Research Guides: Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): Find Articles & Books

Access key

Access requires an active UCInetID and password.

Access available to all on-campus. Off-campus access requires VPN (active UCInetID).

Access available to all.

RCTs on CAM

Randomized Controlled Trial Studies on Complementary Therapies

Google Scholar Search

Ask a Librarian

Connect from Off Campus

Researching from home? Remote access to the UCI Libraries' licensed online resources is available to current UC Irvine students, faculty & staff. Visit our Connect from Off-Campus page for more information!

Find Articles and Books

UC Library Search

Search collections across all UC campuses or limit your search to UCI. Includes print books and articles, electronic books and articles, book chapters, and more.

Look for Download PDF or the Get it at UC logo to access full text
Use Advanced Search to search for a specific book, article, or journal by title
Get helpful search tips from our Guide to using UC Library Search

Find a journal in UC Library Search

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) & Transfers

Use UC Library Search to request articles and books not owned by UCI Libraries at no cost to you through interlibrary loan.
To transfer materials from Langson/Science to the Grunigen Medical Library, use the Request link in UC Library Search record for the Langson/Science owned material and choose your pickup location as Grunigen.
For material found in WorldCat but not in UC Library Search, submit a request using the Blank ILL Request Form.

Biomedical and Interdisciplinary Databases

Find articles or books on a specific subject:

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL indexes journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with topics related to physical therapy, health education, social service/healthcare, occupational therapy, and related disciplines.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window
Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Content covers research output in the fields of physical science, health science, life science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles can be explored.

Find a specific article:

PubMed Single Citation Matcher
Select Single Citation Matcher from the PubMed homepage. Use this tool to find PubMed citations by entering as much (or as little) information you have such as words from the article title, publication year, journal name, author(s), etc.

Best Bets for Finding Medical eBooks

AccessMedicine
Browse eBooks by topic or search by keyword, title, author, or ISBN. Refer also to GML Core Resources list for Access Anesthesiology, Cardiology, HemOnc, Neurology, ObGyn, Pediatrics, Pharmacy, and Surgery collections.
ClinicalKey
Browse eBooks by specialty or select Books from the All Types dropdown menu and enter keywords to search.
LWW Health Library
Browse collections by specialty or search by keywords or author.
Thieme Clinical Collections
Select the Books tab to view hundreds of clinical medicine eBooks from Thieme Clinical Collections, or search by keyword, author, or title.
Thieme MedOne Education
Browse clinical education and reference eBooks as well as multimedia resources by subject area or search by keyword, author, editor, or title.
More Medical eBook Resources
An extended A-Z list of both free and UCI subscription resources for locating eBooks in medicine and the health sciences.

What is CAM?

NCCAM -- CAM BASICS
White House Commission on CAM Policy -- Final report
Established by Executive Order No. 13147 in March 2000, the report address: the coordination of research to increase knowledge about CAM products; the education and training of health care practitioners in CAM; the provision of reliable and useful information about CAM practices and products to health care professionals; and Guidance regarding appropriate access to and delivery of CAM.

Databases

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new window Produced by the National Agricultural Library, this database contains citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields from across the world.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window Index to biology, life sciences, biomedical research and botany articles in journals, meetings, and books. Can search by keywords, scientific name, and taxonomic family. Includes references to articles cited and articles citing an article.

中醫藥標本資料庫 Chinese Medicine Specimen Database The Chinese Medicine Specimen Database is a collaboration project between the School of Chinese Medicine and the Hong Kong Baptist University Library. The goal is to promote people's awareness of the variety, authenticity, and effective use of Chinese Medicines. The database currently has a collection of all exhibits of Chinese Materia Medica specimen that are displayed in the Chinese Medicine Centre.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window The Cochrane Library is a collection of high-quality databases that consists of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Clinical Answers, and Epistemonikos Systematic Reviews. CDSR includes all Cochrane Reviews (and protocols) prepared by Cochrane Review Groups. CENTRAL is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. CDAs provide a readable, digestible, clinically-focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane Reviews.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database The database offers information about label ingredients in more than 6,000 selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to compare label ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the "structure/function" claims made by manufacturers.
HerbMed Pro - American Botanical Council: HerbMedPro is an interactive, electronic herbal database that provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health.
more...less...
You can view the HerbMedPro tutorial video at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3S0MrfLTB-I
ICL (Index to Chiropractic Literature) This is a free web-based database funded by the Association of Chiropractic Colleges.
more...less...
This is a free web-based database funded by the Association of Chiropractic Colleges. Librarians from 13 different chiropractic colleges contributed to its indexing. This database indexes 41 chiropractic journals using terms from MeSH and CHIROSH from 1985 to the present.
藥用植物圖像數據庫 Medicinal Plant Images Database This open access Medicinal Plant database, is a collaborative project between the School of Chinese Medicine and the Hong Kong Baptist University Library. The database contains thousand images of Chinese Medicinal plants with annotations. Its mission is to promote the popularization, internationalization, resource sharing, and to support teaching and learning of medicinal plants and the culture of Chinese Medicine.

NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window Natural Medicines provides evidence-based information on herbal products, dietary supplements, vitamins, minerals, homeopathic products, and many other natural remedies. It contains multiple databases and interactive features including an Effectiveness Checker, Nutrient Depletion Checker, and Natural Product/Drug Interaction Checker. Browsable diseases and conditions allow you to see which natural products might be effective. For mobile access instructions, go to "Mobile Resources in Medicine" and select the Tab, "Natural Medicines" https://guides.lib.uci.edu/mobilemedicine.

NIH The Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) The ODS provides a Web-searchable database of funded research and scientific papers on dietary supplements.
more...less...
The ODS provides a Web-searchable database of funded research and scientific papers on dietary supplements. It contains two databases called CARDS and IBIDS. The International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database provides access to bibliographic citations and abstracts from published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements. Computer Access to Research on Dietary Supplements (CARDS) is a database of federally funded research projects pertaining to dietary supplements.
PEDro: an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy (CEBP) PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy.
more...less...
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. It has been developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials and systematic reviews in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help users quickly discriminate between trials that are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not. Reliability of the PEDro scale for rating quality of randomized controlled trials has been published in Physical Therapy 83(8):713-21, 2003 August. Abstract can be viewed at http://www.ptjournal.org/info/pt_abs.cfm. PEDro also contains evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Published by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycINFO provides an international index for scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
PubMed@UCI This link opens in a new window Provides access to millions of citations from MEDLINE and life science journals. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Resources for Health Care Providers from the Nantional Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine This page provides evidence-based resources such as research results and clinical practice guidelines. It helps health care providers to discuss CAM approach with their patients.

SciFinder This link opens in a new window SciFinder-n, from CAS, is one of the core databases for chemistry and related sciences, including biochemistry, chemical engineering, materials science, nanotechnology, environmental science, physics, mechanical engineering, health sciences, and more. It indexes references from journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, and more, aw well as chemical substances, protein and nucleic acid sequences, and single and multi-step reactions.
Web of Science (WoS) This link opens in a new window Global citation database provides access to the Science Citation Index expanded from 1900 to the present, Social Sciences Citation Index from 1956 to the present, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975 to the present.