Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Evidence-Based Medicine Subject Guide: EBM Pyramid

A collection of excellent resources available to UCI clinicians and students.
URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ebm

EBM Pyramid

 

Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) Resources

Evidence-Based Medicine is the integration of best research evidence with clinical expertise and patient values. (Sackett DL, Straus SE, Richardson WS, et al. Evidence-based medicine: how to practice and teach EBM. 2nd ed. Edinburgh: Churchill Livingstone, 2000.)

EBM Pyramid and EBM Page Generator, copyright 2006 Trustees of Dartmouth College and Yale University. All Rights Reserved.
Produced by Jan Glover, David Izzo, Karen Odato and Lei Wang.

Download This Image


Trip Pro

Simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, and critically-appraised topics and articles -- including most of those listed above and many more. Also searches MEDLINE’s Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information leaflets.

 


Filtered Resources

 

Systematic Reviews / Meta-Analyses

The Cochrane Library 

Systematic Reviews are also searchable in these sources:

  • CINAHL Complete * : Enter your search query. Select “Systematic Reviews” under “Publication Type”.
     
  • PubMed Clinical Queries: Enter your search query in the search box and click search. The Systematic Reviews search results are shown in the  Center Column.  Move the page down and select See all

Critically-Appraised Topics

BMJ Best Practice

Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources.

DyaMed Plus

DynaMed Plus is a medical database that provides access to the most current, evidence-based clinical information on thousands of topics and specialties to healthcare professionals. It provides comprehensive coverage and current, relevant clinical updates, bringing vital knowledge to physicians and healthcare professionals at the point of care. For more information, visit their website.

JAMA Evidence

"Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses".  Contents include: the Users' guides to the medical literature, Rational clinical examination, and Care at the close of life.

Natural Medicines*

An authoritative source on integrative medicine providing high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.

UpToDate *

A clinical information resource, which offers up-to-date, fully referenced expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis, and treatment questions. Topic reviews are written by recognized authorities who review the topic, synthesize the evidence, summarize key findings, and provide specific recommendations.

Critically-Appraised Individual Articles

The ACP Journal Club *

The editors of this journal screen the top 100+ clinical journals and identify studies that are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. An enhanced abstract, with conclusions clearly stated, and a commentary are provided for each selected article. Published by the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine.

Check EBM e-Journals list for multiple subscriptions.


NEJM Journal Watch

Their mission is to help health care providers efficiently understand medical developments to improve patient care and foster professional development. It is a source that can help you to stay informed and current in your fields.  NEJM Journal Watch summarizes the most important research available from over 250 medical journals, as well as other sources of medical news, drug information, public health alerts, and guidelines across 12 specialties and put into perspective for you by their team of physician authors and editors.
 

“Evidence-Based…” Journal series

(e.g., Evidence-Based Medicine, Evidence-Based Mental Health, Evidence-Based Nursing) Primary research articles within the discipline are selected for quality and clinical relevance. A structured abstract and expert commentary are provided for each study.

Check EBM e-Journals list for multiple subscriptions.

Unfiltered Resources

PubMed *

To limit your PubMed search to the best evidence-producing studies: Click on "clinical queries" (on the left side of the screen). This specialized search is intended for clinicians and has built-in search "filters." Four study categories--therapy, diagnosis, etiology, prognosis--are provided, and you may indicate whether you wish your search to be more sensitive (i.e., include most relevant articles but probably including some less relevant ones) or more specific (i.e., including mostly relevant articles but probably omit a few).

PsycINFO *

International coverage of the professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.

Click “Browse Methodology” and select the checkbox for “Systematic Reviews”.

CINAHL Complete *

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature

To limit your CINAHL Complete search to the best evidence-producing studies: select type of “Clinical Queries” or select “Evidence-Based Care Sheet” or “Practice Guidelines” or “Systematic Reviews” in “Publication Type”.

Web of Science *

Web of Science consists of seven databases with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences.

Biosis *

BIOSIS Previews is the world's most comprehensive reference database for life science research. It covers original research reports and reviews in traditional biological and biomedical areas. It also covers references to primary journal literature on vital biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms.

Clinical Trials.gov

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research database.


Background Information/Expert Opinion

Note: Evidence in these resources may vary from expert opinion to high levels of evidence.

Medscape

Physician authors and editors contribute to the eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base, which contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content provides the latest practice guidelines in 62 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes multiple levels of physician peer review.

eBooks

Full-text electronic books.  Check EBM e-Books list for multiple book options.

Harrison's Online *

Searchable and continually updated version of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.

 

Health Sciences Librarian

Linda Murphy's picture
Linda Murphy
Contact:
Linda Suk-Ling Murphy, MLIS
Health Sciences Librarian
University of California, Irvine
The UCI Libraries
P.O. Box 19557
Irvine, CA 92623-9557
(949) 824-6419
Website Skype Contact: lmurphy@ad.uci.edu
Subjects:Medicine