Academic papers are conversations between multiple authors; we agree with, refute, and challenge the ideas of other scholars. Responsible scholarship dictates that we properly credit scholars with their work when it is mentioned - enter citations.
Citations are for transparency and access. In addition to proving that you've done your due diligence as an academic, citations let readers know what you've read and where they can access a source you've used.
Our colleagues at the University of Arizona Libraries made this citational justice tutorial, which includes the video below. The video addresses how we, as scholars, can work to incorporate historically marginalized perspectives in our research.
One of the challenges of doing research is keeping track of your citations. The library provides access to a number of tools to help you manage your resources. Below is a quick overview of three Citation Management systems. A more detailed comparison and instructions on how to use these are described in detail in the bibliographic management guide.
What is citation management software?
Citation management software (aka bibliographic management software ) allows users to build, organize, and manage citations.
What does citation management software do?
Import records from article databases and create bibliographies almost instantaneously
Add abstracts, keywords, and other functions that enhance and improve the efficiency of projects
Allows users to collaborate on shared projects
Allows users to embed footnotes and endnotes in documents
Users should still:
Manually double check the bibliography or reference list
Check for errors or omissions from the database from which references were retrieved
|Mobile Access||EndNote Web has a mobile version. Login with your email and EndNote Web password.||Third Party Mobile Apps|
|Type||Desktop client and browser extension for Edge, Chrome, Firefox, and Opera||Desktop client and browser extension for Edge, Chrome, Firefox, and Safari||Desktop client and browser extension for Firefox, Chrome and Safari|
This may change, for the most up to date pricing, please check the website.
Free: 2GB storage
One time purchase of $149.95 through the ThinkEDU online store
Free: 300 MB storage
$20/year: 2 GB storage
$60/year: 6 GB storage
$120/year: Unlimited storage
Free: 2GB storage
$4.99/month: 5GB storage
Numerous output styles
Can handle a large amount of references
Good for major research projects because it has the most options for customization and formatting
Excellent for organizing citation
Download of records is easy
Good for managing a variety of formats, including webpages
Downloads records for some databases that don’t work with Endnote and RefWorks such as Factiva
Share citations and documents
Social aspect, see what others are reading or citing
Pulls metadata from PDFs
|Learning Curve||Higher Learning curve||Quick to learn, simple design||Quick to learn, simple design|
Off-campus? Please use the Software VPN and choose the group UCIFull to access licensed content. For more information, please Click here
Software VPN is not available for guests, so they may not have access to some content when connecting from off-campus.