Research Guides: Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering: Bibliographic Management Software

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual. For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Guide.

EndNoteBasic
EndNoteWeb is available via the Web of Knowledge or Web of Science Database Platforms. It is not the exact same product as EndNote and work done in EndNoteWeb must be uploaded into the regular EndNote. The web version is free but not portable, meaning that you have to enter via the platform by a subscribing institution.
EndNote
EndNote is another product for Bibliographic Management Software.
more...less...
There is an abbreviated free web version available via the Web of Science Databases. However, there is no UCI campus license to the full coverage of EndNote and if one chooses to use EndNote, it is recommended that one go to the UCI Bookstore and purchase it with an academic discount, and load it on a personal computer or laptop. Currently the Libraries provide access to EndNote version 6 in the Multimedia Resources Center (MRC), Langson Library Technology Enhanced Classroom (TEC), Interactive Learning Center (ILC), and in the Grunigen Medical Library at the UCI Medical Center. It is recommended that you take the trial on the Registration Page first before you invest in this product to see how it supports your workstyle.
Mendeley
An open source and free product that needs to be downloaded on a personal computer. Utilizes social networking framework to manage references and citation support. For additional information consult tutorials and online help and videos
Zotero
Zotero is an extension for Firefox 2.0, which enables browsers to capture citation information from Web pages quickly and easily.
more...less...
Researchers can add searchable notecards to their citations, organize them with tags, attach files to them, arrange them into folders, or export them as formatted citations. Zotero can capture a single citation or an entire results list of sources, which researchers can work with either online or offline.
Bibsonomy
Bibsonomy is a scholarly bookmarking service that offers its users related tags, the ability to create groups, and the ability to export records to BibTex.
more...less...
Bibsonomy members can construct friends networks, import their del.icio.us links, generate private entries, and import their BibTex libraries.
Complore
Complore encourages scholars and students to save their lectures, articles, and papers in the bibliographic bookmarking service. Researchers can join groups, subscribe to a site-wide RSS feed, and generate BibTex records.

Citation Formats

Style Manuals

Unfortunately, LaTeX is not currently supported in any of the Bibliographic Management Software packages. The usual word processing programs such as MS Word is what is used.

ACS Style Guide (3rd. ed.) (quick guide)
A quick guide to citing using the ACS Style Guide (rd ed.). Prepared by Nan Buchovich (Pennsylvania State University).
The Purdue OWL
Writing and citation assistance for APA and MLA styles provided by Purdue University.
Audiovisual and Online Media
7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Association: Science Library (SL) Ref, BF 76.7 P85 2001.
6th edition (2010) now available at Langson Library Reference Desk:
Ref: BF76.7 .P83 2010
Writer’s Handbook: APA Documentation Style
Site provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center.