Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Bibliographic Management Software: EndNote

Citation tracking software using EndNote, Endnote Web, and Zotero. Examples of citation styles and how to track scholarly article citations.
URL: http://guides.lib.uci.edu/bms

Ask a Librarian

 

Ask A Librarian

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.

Web VPN

Software VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Finding Full Text

Configure EndNote to retrieve fulltext through UC-eLinks while on campus or while connected to the Software VPN

To use UC-eLinks from within EndNote, make the following modification:

Open EndNote and in the top menu go

Configure EndNote to retrieve fulltext through UC-eLinks while on campus or while connected to the Software VPN

To use UC-eLinks from within EndNote, make the following modification:

  • Open EndNote and in the top menu go Edit > Preferences
  • In the list on the left select Find Full Text
  • Check the four boxes, and paste this link into the OpenURL Path:

http://ucelinks.cdlib.org:8888/sfx_local

  • Click OK

You can now right click on references (or multiple selected reference) and select the Find Full Text option.

EndNote

Currently the Libraries do not provide access to any version of EndNote. One can download a 30-day trial from the Endnote website at: http://endnote.com/downloads/30-day-trial.

EndNote Tutorials

Importing your EndNote library to RefWorks:

Importing your EndNote library to RefWorks:

When importing large amounts of references, it is recommended to import no more than 2500 records (or 3MB of files) at a single time. This will ensure a successful import.

  • From EndNote, select the correct Output Style for the export. Under the Edit menu select Output Styles.
  • From the list of output styles select RefMan (RIS) Export select it.
    Note: If you do not see this format, choose “Open Style Manager” from the Edit menu. In the Sytle Manager window, click on “Find” and choose “Export.” Check the RefMan format and close the Style Manager. Repeat steps 1 and 2.
  • Select the references you want to export.
  • Under the File menu select Export.
    A dialog box appears for you to select the location where you want to save the file. Type a file name and select a location for importing into RefWorks. Select Text as your Save As type and click Save.
  • Go into RefWorks and from the References menu select Import.
  • Select Desktop Biblio. Mgt. Software as your Import Filter and EndNote (Ref Man RIS Format) as your Database. Make sure you select the appropriate Mac or Windows version. Browse for and select the file you just created from EndNote.
  • Click Import.

EndNote: PubMed Journal Names Abbreviations Issue

References imported into EndNote Desktop from PubMed/ Medline may show abbreviations instead of full names as required by the APA 6th edition style. See the video below to apply a fix to EndNote Desktop. Unfortunately, there is currently no fix available for this issue in EndNote Online.

EndNote: Double-space or single-space a bibliography, or change the font for the bibliography

In your document, do the following:

  • Word 2007/2010/2013/2016 (Windows): Go to the EndNote or Endnote Web tab. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th. At the lower right-hand corner of the "Bibliography" portion of the ribbon, there is a square box. Click on this box.

    Word 2016 (Mac): Go to the EndNote or EndNote Web tab. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th. Click Bibliography > Configure Bibliography.

    Word 2003/2004/2008/2011: Go to the "Tools" Menu and choose "EndNote (or EndNote Web) > Configure Bibliography, Bibliography Settings or Format Bibliography" command. Be sure that you have selected the output style to edit, e.g., APA 6th.
     
  • Next, click on the Layout tab. Here, you have options to change the font and line spacing options for the bibliography.

GML Reference Coordinator

Andrew Beck's picture
Andrew Beck
Contact:
101 The City Drive South.
Bldg 22A Rt 82
Orange, CA 92868-3298
714-456-5790

Also take a look at EndNote Basic (It's free!)