Skip to Main Content
Architecture/Urban Online Image Collections
- A&A : Art & Architecture: A database of approximately 40,000 images from the Conway and Witt Libraries of the Courtauld Institute.
- American Cities: National Archives: Selection of photographs listed in this publication depicts the city. its development, and its people and their way of life from the early 19th century to recent times. They were selected for their aesthetic quality and historical relevance to the development of urban America.
- ArchNet Digital Library: An open access and intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.
- Bildindex der Kunst und Architektur (Image Index for Art & Architecture): Images and data for nearly 2 million pictures of art and architectural monuments from 13 European countries. The index includes the Marburg Index.
- Canadian Architecture Archives ImageBank: Images of works by Canadian architects.
- Catena: Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes: Searchable collection of historic and contemporary images of landscape design centered on the Italian Villa.
- Cities/Buildings Database A collection of imagery of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web. can be searched by name of building, architect/builder or country.
- Design Center for American Urban Landscape Image Database: DCAUL Image Bank contains over 17,000 images related to urban design issues (focusing on the Twin Cities metropolitan region)
- International Center for Medieval Art's Photostream: The ICMA has initiated a Flickr photostream for members and anyone interested in medieval art to download images of medieval art
- Society of Architectural Historians (SAH) Image Exchange: SAH Image Exchange is an image database for teaching architectural history. Illustrated monuments span history and geography.
- Vitruvio: A searchable database of historical and contemporary architecture as well as architectural forums and resources.