de-duplication so only retrieved once:
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics, including archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields. It also indexes monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.
Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.
