Research Guides: Materials & Manufacturing Technology: Find Books

Find Books

UC Library Search

Overview of UC Library Search

Search collections across all UC campuses or limit your search to UC Irvine. Includes print books and articles, electronic books and articles, book chapters, and more.

Look for Download PDF, Available Online, or the Get it at UC logo to access full text
Use Advanced Search to search for a specific book, article, or journal by title
Get helpful search tips from our UC Library Search Help guide

Find a journal in UC Library Search

Search for a journal by title or ISSN or browse by category

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Use UC Library Search to request articles and books not owned by UC Irvine Libraries at no cost to you through interlibrary loan.
For material found in WorldCat but not in UC Library Search, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form.

Am I connected to the VPN?

I can't access a library resource. Am I on the VPN?

Click on the "Test My VPN Connection" button. ➔

This tests your IP range. It determines if you're using the VPN that's configured for you access to library resources: vpn.uci.edu.

If you get a message that you are OFF the UCI IP range, visit the Connecting FAQ Guide to set up and configure your VPN.

Appropriate Subject Headings

Examples of appropriate subject headings from the Library of Congress Classification series with a range of corresponding call numbers that can be browsed in the stacks. Subjects can be searched in Library Search. Please note that these are only representative samples.

Electronic packaging materials (TK7870)

Microelectronic packaging (TK7870)

Microelectromechanical systems - Design and construction (TK7875)

Microfabrication (TA 418)

Nanotechnology (TK 7836)

Semiconductors - Materials (TK 7871)

Strength of materials (TA 351)

eBook Collections

There are many eBook resources - reference titles, collections from many publishers (Springer is the largest publisher represented) known for scholarly and professional title releases. There are scholarly societies and commercial publishers represented/. They are all identified in UC Library Search as "available online" and many are listed on different Subject Guides. Examples of these include the following collections and there are many more listed in UC Library Search:

There are many eBooks from trade publishers on different platforms listed on the EBooks Guide.

The professional societies, especially in Engineering are listed on the professional society websites. These include:

IEEE - IEEE Xplore
ASCE - ASCE Research Library
ASME - ASME Digital Collection
SAE - SAE Mobilus
SPIE - SPIE
IET - IET Digital Library

Google Books
The Google legal agreement has been settled and there are 3 categories of books that can be searched: 1) In copyright & in-print books: titles that are available for purchase and may already be in our library collections to borrow 2) In-copyright but out of print books: titles that may be in library collections but can be purchased from special sources that handle out of print titles 3) Out of Copyrighted Books: Books that users can read, download and print and for which links will be available.

more... less...

Just remember to search Library Search or MELVYL to check on access or availability for works in categories 1 & 2. You can customize your searches and establish "My Library" by organizing and sharing information.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
As a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, including the University of California, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive
Vast collection of free books, movies, software, music, websites and more content.
Springer eBooks and Series
Largest collection of eBooks from one publisher from 2008+. The different book series and subject scopes on the left side bar can be used to refine your search. Emphasis is on STEM disciplines. See Lecture Notes in Energy Series.
Elsevier eBooks
Large eBook collection in areas of STEM and Social Sciences/Humanities.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Large strong collection from many imprints including Routledge (mostly social sciences & humanities content), CRC (including CRCnetBases such as ENGnetBase, etc), T&F (sciences) reflecting many subject areas across social sciences and STEM fields.
National Academies Press
Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books. Supports STEM education and related topics.
Wiley / IEEE eBooks
Available from the IEEE Xplore platform on topics ranging from bioengineering, communication, networking, robotics, signal processing, materials, electromagnetics, general topics, etc.
OHE (O'Reilly for HIgher Education)
A collection of nearly 50k titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly and selective titles from 200+ global publishers covering subject ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Sciences, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000 hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education. Different presentation of content than usual page turning.
Wiley Blackwell eBooks
From 9 main subject areas, eBooks licensed by UC libraries.
Knovel
A large database of books from multiple publishers in engineering, chemistry & materials science including many reference works and interdisciplinary content in areas like sustainable energy. Contains formulas, equations, data and properties allowing you to incorporate your research data.
AccessEngineering
An engineering reference and teaching platform that provides access to interdisciplinary engineering content integrated with analytical teaching and learning tools. This database includes content from a number of McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classic texts such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and Schaum's Outlines. Contains hundreds of fulltext engineering books in most areas of engineering.
IGI Publishing List
IGI Publishes heavily in Engineering, Computer Sciences, Policy Sciences, Business & many other subjects. Read a chapter from more than 2500 books. All listed in UC Library Search.
Artech House Books
eBook collection with intense coverage about telecommunications, radar & electrical engineering related topics.
SPIE Online Books
Mostly on the subject of optics and photovoltaics.
IET eBooks
Electrical & Computer Engineering titles.
UC Press eBooks Collection 1928-2021
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes more than 5,000 books from the UC Press and its affiliated presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Later coverage of eBooks listed in UC Library Search.
MIT Press eBooks
Some may be on the IEEE Xplore platform. Complete holdings should be available from 2018 and all are listed in UC Library Search.

