Research Guides: Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM): CAM Home Pages

Health Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Linda Suk-Ling Murphy, MLIS
Health Sciences Librarian
University of California, Irvine
The UCI Libraries
P.O. Box 19557
Irvine, CA 92623-9557

(949) 824-6419

Subjects: Medicine & Health Sciences

Complementary & Alternative Medicine Home Page

FDA U.S. Food and Drug Administration
The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
MedlinePlus -- Complementary and Alternative Medicine
A well established web site developed by the National Library of Medicine for health consumers and practitioners. The Alternative Medicine section provides selected resources from the NCCAM site.
more...less...
It includes clinical trials on CAM, Specific Conditions/Aspects, National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine, and Directories, Law and Policy in CAM.
National Cancer Institute -- Complementary and Alternative Medicine
This page provides questions and answers About Complementary and Alternative Medicine in Cancer Treatment. It provides links to NCI and NCCAM sponsoring clinical trials in CAM.
Office of Dietary Supplements, NIH - Dietary Supplement Ingredient Database (DSID)
The database provides access to information on analyzed levels of nutrients in adult multivitamin/minerals (MVMs) used in the U.S.
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center's Complementary/Integrative Medicine
This site contains evidence-based reviews of complementary or alternative cancer therapies as well as links to other authoritative resources.
more...less...
These reviews evaluate the designs and the results of published research on herbal, mind-body, energy, nutrition, and other biological /organic / pharmacological substances. Detailed scientific reviews are provided to assist health care professionals in guiding patients who would like to integrate these therapies with conventional treatments. This site also contains short summaries of critical information for the general public in both English and Spanish.
USDA National Agricultural Library -- Micronutrients
This site provides links to general information about dietary and nutritional supplements from both governmental agencies and non-governmental organizations.
more...less...
Micronutrients, or vitamins and minerals, are needed by the body in small amounts. On this page, find information about the different micronutrients and their roles in metabolism, growth, and health.