Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scripts and Screenplays Online
American Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Full text, accurate, and authorized film scripts. Many are not available from other resources. These scripts are provided in collaboration with major film studios like Warner Brothers, Sony, MGM, etc.
American Film Scripts Online
American Film Scripts Online is an ongoing full-text project. The collection of feature films, when completed, will hold 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 scenes. Many of the scripts have never been published. The database is full-text searchable.
Motion Picture Scripts Database
The Motion Picture Scripts Database provides a searchable interface to the film script holdings of six Los Angeles-area collections: the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the American Film Institute, the Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regiona
Scripts on Screen
Indexes and links to scripts for over 8,500 films available from 300+ web sites. Indicates draft versions (if known) and availability of PDF format. Links that are not free are marked with a dollar sign ($).
A database of hundreds of downloadable scripts, movie scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current, classic and maybe a few soon-to-be-released movies, television, anime, unproduced and radio shows. Note: this free web site has advertisements.
Offers links to hundreds of drafts and final scrilpts and transcipts from films and television shows.
Film Score Monthly
Related to America’s leading magazine about motion picture and television music, Film Score Monthly Online is primarily interested in background music: the instrumental underscores which play such an important part of the filmgoing experience.
Pop Mystic offers a means of combining quantitative and qualitative popular media data in pursuit of insight into film and media theory. It is an index of every speech sound and utterance with time-codes from 78,000 films and television shows spanning from 1893 to present day. It is searchable by keyword, and also lets users refine search results by release year, director, actor, genre, and title. Type in a word and see where and when it was uttered in a film or TV show.
The Script Lab
The Script Lab comes in handy if you’re looking for more recent screenplays. Its front page divides its library into the three most recent years of releases, so if there’s something from 2014 you’d like, for instance Birdman or Boyhood, this is the website for you.
Scripts and Screenplays Reference Texts