Relevant eBook Collections

* Indicates UCI Access Only

More and more books are available electronically. These collections are available to be searched in Library Search - Advanced Search - Library Catalog and Melvyl by individual title and often as a collection.

The collection of eBooks is growing - some are acquired by specific publisher output and licenses, others by defined collection, many by individual titles. Examples are listed below representing all of these possibilities.

ASM Handbooks
Features the complete content of 25 ASM Handbook volumes plus 2 ASM Desk Editions. Also available in print at Science Library (SL) REF TA 459 A5
Biomedical Engineering Handbook*
General overview of major bioengineering topics. Includes physiological range data and formulas for lung perfusion ratios, gas pressure in respiratory/circulatory systems and Poisson’s equation.
BiosciencenetBASE*
The CRCnetBASE collection of eBooks containing titles in a range of interests related to Biomedical Engineering and Biomechanics.
CRCNetBase
Collection of selected eBooks from CRC Press in engineering and applied fields.
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology*
Call number: Science Library (SL) REF QC176.8.N35 D43 2004
Multivolume encyclopedia covering research in this growing field.
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering*
Online edition from 2008 - one user at a time; Print copy is at Call number: Science Library Bar QT 13.E562 2004
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering*
First edition issued in 2004 of excellent online encyclopedia of field.
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, 2d ed, 2008
This encyclopedia is among the most comprehensive tools that covers the range of products. Use the Contents tab on the left sidebar, search by using the Find box along top right tool bar & use pull-down arrow & select "open full reader search" - then enter the page number that corresponds to "Go to page" and use next & back to read entry & see images. References at end of each entry.
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Technology*
Authoritative reference source with multimedia features. Articles written by recognized experts provide concise overviews of a particular field. Extensive cross-referencing, indexes & bibliographies to the most relevant articles. 100 updates/year. Available at UCI libraries.
Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnolgy
Call number: Science Library (SL) REF T 174.7 E53 2004
Another large multivolume encyclopedia set edited by Hari Singh Nalwa from American Scientific Publishers.
Encyclopedia of Stem Cell Research, 2008*
Recent new encyclopedia on stem cells and their future applications in science, technology & medicine.
ENGnetBASE*
eBook collection of titles from CRC Press.
Geigy Scientific Tables
Call number: Science Library (SL) Ref, QC 95 G312.
Handbook of Chemistry and Physics*
Locate data on organic and inorganic compounds, physical properties, fluid dynamics, thermodynamics.
Knovel
A collection of close to 2000 titles from many publishers in Chemistry, Materials Science, and Engineering. Not always the most recent edition so it is recommended that you also check Library Search. Provides interactive ways to record information.
Knovel*
E-Book collection from many publishers with strengths in Chemistry, Engineering & Environmental Sciences
Landolt Bornstein volumes
Use this link to determine how to find exact volumes & subvolumes via SpringerMaterials.
Nanopedia: Nanoworld's Organization of Nanotechnology
National Academies Press
Publications and monographs from the National Academies Press, publishing arm of the National Academy of Sciences.
National Academies Press eBooks
Free access. Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books on a wide range of subjects
OHE (O'Reilly for HIgher Education)
A collection of 48,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly and selective titles from 200+ global publishers covering subject ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Sciences, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000 hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education.
SPIE eBook Series
This collection of 250 books published since 1989 in optics and photonics is now available via the SPIE Digital Library and reflects the following technologies and applications:
• Astronomy and Astronomical Optics
• Biomedical Optics and Medical Imaging
• Communication and Information Technologies
• Defense and Industrial Sensing
• Electronic Imaging and Processing
• Micro- and Nano- Technologies
• Optics and Electro-Optics

more... less...

can go directly to http://spiedigitallibrary.aip.org/ebooks/
Springer Book Series
The large book series are listed by series name as well as by individual title. Nice easy access when unsure of editor or exact title.
Springer Online Books*
Large collection of science & engineering books published by global publisher Springer with imprint dates from 2005 forward. Access by individual title also available in Library Search.
Wiley-IEEE eBooks*
Over 400 eBooks in areas of electrical engineering, computer science & related & applied subjects. A basic search will return book chapters as well as articles on the topic. The left-hand "Content Type" facet indicates how many of the hits are from books, in addition to the other types. Currently, there are >8,200 book items in the ebook content.

more... less...

Can go directly to http://www.ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/bkBrowse.jsp
Wiley eBooks
(New titles cataloged monthly) Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection will include 950 books with a 2011 publication date. The collection will serve a wide range of research needs in the life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.