- Ad*Access Project
Images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911-1955. It concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved.
- Ad Council Campaigns
The Ad Council is a leading producer of Public Service Announcements (PSAs) and has been creating ads since 1942. Provides access to current and historical Ad Council campaigns as well as other endorsed campaigns.
Since 1999, AdForum has provided advertising agencies and production companies a digital space to showcase their creative work. AdForum represents the collective voice of the advertising industry, which includes a Creative Library featuring more than 200,000 campaigns and partnerships.
- Advertising Archives (mostly British ads)
"The Advertising Archives was established in 1990 by Larry and Suzanne Viner and is the largest and most comprehensive resource of its kind in Europe". The collection spans from the mid 19th-century to the present day. Image types include: British & American Press Adverts; British & American Magazine Covers and Artwork; French & Spanish Magazine Art; British TV Advertising Stills; Mail Order Catalogues; Posters; Postcards; Menus; Theatre Programmes; Vintage Magazines.
- AdViews (via Duke University Library)
AdViews is a digital archive of thousands of vintage television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.
- Emergence of Advertising in America (via Duke University Library)
The Emergence of Advertising in America (EAA) presents Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- Life Magazine
Life Magazine partnered with Google Books to digitize the magazine's entire run as a weekly: over 1,860 issues, covering the years from 1936 to 1972.Users can browse, search and view a retrospective of Life magazine photos and ads. Users have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.
- Living Room Candidate
Presents more than 300 television commercials from every election year beginning in 1952, when the first campaign ads aired.
- Medicine & Madison Avenue (via Duke University Library)
A database of over 600 advertisements and historical documents dated between 1911 and 1958, relating to the creation and influence of health-related advertising.
- National Museum of American History: Advertising Collection
The Museum has preserved advertising campaigns for several familiar companies, such as Marlboro, Alka-Seltzer, Federal Express, Cover Girl, and Nike. It also holds the records of the NW Ayer Advertising Agency and business papers from Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Carvel Ice Cream, and other companies. The Warshaw Collection of Business Americana comprises thousands of trade cards, catalogs, labels, and other business papers and images dating back to the late 1700s.
- Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA) Archives, 1885-1990s (via Duke University Library)
More than 16,000 images of outdoor advertisements and other scenes from the Outdoor Advertising Association of America, the primary professional organization in the field.
- PSA Central
The Ad Council, the producer of public service ads (PSAs) on TV and radio, in newspapers and magazines, on billboards and on the Web, makes a wide variety of these ads available for preview or download. Access is free, but registration is required.
- Tobacco Advertisements Online (via Stanford Research into the Impact of Tobacco Advertising)
"Stanford Research Into the Impact of Tobacco Advertising (SRITA) was formed in 2007 by Stanford professor Robert Jackler who serves as its principal investigator. Our purpose is to study the promotional activities of the tobacco industry."
- University of Washington Ad Guide
This page lists many different advertisement sources available to browse on the free web.
- Vintage Ad Browser
A free website which seeks to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more.