- Scientific & Medical Art Images
Provides many short animations in addition to the image library. All with full citations in several formats.
- Earthquake Engineering Online Archive
Includes image collections and great information relating to structural and earthquake engineering, hosted at the University of California, Berkeley. Only low-resolution images are freely available; higher resolution images are available via a $25/year individual subscription.
- Genomics: GTL Image Gallery
A collection of photographs and graphics related to the U.S. Department of Energy's Genomics Programs.
- Graphics Gallery - National Health Museum
Labeled diagrams of structures and processes relating to biotechnology, for educational use only.
- Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement
Includes digitized documents, drawings, pamphlets, charts, photographs and more.
- Industry & Technology - New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Historic images of civil and mechanic engineering, including cars, trucks, water and transit infrastructure, from the NYPL's collections.
- Lincoln Highway Digital Image Collection
Images from the historical archives of the Lincoln Highway Association (1910-1927).
- Microbe Library
This site has a searchable database of images, videos and animations (just check the "images only" box at the top right) on microbes, viruses and bacteria.
- Nature & Science - New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Plant, animal, and anatomical illustrations from the NYPL's historic collections.
- NBII's Library of Images From the Environment
A library of images of plants, animals, microorganisms, weather and environmental research from the National Biological Information Infrastructure.
- NOAA Photo Library
A collection of downloadable public domain photos, maps, and illustrations produced by the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
- Public Health Image Library
Search for images from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
- Rail Pictures
Photos and videos searchable by locomotive type, state, railroad, and/or photographer.
- Sandia MicroElectroMechanical Systems Image Gallery
A small but specialized image collection of microsystems.
- Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum
Images of aircraft, engines, and other objects related to air and space travel.
- Structurae [en]
A database with images of bridges, buildings, portaits, and products relating to structural and civil engineering, developed by Nicolas Janberg, a structural and bridge engineer.
- Transportation Around the World: 1911-1993
Images of air, water, and land transportation from the American Geographical Society.
- U.S. Geological Survey Photographic Library
Public domain images of parks, geological events, and mining.
-
-
A collection of images, video, and audio relating to the National Science Foundation's research in science and engineering.
- NASA Image Galleries
Offers public access to NASA's images, videos and audio collections
- Maps, Atlases, and Aerial Photographs
UCI Subject Guide by Brian Williams
- Journal of Visualized Experiments (JOVE)
An online journal publishing visualized (video-based) biological research studies.
- Science.gov Image Search
The current federated search includes The National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) Library of Images from the Environment (LIFE), The National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA ) Image eXchange (NIX), and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Photo Library.
- Emilio Segre Visual Archives
Search collection of more than 30,000 historical images of scientists and their work
