Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Images: Visual Arts

Find digital images in online and subscription digital image collections at UC Irvine for research, teaching, and presenting.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/images

Digital Image Collections:

On this page you'll discover just a few of the many digital image collections available for discovery across local, national, and international GLAMS (galleries, libraries, archives, and museums). If you have a specific image need, please don't hesitate to reach out to the library for research support! 

California:

Getty Open Content Images

  • The Open Content Images Collection provides public domain image access to many image sources!
  • Image types: photographs, visual materials, digitized manuscripts, vessels, sculpture, coins and more.

National & International:

Metropolitan Museum

  • Discover thousands of images from the Met collections, many of which can be download and used. 
  • Their Open Access Artworks portal provides more than 375,000 hi-res images of public-domain works from the collection.
  • Image types: a variety visual arts and media (painting, photography, sculpture, prints & drawing, etc.)

MOMA: Museum of Art 

  • More than 88,000 works are currently available online and over 26,000 artists!
  • Image types: a variety visual art and media (painting, photography, sculpture, prints & drawings, etc.)

Rijksmuseum Images

  • High resolution images of paintings in museum collections.
  • Image types: mainly paintings.

Smithsonian Institution 

  • Over 16 million records of museum objects, archives, and library materials including thousands of online images.
  • To narrow by the art collection only, click here.
  • Image types: drawings, prints, photographs, ceramics, painting, textiles, and metalwork.

Yale Center for British Art Collections Online

  • +100,000 searchable images of art owned by the center. Some listings include bibliographies related to the work.
  • Image types: paintings, drawings, prints, and sculpture.

California:

Calisphere

  • Gateway to California's remarkable digital collections! Free access to unique and historically important artifacts
  • These have been digitized by all 10 UC campuses and other libraries, archives, museums throughout California.
  • Image types: photographs, paintings, artists' books, drawings & prints, and more. 

National & International:

Asia Art Archive

  • A growing digital archive of primary source material culled by individual art practitioners and researchers in cities across Asia.
  • Image types:

British Library (Flickr Commons Collection)

  • Access millions of public domain images. Even a Cat Collection!
  • Image types: photographs, architecture, prints, posters, maps, and more.

Europeana

  • Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries, and museums to share cultural heritage
  • Their digital collections are extensive with a range of image resources in art, fashion, archaeology, manuscripts, photography, and more!
  • Image types: search their Art Collection to find paintings, drawings, engravings, and sculpture

Gallica

  • Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) and includes a robust digital image collection.
  • Beyond visual art images, you'll also find many images related to performing arts as well as maps and plans. 
  • Image types: prints & drawings, poster designs, and more.

Library of Congress: Photo & Prints Catalog

  • The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains digital images representing still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division of ht Library of Congress and offers broad public access to these digital images that are national and international in scope.
  • Example collections : performing arts posters, daguerreotypes, Japanese prints, pre-1915, African American Photographs Assembled for 1900 Paris Exhibition; Farm Security Administration/Office of War Information Color Photographs, among many others.
  • Image types: posters, photographs

New York Public Library

  • Free & open access to +800,000 images that are digitized from the NYPL collections. Strong emphasis in: Africana & Black History; Dance in Photographs and Prints.
  • Image types: photographs, prints, posters (mainly)

PHAROS Photo Archive

  • PHAROS is an international consortium of 14 European & North American art historical photo archives.
  • The digital research platform allows for consolidated access to photo archive images and their associated scholarly documentation.
  • Image types: drawings, prints, fresco, miniatures, etc. 

Featured from Calisphere

undefined

Untitled (Ocan View from Carmel) 1938 from: Japanese
American National Museum via Calisphere

Google Arts Project:

Google Arts & Culture is a collaboration with some of the world’s most acclaimed art museums to enable people to discover and view more than a thousand artworks online in extraordinary detail.