Research Guides: Materials & Manufacturing Technology: Professional & Career Information

Grant Sources

Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities
The most comprehensive source of funding information available on the Web, with more than 25,000 records, representing over 400,000 funding opportunities, worth over $33 billion.

Start by consulting the Research Grants Resources Subject Guide and find many resources to consult. Among those recommended are:

Foundation Center
Web site for the primary national clearinghouse on grant-making by private, charitable, community, and corporate foundations. Find foundations by state, or ranked by assets, and total giving.
National Science Foundation
Major source of US federal funding.
Whitaker Foundation
Grants, news, conferences and links to academic programs. The Whitaker Foundation has awarded more than $450 million to colleges and universities for faculty research, graduate fellowships, and program development.

Studying in Engineering

ABET Accredited Engineering Programs
Directory of engineering programs accredited by the American Board for Engineering and Technology. ABET accredited program search (US and international).
National Action Council for Minorities in Engineering (NACME)
Is best known for national scholarship programs. Mission is to increase representation of successful African Americans, Latinos and American Indians in engineering. Partnerships with industry, government, education community.
Peterson’s Education Portal
Good for locating information about colleges, graduate programs and financial aid.
The Henry Samueli School of Engineering

Associations

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
Founded in 1848 to represent all disciplines of science, AAAS supports scientific exchange and discussion of science and society issues, as well as publishing the journal Science.

Professional and Trade Associations, and Societies offer members and interested parties a range of rich information from conferences, different kinds of publications and opportunities for networkinga and exchange of information. These few listings are key to the advancement of knowledge generation in the field of MMT. There are obviously many others and directories that contain such information both in print and online.

American Society of Civil Engineers
Founded in 1852, the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) represents 130,000 members of the civil engineering profession worldwide, and is America’s oldest national engineering society.
more...less...
ASCE’s vision is to position engineers as global leaders building a better quality of life.
Association of Manufacturing Technology
The Association For Manufacturing Technology represents and promotes the interests of American providers of manufacturing machinery and equipment. Its goal is to promote technological advancements and improvements in the design, manufacture and sale of members' products in those markets and act as an industry advocate on trade matters to governments and trade organizations throughout the world.
Institution of Civil Engineers
Was established in 1818, and today represents almost 80,000 professionally qualified civil engineers worldwide. It is headquartered in Great Britain.
Manufacturing.Net
Links to a range of manufacturing trade associations and professional societies.
Materials Research Society
The emphasis is on all materials and materials science, rather than just one like ceramics or polymers, etc. UCI has the journals and conference papers/proceedings in digital format.
Minerals, Metals and Materials Society
Extensive professional body dedicated to innovation in materials. Hosts conferences, publications, training programs, networking, etc.

Career Information

UCI Career Center
A campus resource for vocational and career guidance. It has listings for internships and job placements for UCI students.
Academic360.com
A meta-collection of Internet resources that have been gathered for the academic job hunter.
Chronicle of Higher Education – Career Network
Jobs in academia plus career guidance. For the most current job listings, users must be Chronicle subscribers, however, the previous weeks’ listings are viewable by anyone.
Engineer Jobs
Browse jobs by state. Search by keyword with ability to limit to one state and age of ad posting.
more...less...
Quick search by job title such as chemical, civil, electrical, industrial, manufacturing, mechanical, project engineer/manager , software, or structural engineer. Resume posting service.
Engineering Central
Lists of jobs by broad category such as: chemical engineer, civil engineer, electrical engineering, industrial engineering, manufacturing engineer, mechanical engineering, other engineering, computer / IT. Simple keyword search capability.
more...less...
Separate listing of entry-level positions. Also provides links to resources by discipline. Resume posting service.
Engineering Go For It!
Introduction to current trends in engineering careers and how to prepare for one. Includes a directory of engineering schools, success stories of engineering students and new program areas.
Engineering Jobs
Alphabetical listing of company blurbs with links to job listings for each company. Links to head-hunting agencies. You may also post your resume.
Engineering jobs_site
Engineering job listings, jobs & employment opportunities in aerospace civil electrical electronic industrial manufacturing.
InterEC
InterEC.net is a comprehensive engineering jobs search website featuring jobs databases, resume databases, salary surveys, and discussion forums organized by area of specialization.
more...less...
InterEC.net has been running since 1996 and is the oldest engineering jobs search website on the internet.
Into the Eye of the Storm
A report from the Urban Institute, October, 2007 on the matter of assessing the evidence on science and engineering education, quality, and workforce demand.
JustTechJobs
Enter the site by selecting from about 50 skills such as Access, C/C++, electrical engineering, project manager, QA, etc. (Access to each is also possible with direct URL.) Includes US as well as other countries.
more...less...
Search by keyword, date ad posted, specific company. Limit to only H1B Visa sponsors, contract or entry level positions, start-up companies. Resume posting service.
ThinkJobs
Browse jobs for IT or engineering, entry level, employers willing to sponsor. Search by keyword, position type, salary, state, job title. Links to resources for job seekers. Focuses on the Southeast, but covers other states including California.