Links to sites that provide searches for evidence-based literature by limiting the search to the best evidence.
CINAHL CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing for selected journals back to 1937. Topics covered are related to nursing, physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines. CINAHL also provides access to healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, educational software and audiovisual materials in nursing.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality databases that consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and Epistemonikos Systematic Reviews. CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. CDAs provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.
DynaMedThis link opens in a new windowCurrent and accurate, evidence-based content for practicing clinicians. A multidisciplinary systematic database of emerging scientific literature and clinical practice guidelines.
Natural MedicinesThis link opens in a new windowNatural Medicines provides evidence-based information on herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, homeopathic products, and many other natural remedies. It contains multiple databases and interactive features including an Effectiveness Checker, Nutrient Depletion Checker, and Natural Product/Drug Interaction Checker. Browsable diseases and conditions allow you to see which natural products might be effective.
For mobile access instructions, go to "Mobile Resources in Medicine" and select the Tab, "Natural Medicines" https://guides.lib.uci.edu/mobilemedicine.
PubMed@UCIThis link opens in a new windowProvides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
ScopusThis link opens in a new windowAn abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
TRIP ProThis link opens in a new windowA clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence.
Select "more" for an explanation and access for each tool.
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics. Select "Clinical Queries" from the PubMed Homepage. Enter your search terms in the search box and select the relevant filters and scope.
Select "Single Citation Matcher" from the PubMed homepage. Use this tool to find PubMed citations by entering as much (or as little) information you have such as words from the article title, publication year, journal name, author(s), etc.
Select "MeSH Database" from the PubMed homepage. Use this tool to discover the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) that are added to PubMed records, and can be used to search the database. MeSH terms can be refined to include specific categories (subheadings), restrict results to those items focusing on the topic, and more.
ClinicalTrials.govThis link opens in a new windowClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world and provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.
IMPORTANT: Listing a study does not mean it has been evaluated by the U.S. Federal Government. Read our disclaimer for details.