PREVIEW W25: FMS 144 - Digital Media x Environment - Film and Media Studies - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

Welcome!

This LibGuide is created for students enrolled in Professor Ricky Carno's FMS 144 (Digital Media x Environment) for Winter 2025. There are helpful links and resources for you to work on your final research project, and you can make an appointment for one-on-one help with your topics!

Office Hours & Appointments for Research Help

I have created 3 different office hour time slots (2 in person and 1 virtual) in weeks 8 and 9 where you can sign up to meet with me, and I can do my best to help you find sources for your projects! You can also try the library's 24/7 virtual chat service for support (these are not bots, real humans!) :-)

BOOK AN OFFICE HOUR DROP IN HERE

Please make sure you email me 1 day in advance of the appointment with your topic and sources you've found so far. :-)

A Good Starting Point: Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints
You’ll discover reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more to explore various sides of many issues and topics.This resource helps encourage and develop your evidence-based reasoning, civil discourse, critical thinking, and media literacy skills! Depending on your topic, it could be a great starting point to support query with authoritative digital content.

Scholarly / Secondary Sources

These are just a few peer-reviewed journals cited in your readings for this course. There are many more, but it's good to pay attention to the publication source, and learn about it. There is also a list of Film and Media Studies journals here for you to browse!

Academic Search Complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides access to journal articles covering a range of topics.
Taylor & Francis Journals Online
Provides full-text access to articles in the sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.
JSTOR
Provides access to scholarly journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. In addition to journal articles, users can access book chapters, ebooks, and primary source documents.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a free search engine that helps users find scholarly literature, such as articles, books, and theses. I

Global Think Tanks
A database of reports, papers, and other resources published by NGOs, think tanks, IGOs and research centers from across the world. It also includes a directory of thousands of organizations involved in public and social policy in most subject area. A module in the Policy Commons database.

Project Muse
A broad collection of journals and ebooks with emphasis on humanities and social sciences. Publishers include numerous university presses and scholarly societies.
UC Library Search
Searches the collections of all UC campuses, including print books and journals, ebooks and ejournals, film, newspaper articles, book chapters, and more.

Google Books
A service from Google that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database.

WorldCat
A free, publicly available version of WorldCat, a worldwide catalog created and maintained collectively by member institutions. It provides bibliographic information on titles from around the world, and holdings information for libraries across the world as well.

Primary Sources: Websites, Media Coverage (News)

U.S. Major Dailies
Provides access to the five most respected U.S. national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Current content is available each day with archives that stretch as far back as 1980.
New York Times, 1980 - Present
Full-text coverage of the New York Times, 1980 to present, via the ProQuest search interface.
For institutional access to the New York Times via the website, please follow the set up instructions here: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/nytimes
Canadian Major Dailies
Included in this collection are national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist.
Alternative Press Index
This database indexes alternative, radical, and left periodicals and magazines. Coverage is both international and interdisciplinary and the database is updated on a quarterly basis.

The UC Irvine Libraries are proud to now sponsor access to several critical news sites and sources. You can register with your UCI net ID and credentials - just follow the steps on these guides!

1. NYTimes.com

2. WaPo/The Washington Post

3. The Economist (publishes stories on topics that include economics, business, geopolitics, technology and culture)

Green Peace
Greenpeace is an independent global campaigning network, founded in Canada in 1971 by a group of environmental activists.

Pay attention to the source of the website, who creates/maintains it, and try to do due diligence (fact checking, etc.) Thinktanks, policy and research centers, etc. can often have helpful data, case studies and reports, and other types of sources not easily found in academic articles.

Think Tank Search (Harvard Kennedy School)
Custom Google Search of over 1200 Think Tanks. Useful place to find documents (policies, blog posts, etc.) produced by think tanks.

VPN Connection

To access library resources off-campus, you need to connect your device (laptop or mobile phone) to the VPN (virtual private network). Instructions on how to do this are on the library's website here: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/connect/about. Additionally, you can test your connection here:

TEST MY VPN CONNECTION