Research Guides: Global and International Studies: Data and Statistics

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Ask a Librarian

Datasets

Most of the links below provide access to data. However, each organization also provides reports and analysis of the region as well, so it may be useful to peruse their websites for more synthesized or analytical reporting.

CEPALSTAT
CEPAL's gateway to statistical information collected, systematized, produced and published by their organization.
Inter-American Development Bank's Open Data
IADB’s Open Data portal that showcases socio-economic indicators for the Latin American and the Caribbean Region.

ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Repository of curated data sets pertaining to many disciplines within the social sciences. Contains original codebooks and descriptions of methodology, offers multiple file format downloads, and links data to relevant scholarly research. Users can search at the variable level and trace datasets to their use in academic publications.

IMF Data
The International Monetary Fund (IMF) publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
LAPOP, at Vanderbilt University, is the an academic institution carrying out surveys of public opinion in the Americas. LAPOP uses "gold standard" approaches and innovative methods to carry out targeted national surveys; conduct impact evaluation studies; and produce reports on individual attitudes, evaluations, and experiences. The AmericasBarometer survey is the only scientifically rigorous comparative survey that covers 34 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean. Each year it publishes dozens of academic studies and policy-relevant papers.
Latinobarómetro: Opinión Pública Latinoamericana
Based in Chile, Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that surveys people in 18 Latin American countries. It researches the development of democracy and economies as well as societies, using indicators of opinion, attitudes, behavior and values.
Migration Data Portal
The Portal aims to serve as an access point to timely, comprehensive migration statistics and reliable information about migration data globally. The site is designed to help policy makers, national statistics officers, journalists and the general public interested in the field of migration to navigate the increasingly complex landscape of international migration data, currently scattered across different organisations and agencies.
OECD Data
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's (OECD) data, retrievable by topic or country.
Pew Research Center's Global Indicators Database
Conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. The Global Indicators Database contains data from over 600,000 interviews in 69 countries.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of hundreds of thousands of questions and responses from thousands of surveys conducted in the U.S. and 80 other countries. Only polls using statistically valid sampling and methods are indexed. Each question is individually indexed in one of more than 4,500 topics and six search fields Results may be downloaded or printed. Includes survey data from many organizations including Harris Poll and YouGov.
Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.

UNdata
The United Nations branch that compiles international statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies. The numerous databases or tables collectively known as "datamarts" contain over 60 million data points and cover a wide range of statistical themes including agriculture, crime, communication, development assistance, education, energy, environment, finance, gender, health, labour market, manufacturing, national accounts, population and migration, science and technology, tourism, transport and trade.
World Bank Databank
An analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics. You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and easily save, embed, and share them.
World Bank Open Data
Provides access to World Bank statistics and a variety of global development data. Tools include a catalog, an analysis and visualization tool, microdata and more.

General Datasets

Correlates of War Project Facilitates the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations.
Data.gov "The home of the U.S. Government’s open data Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."
Eurostat Eurostat is a Directorate-General of the European Commission located in Luxembourg. Its main responsibilities are to provide statistical information to the institutions of the European Union (EU) and to promote the harmonisation of statistical methods across its member states and candidates for accession as well as EFTA countries.
International data base (IDB) U.S. Census Bureau Contains statistical tables of demographic data for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. Covers 1950 to present with projections to 2050
International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibrary* "The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMFʹs periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more."
Polity IV Project Offers data on political regime characteristics and transitions, 1800-2013.
SIPRI - Stockholm International Peace Research Institute SIPRI provides data on conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament.
UN Comtrade Database Access to detailed global trade data.
IPUMS
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) "The UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS) is the official source of internationally-comparable data on education, science, culture and communication. As the official statistical agency of UNESCO, the UIS produces a wide range of indicators in UNESCO’s fields of action by working with national statistical offices, line ministries and other statistical organizations."

Country Analysis

United Nations 2017 Revision of World Population Prospects
The 2017 Revision of World Population Prospects is the twenty-fifth round of official United Nations population estimates and projections that have been prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat. The main results are presented in a series of Excel files displaying key demographic indicators for each development group, income group, region, subregion and country or area for selected periods or dates within 1950-2100. A publication labelled Key findings and advance tables, which provide insights on the results of this latest revision, is also made available.
Europa World Plus *
[Restricted to UCI. Access limited to 1 simultaneous user. Try again later if refused] ... Europa World Plus is the online version of the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. First published in 1926, the year book is renowned as one of the world's leading reference works, covering political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories.
more...less...
Europa World is the online version of The Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which are indispensable sources of information on world-wide affairs.
Country Profiles Series - Library of Congress
"This series of profiles of foreign nations is part of the Country Studies Program, formerly the Army Area Handbook Program. The profiles offer brief, summarized information on a country’s historical background, geography, society, economy, transportation and telecommunications, government and politics, and national security... The profiles offer reasonably current country information independent of the existence of a recently published Country Study and will be updated annually or more frequently as events warrant."
Country Studies Program - Library of Congress
"Contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world."
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch Country Reports are indexed at the Publications" page.
International Monetary Fund (IMF)
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 188 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
Office of the United States Trade Representative (USTR)
The USTR is responsible for developing and coordinating U.S. international trade, commodity, and direct investment policy, and overseeing negotiations with other countries. The head of USTR is the U.S. Trade Representative, a Cabinet member who serves as the president’s principal trade advisor, negotiator, and spokesperson on trade issues.
more...less...
American trade policy works toward opening markets throughout the world to create new opportunities and higher living standards for families, farmers, manufacturers, workers, consumers, and businesses. The United States is party to numerous trade agreements with other countries, and is participating in negotiations for new trade agreements with a number of countries and regions of the world
U.S. Department of State Human Rights Reports
"The annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices – the Human Rights Reports – cover internationally recognized individual, civil, political, and worker rights, as set forth in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and other international agreements. The U.S. Department of State submits reports on all countries receiving assistance and all United Nations member states to the U.S. Congress in accordance with the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 and the Trade Act of 1974."
World Bank* eLibrary
The World Bank eLibrary is a subscription-based website for institutions, dedicated to offering researchers quick and easy access to the complete collection of World Bank publications since the 1990s. Built on a state-of-the-art platform, the World Bank eLibrary also offers a variety of added-value functionality to take users to the content they need as efficiently as possible.