INSPEC (https://www.engineeringvillage.com/search/quick.url?database=2), including the INSPEC archive from 1898) is the premier database for physics, astronomy, electronics engineering, ocean engineering, geophysics, acoustics, computer science, mechanical and production engineering, biomedical controls, and information technology and has moved platforms to the Elsevier Engineering Village. Beginning January 2019, users will be able to search INSPEC and Compendex separately to use the special index features unique to those databases and/or better manage author indexing variations. Or they may search the two main databases together for ease in quicker and broader searches, particularly of engineering literature since both databases go back to the late 1800s. Results may be de-duplicated with the user’s preferred database records from Compendex or INSPEC as desired. One bonus feature of the Engineering Village platform is the ability to view the latest 20 articles citing a paper/article as found in Scopus.
Special features of INSPEC include:
Ability to narrow results by treatment code (general/review articles, experimental, theoretical, applications approach, economic, new development, practical, or product review)
Numeric/property, and astronomical objects searching
Inorganic chemical substance and materials systems searching (of particular utility when searching semi- and super-conductor materials)
Engineering Village also has Knovel book content indexed as another searchable database for those UC campuses with an active subscription (UCB, UCI, UCLA, UCM, UCR, UCSB, UCSD).
The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has an INSPEC on Engineering Village LibGuide available, including how to use expert searching and display details (not abstract view) for specialized indexing terms.
Combined INSPEC and Compendex searches can be conducted at https://www.engineeringvillage.com/search/quick.url?database=3