Research Guides: Materials & Manufacturing Technology: Reference Sources

Reference Works

Dictionaries, encyclopedias... & other finding aids for Civil & Environmental Engineering

Note: LL = Langson Library, SL = Science Library. Ref = Reference

See also section under Relevant Books & E-Books

* Indicates UCI Access Only

AVEL
A portal to quality resources in Sustainable Systems and Engineering. Covers hot topics in Sustainable Systems, emerging topics in Engineering, and foundation topics in Engineering.
BCC Research
Database contains current online Marketing Reports in many different disciplines from around the world.
California Climate Change Portal
Visitors can learn about various initiatives sponsored by different agencies within the state and also peruse a list of FAQ's on the subject.
more...less...
First-time visitors will want to start at the "Background" section; they may then proceed to the "Policy & Program" area, where they can learn what the state is doing to combat this situation. Some of these programs include a voluntary greenhouse gas emission registry for California companies and a research program to spur environmentally-friendly energy alternatives. Finally, the site also includes a very nice glossary of terms used in discussing global climate change.
Civil Engineering Web Directory
Knowledge portal highlighting civil engineering and technology on the Internet. iCivilEngineer collects, indexes and catalogues high-quality internet resources in civil engineering knowledge and technology.
more...less...
Of most interest are feature technical articles, technology news, engineering design guides, online full-text research papers, tutorials and real-world project information. All of them are accessible or downloadable at no charge.
EEVL – Edinburgh Engineering Virtual Library
Gateway with search engine for finding high quality information resources in Engineering.
efunda
Over 30,000 pages of engineering fundamentals and calculators. Top level categories are: Materials, Design Center, Processes, Units & Constants, Formulas, and Mathematics. Commercially maintained and offers additional services for a fee-based membership.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society*
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
Call number: LL Ref, G70.212 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change*
Engineering Associations
List of Engineering Associations in all sectors and geographical regions of the US, includes tradeshows and manufacturers.
Envirobiz
Online search portal that assists environmental professionals with locating the websites of environmental equipment and service providers.
Environmental Engineering Dictionary
Call number: SL Ref, TD9 .L44 1998.
Environmental Engineering Dictionary and Directory*
Gale Directory Library
Directory Library includes Encyclopedia of Associations for U.S. and international nonprofit organizations.
Green Scanner
This site is a public database of opinions about the environmental friendliness of various products.
Ground Water Atlas of the United States
A digital national atlas of ground water deposits.
Industrial Quick Search
Online industrial directory for US & Canada serving buyers & engineers.
List of Manufacturing Associations
List of manufacturing associations in all product lines and functions. Includes links to manufacturing, purchasing and engineering certifications and Engineering Associations.
Merlot
Is a free and open resource designed primarily for faculty and students of higher education. Links to online learning materials are collected here along with annotations such as peer reviews and assignments.
Optics InfoBase*
Optics InfoBase contains OSA's seven signature journals as well as two co-published titles with a digital archive backfile.
Plunkett Research Online*
Current market research and analysis in a broad spectrum of industries including information technology, energy & environmental sciences, biotech and telecommunications. Contains an annual summary/update of industrial sectors. Has corporate index, glossary, ability to incorporate data & prepare reports.
Science Week
Educational resource devoted since 1997 to improving communication between the sciences.
Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers
Call number: SL Ref, TA151 .S8 1996.
Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering
Call number: SL Ref, TD145 .S72 1990.
Sustainability Community Newsletter
A cross-disciplinary journal in scope, acting as a meeting point for natural and social scientists, researchers and practitioners, professionals and community representatives.
ThomasNet
Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
"Top ten" links chosen by industry experts - general civil engineering as well as more specific areas such as bridges, geotechnical, hydrology, indoor/outdoor environment, organizations, software, tall buildings, transportation.
ViFaTec
The subject gateway on Engineering. Provides fast access to a large scientific technical data pool, well structured search results, and direct access to the services of the Technical Information Library.
Water Encyclopedia: Hydrologic Data and Internet Resources, 3rd ed.
A resource for locating and sourcing water-based environmental sources on the internet, it is temporarily unavailable electronically in .pdf as an ebook but can be found at call number: SL REF TC403.W38 2007.
Wiktionary
Free multilingual dictionary in every language with definitions, etymologies, pronunciations, quotations and synonyms. Wiktionary is the lexical companion to the open-content encyclopedia Wikipedia
The Engineering ToolBox
Commercial website that provides access to resources, tools and basic information for engineering and design of technical applications. Searchable by category and although not comprehensive it will provide basic useful engineering information.