Research Guides: Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering: Research Grants & Funding Resources

Introduction to Funding Resources

There are many sources to consult about Resource Funding for Grant Writing, Funding Research and sponsorship. In addition to these resources, you may want to consult the Research Guide for Funding Resources, created by John Sisson, Biological Sciences Librarian.

Research Grants & Funding Resources

* Indicates UCI Access Only

GrantForward
GrantForward is a funding opportunity database and recommendation service built by academics for researchers
SPIN - Sponsored Projects Information Network*
SPIN is a searchable database made available by the UCI Office of Research that indexes approximately 8,000 opportunities. SPIN and IRIS include some overlap. Spin Userguide
CORDIS - Community Research and Development Information Service
This site provides information on current research projects in the European Union and gives access to documents concerning the EU Framework programmes as well as to other EU sites.
CRISP - Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects
Contains information on federally funded biomedical research projects. The database is maintained by the Office of Extramural Research at the National Institutes of Health.
D&B Million Dollar Directory*
Grants.gov
Grants.gov is a central storehouse for information on over 1,000 U.S. Government grant programs offered by the 26 federal grant-making agencies and provides access to approximately $500 billion in annual awards.
NIH (National Institutes of Health) Guide for Grants and Contracts
NIH's official publication of notices of grant policies, guidelines, and funding opportunities.
NSF (National Science Foundation) Funding Search
The U.S. National Science Foundation offers hundreds of funding opportunities — including grants, cooperative agreements and fellowships — that support research and education across science and engineering.
UROP Off-campus: Biomedical sciences
For Undergraduates-These listings are identified by the program name, which is linked to a summary of the program and the program's official Web site.
UROP Off-campus: Engineering, Computer Science, and Applied Sciences
For Undergraduates-These listings are identified by the program name, which is linked to a summary of the program and the program's official Web site.
UROP Off-campus: Physical Sciences
For Undergraduates-These listings are identified by the program name, which is linked to a summary of the program and the program's official Web site.
Annual register of grant support
LB 2336 A5
Grants Register
Langson Library Reference, LB2338.G7
Science Library Reference, LB2338.G76
Directory of research grants
LB 2338 D5
Fastweb
Fastweb and the College Board offers scholarship searches for parents and students.
FinAid: The Smart Student Guide to Financial Aid
Resources on loans, scholarships, and financial aid of every kind; also on calculating needs, application forms, etc.
Federal Students Aid
Provides information on federal loans.
Campus Grotto
Offers a tool that lets students and parents compare loan options.
PLUS Loans
Explains how parents van borrow for their childrens's education.

Proposal Preparation

Developing And Writing Grant Proposals
Useful for applying for federal grants. By the staff of the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance.
EPA Grantwriting Tutorial
Online tutorial from Purdue University in collaboration with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
Grants.gov: Applicant Resources
Includes Developing a Grant Proposal, terminology proposal writing links, links to application packages, grantmaking agencies, types of grants, and more.
All About Grants Tutorials
For biomedical investigators applying for NIH research project grants. Maintained by its National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases.
Guide for Writing a Funding Proposal
Written by S. Joseph Levine of Michigan State University. Offers excellent advice on all parts of the proposal. Includes a sample proposal and links to other proposal writing sites.
Proposal Writer's Guide
An excellent outline by Donald Thackrey for academic faculty and staff. Especially useful. A site maintained by the University of Michigan's Division of Research and Development Administration.
Proposal Preparation and Submission
A site maintained by the University of Michigan's Division of Research and Development Administration.
Proposal Writing: Selected Web Sites
Outstanding. Provides essential links for university scholars and researchers needing more than here on research funding in particular.
Writing Winning Proposals: An Introduction
Excellent advice from the ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Grant Proposal Writing Tips
Some good, clearly-stated tips from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, which reviews hundreds of proposals a year.
GrantProposal.com
Well organized site on proposal writing. Includes an overview, inquiry and cover letters, standard components of a proposal, a sample proposal, advice from funders, and more. An excellent section on researching funding opportunities is included also.
How to Write a Mission Statement
Outline by Janet M. Radtke on writing a mission statement for an organization. A site of the Los-Angeles based Grantsmanship Center.
National Network of Grantmakers: NNG Common Grant Application
This common grant application form is accepted by a number of foundations. It can also be useful in organizing the information needed in a project proposal. (pdf)
Grants for Nonprofits
Information for how to write specific grants for nonprofits, how to find appropriate funding sources for nonprofits and how to get grants from nonprofit organizations. Lots of easy hints.
The Foundation Center's Proposal Writing Short Course
Free, online course.
The Foundation Center's Proposal Budgeting Basics
Free, online course.
The Foundation Center Webinars on Proposal Writing Basics
Free; must register in advance.
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing, 5th ed. - An Audio Book!
Free audio book from the Foundation Center. Listen online now or download for later listening.
Sample Grant Proposals
Proposals from the Idea Bank's Grant Writing Course. Most are successfully funded, and are for funding for fire departments.
School Grants
Offers a number of education-focused, successful, sample proposals. Most are directed to corporate or government funding sources and are downloadable in PDF format.
Winning Grant Proposals Online
Provides funded grant proposals for sale in a variety of categories. Particularly well-stocked with federal grant proposals. A site from the Grantsmanship Center, a Los-Angeles based proposal training center.
Writing a Successful Grant Proposal
An excellent and thorough guide for writing grant proposals, from the Minnesota Council on Foundations. FAQs include pros and cons of hiring a professional grantwriter and what to do if a proposal is funded.

Sources for Funding - Databases

There are several major databases to consult for seeking funding - the two largest are Pivot & COS. On the left sidebar, is a long list of resources that source funding opportunities for travel, research, grants & contracts.

COS - Community of Science Funding Opportunities
Funded at UCI by the UCI Libraries. Provides a user-friendly interface to a worldwide database of more than 25,000 records.
COS Userguide
COS Funding News
COS Top Ten Funding Opportunities
Of the more than 25,000 records, the records most viewed last week.
Pivot