Research Guides: Evidence-Based Medicine Subject Guide: Clinical Practice Guidelines

Find Clinical Practice Guidelines

Finding Guidelines in Databases

CINAHL
CINAHL is a database of nursing and allied health literature. From the advanced search page, scroll down to Publication Type and select Practice Guidelines. From the results page of a search, scroll down to Source Types and select Show More.
ClinicalKey
Select Guidelines from the options below the search bar. You can then use the Filter List by Title box to find a specific guideline, or use the filters on the left to narrow by specialty or authoring organization.
ClinicalKey for Nursing
Select Guidelines from the options below the search bar. You can then use the Filter List by Title box to find a specific guideline, or use the filters on the left to narrow by patient age, specialty or authoring organization.
Cochrane Library
Run a search in the Cochrane Library and review results on the Cochrane Reviews and Clinical Answers tabs.
DynaMedex
Run a search on a topic and use the filters on the left to narrow to Guidelines. You can then narrow to geographic region.
JBI EBP Database
JBI (formerly Joanna Briggs Institute) EBP Database provides high quality, current evidence to inform clinical decisions. Run a search and select from Publication Types including best practice information sheets, evidence summaries, and more.
PubMed
Run a PubMed search, then select Additional Filters from the filters on the left. Under Article Type select Practice Guideline and click Show to add them to the list of filters. Then, check the box next to Practice Guideline to narrow results.
Trip (Turning Research Into Practice) - Practice Guidelines
Browse guidelines or run a search and use the filters to narrow to guidelines, then by location or clinical area. Trip is free to use, but you must be on campus or VPN to access full text.
UpToDate
Select a topic (e.g. Pneumonia in children: Inpatient treatment), then scroll down to select Society Guideline Links from the Topic outline.

North American Guidelines

AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Center Reports and Technology Assessments
Search all AHRQ Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) reports, including those from the Effective Health Care Program, the Technology Assessment Program, and the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force.
American College of Physicians Guidelines
Clinical practice guidelines, clinical guidance statements, best practice advice, and practice points from the American College of Physicians (ACP).
Canadian Clinical Practice Guidelines (CMA)
Resources for identifying practice guidelines across Canada, from the Canadian Medical Association.
Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF)
Search the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF) findings by topic, finding, or the year the review was completed.
Psychiatric Guidelines, Updates, and Parameters (AACAP)
Guidelines, updates, and parameters from the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force: Recommendations
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine that makes evidence-based recommendations on effective ways to prevent disease & prolong life.
Veterans Affairs (VA)/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines
Search guidelines endorsed by the VA/DoD Evidence Based Practice Work Group.

International Guidelines

BIGG International Database of GRADE Guidelines
Database established by the Pan American Health Organisation (PAHO) for guidelines developed using GRADE. Available in English, Spanish, Portuguese, and French.
BMJ Best Practice
BMJ Best Practice combines the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion on prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. From a clinical topic page, select Guidelines under the Resources section.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Search or browse guidelines by clinical area from ECRI, a global, independent authority on healthcare technology and safety.
Guidelines International Network (GIN)
Free library with links to guidelines published or endorsed by GIN member organizations from around the world, in addition to a registry of planned guidelines and those in development.
International Guidelines Library
A list of websites for searching guidelines around the world.
International HTA Database
Free access to bibliographic information about ongoing and published health technology assessments commissioned or undertaken by HTA organizations from around the world.
National Academies Health and Medicine Division
Search completed and ongoing work by keywords within the Our Work section, and filter by topic, unit, type, or region. Visit the Publications section to view published guidelines, consensus reports, and proceedings.
National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) Clinical Guidelines
Evidence-based recommendations developed by independent committees, including professionals and lay members, and consulted on by stakeholders. Serves the English NHS and the Welsh NHS.
NEJM Guideline Watch
View recent clinically relevant guideline summaries from NEJM Journal Watch. Select a specialty from the View More section for additional results.