INF 161: Social Analysis of Computerization - Fall 2024

Before you begin, it is best if you read a number of annotated bibliographies to get a sense of what to include or cover - basically it is a short introduction of how an entry you have chosen of a piece of literature, a chapter, article, conference paper, white paper, preprint, technical report, review article, documentary, etc weaves together with other elements and influences your thinking about the topic.  You write an introduction, and then have a choice of different writing techniques for the bibliography:

1. list each entry individually and write about it - what is it about, how is it expressed, do you agree or disagree with the hypotheses and conclusions, is it definitive, normative, can be replicated - remember science is about reproducibility.
2. write in essay form and identify several themes and address how the selections by author/title you have chosen respond to those prompts or themes and then list each of the references in the bibliography.

You can find examples of annotated bibliographies by searching "annotated bibliography" in the title of an advanced search in UCLS and find articles and books & book chapters that contain them.

You need to submit 5+ citations and annotations

Submit by Nov 15 - everyone in the group must submit something - can be the same submission -

Entries in an annotated bibliiography can be either descriptive or analytical.  The format of the bibliography can be either essay driven or by individual entries.  Consistency is what counts.  Special hints:

• Choose your topic - your contribution to the Group Project - and you may find it helpful to follow these suggestions as noted in a Cornell University LibGuide on Annotated Bibligraphies (http://guides.library.cornell.edu/content.php?pid=448160).  Your topic should be reflected in the title of your bibliography
  • Follow APA or another style manual and make each entry consistent per those guidelines - note what citation style manual you are using
  • Bibliography should include 5 new resources that you have discovered as part of your research, two of which are peer-reviewed journal articles
  • The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
  • Annotations are descriptive and critical and should be no more than 150 words per resource or entry
  • Write a concise annotation that summarizes the central theme and scope of the book, article or website.  By doing some additional research you could Include one or more sentences that (a) evaluate the authority or background of the author, (b) comment on the intended audience, (c) compare or contrast this work with another you have cited, or (d) explain how this work illuminates the topic of your bibliography