Skip to Main Content

Research Data Management

This guide provides information on how to better manage and share research data in any discipline.

Email this link:

COVID-19 Research Data Collections

Updated list of research data and computational resources for the study of COVID-19, maintained by NIH. 

Discover openly available COVID-19 datasets in this FigShare data collection.

Collection of various research outputs (e.g., datasets, publications, presentations, software) related to COVID-19. Contains both Open Access and restricted research materials. 

Data repository for COVID-19 data related to social, behavioral, public health, and economic impacts of the pandemic

A free and growing collection scholarly publications related to the novel coronavirus. Use the CORD-19 Explorer to search the collection.

 

COVID-19 Clinical Data

UCI researchers have access to the following COVID-19 clinical data resources. Use UCI credentials for registration and log in:

  • N3C - National COVID Cohort Collaborative

The N3C is a partnership among NCATS (National Center for Advancing Translational Science) supported CTSA (Clinical and Translational Science Awards Program) hubs and the National Center for Data to Health. 38 collaborating institutions (to date), including UCI, contribute and use COVID-19 data to investigate research questions related to the pandemic.

The N3C Data Enclave is a secure clinical data resource and analytics platform for COVID-19 research. COVID-19 datasets and analytics tools are accessible in an analytics platform that enables online discovery, visualization and collaboration. Users must register with N3C, complete the required training, and submit a Data Use Request. No individual IRB is required.

For more information, see the N3C FAQ. 

  • UC CORDS - UC COVID Research Data Set

A HIPAA Limited Data Set comprised of electronic health records data across the five UC medical campuses for individuals tested for COVID-19 (both positive or negative results included). The dataset is generated from UC Health Data Warehouse (UCHDW). Dates of services are retained. No individual IRB is required to access the dataset.

For more information on requesting access to UC CORDS and the virtual computing environment (MyResearch Portal), see the UC CORDS FAQ and documentation. 

 

Other COVID-19 Resources

For general resources on COVID-19, including statistics, news coverage, local case counts, and economic and cultural impacts, see the UCI Libraries' COVID-19 Research Guide.