Research Guides: Global and International Studies: News

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

News Research Guide

UCI Libraries News & Newspapers Guide

Newspaper Website Access

Click each link to learn how to activate your complimentary subscription to these newspapers, courtesy of UCI Libraries. You only have to activate once to get started, and renew each year while you are at UCI. VPN required to activate.

News Aggregators

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News provides information and perspectives from numerous national and international news sources, offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
AllAfrica.com (via Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing news and information from African news organizations and their own reporters to an African and global public. AllAfrica's multi-channel platform is an independent, comprehensive pan-African news source.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
This database indexes alternative, radical, and left periodicals and magazines. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and the database is updated on a quarterly basis.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press. It also provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich websites.
Maximum 12 users at a time.

Google News
Google News aggregates headlines from news sources worldwide.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to U.S. federal and state statutes, regulations, court cases, administrative agency decisions, law reviews, to selected court briefs and pleadings, and legal news sources. Also includes international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters and various directories are also available. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pais.

International News Sites & Sources

Al Jazeera
News, analysis from the Middle East & worldwide, multimedia & interactives, opinions, documentaries, podcasts, long reads and broadcast schedule.
AllAfrica.com (freely accessible)
AllAfrica is a voice of, by and about Africa - aggregating, producing and distributing news and information from over 140 African news organizations and our own reporters to an African and global public. AllAfrica's multi-channel platform is the only independent, comprehensive pan-African news source.
more...less...
(Access via Nexis Uni, listed above, if you encounter a paywall)
Associated Press News (AP News)
The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting.
BBC News
British Broadcasting Corporation is an impartial and independent news organization covering global news.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
FBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations of broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world.

Institute for War & Peace Reporting
IWPR empowers local voices to drive change in countries in conflict, crisis and transition. Where hate speech and propaganda proliferate, and journalists and civic activists are under attack, IWPR promotes reliable information and public debate that makes a difference.

LatinNews This link opens in a new window
A London-based organization that reports and analyzes news and events on the political economy throughout Latin America and the Caribbean.

Nikkei Asia* Nikkei Asia features news and analysis from Asian economies like China and India, plus news and opinion articles on select Asian topics.
Reuters Reuters, the news and media division of Thomson Reuters, is an international multimedia news provider reaching more than one billion people daily. Reuters provides business, financial, national, and international news.
RT News With its first international news channel launched in 2005, RT is now a global, round-the-clock news network of eight TV channels, broadcasting news, current affairs and documentaries, with digital platforms in six languages and RUPTLY, the video news agency. Round-the-clock news channels in English, Arabic and Spanish, and documentary channel RTDoc, in English and Russian, broadcast from Moscow, while RT America airs from Washington, DC, and RT UK from London and RT France from Paris. Today, RT is available in more than 100 countries spanning five continents.
Spiegel International The venerable Der Spiegel provides access to world news with a European view.
Times of India Times of India is India's largest media and entertainment group.

WiseNews 慧科资讯 This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text articles from hundreds of newspapers and other media sources from China, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other regions. About two thirds of the titles are in Chinese and one third is in English.