Images

"Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science."

The NIMH Image Library is a searchable database of photographs and illustrations that are available, copyright free, to the public at no cost. The Library contains images of general biomedical research and research tools, mental health specific research, and treatment related images. Many images are available in low, medium, and high resolutions.

"The A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations."

The NLM Digital Collection provides images that are free to use with credit. Images are meant for use by the science and health community, the press that covers health and science, teachers and other educators in health and science and non-profit organizations that produce health and science information.

"The Visible Human Project® is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals."

"UpToDate® is the premier evidence-based clinical decision support resource, trusted worldwide by healthcare practitioners to help them make the right decisions at the point of care. It is proven to change the way clinicians practice medicine, and is the only resource of its kind associated with improved outcomes." After you conduct a search, click on the left sidebar for "graphics" to find images that can be exported to powerpoint, printed or eMailed.

"HONmedia is an unique repository of over 6,800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes." Note: some images are copyrighted and original source may request a fee for use.