Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W - Summer Session II, 2021 - Hong Section: Conducting Research


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W_HongSection_Summer2021

New UC Library Search

Searching UC Library Search will allow you to find books and resources in all formats at UCI and across all UC Libraries.  You may retrieve items we don’t have at UCI.  To find resources outside UC libraries in all formats you will search UC Library Search- Worldcat.  For more information on searching the new interface, please visit https://vimeo.com/581977654

 

Additional UC Library Search features the following enhancements: Use the left sidebar to refine your results and select:
  • Search your home campus library collection as well as the collections of all 10 UC libraries in the same system;
  • Locate the full text of millions of print and online books, journal articles, and other content
  • Borrow and renew materials from any library in the UC system without retyping your library card number
  • Advanced Search is a keyword search, same as “Basic.” It provides more options and ways to control what you are searching and what your results will be.
  • Browse searching, or left-anchored searching, searches ONLY THE CATALOG and is only available from the Browse link in the headers.
  • Sort by – to choose output – relevance is the default but you can choose most date-newest, date-oldest, title, author
  • Show Only – for online access, peer-reviewed journals, OA content, Print materials
  • Resource Type – not everything in any category but allows you to choose
  • Location – corresponds to print holdings
  • Publication Date – enter the years of publication you want covered
  • Language – select languages in which you can read
  • UC Libraries – to restrict to local holdings

 

Use UC Library Search


Find books, government documents, maps and more ...
 

How to use UC Library Search? Contact Librarian

Getting Started

There are Subject Guides that may be helpful to consult - there is one corresponding to each academic department in the Samueli School of Engineering and the Bren School of Information & Computer Sciences and for all other academic units and subject areas such as Biology or Medicine or Environmental Sciences prepared by other librarians.  These may provide more relevant and advanced content. 

Finding Books & E-Books

FINDING BOOKS and EBOOKS:  Regardless of the format in print or eBooks, you will search Library Holdings in Catalogs such as those mentioned in the previous box that notes the Online Public Access Catalogs (opacs) and by collections, and by individual titles or authors to locate specific books.  Some collections are publisher specific and are noted below.

  • Online Catalogs:
    • UC Library Search – new discovery layer that allows you to search items held in the UC Irvine Libraries via Library Catalog (Langson Library – LL), Science Library (SL), and Grunigen Medical Library (GML)  and Law Library - note format - can search by records at source level; or restricted to just Articles via a growing number of databases or Almost Anything that will retrieve all formats and a range of content.  This is not a substitute for searching subject specific databases.  Use Advanced Search to restrict searches to higher relevancy.
    •  
    • WorldCat- Global library holdings with links to UCI holdings
    •  
    • Global Books in Print - directory of books in print
    •  
    • Amazon.com- commercial inventory - can be checked for items not in our collection and ordered via ILL

       

  • Library of Congress Subject Headings – the authority that offers the structured vocabulary for relevant output for searching Library Search by Subject Headings. Keyword searching may retrieve more output but may not be as relevant. Keyword also searches the author, title, source fields and elements in an abstract when searching in a database, as well as the Subject Headings.  One easy way to establish the Subject Headings is to search Library Catalog by Subject (use pull-down tabs) and then when you find a relevant book, scroll down to the list of subject headings and click on one of them and other books in the collection will be retrieved.  Corresponding classification schemes mapped to call numbers are found in this outline.

             For your group project you will want to compare the Subject Heading, wearable technology to searching wearable technology as a "wildcard" or "Almost Anything"  and see the different outputs.  In the Advanced Search you can restrict to books or journals or articles or images.

E-Books - as noted there are an increasing number of eBooks to which you have access and most can be read, downloaded and copied at the chapter level. They are all listed in Library Search and by individual title and by series. There are many collections of such resources and some of the collections can be searched collectively:

CRCnetBASE - a large collection of Engineering and related books published by the CRC Press and now part of the Taylor & Francis Group. There are many titles in different subject areas - specifically EngnetBASE and within that part of the database are included books on Civil, Mechanical, Biomedical, Electrical Engineering. 

Knovel - a very large database of books in engineering, chemistry and materials science including many reference works published by a variety of publishers. UCI does NOT have access to the Sustainability Energy and Development titles yet.  Access to all other titles in collection are noted and should be available.

OHE (O'Reilly for HIgher Education) 

A collection of 48,000 titles of technical eBooks, videos, interactive tutorials, case studies, learning paths and audio books from O’Reilly and selective titles from 200+ global publishers covering subject ranges from Business, Desktop & Web Applications, Data Science & Management, Digital Media, Engineering, Information Technology & Software Development & Architecture, Math & Sciences, and Personal & Professional Development going back to 2007. This database also contains 30,000 hours of video including presentations from O’Reilly for Higher Education.

 

Springer Books and Series - large collection of science and engineering books published by global publisher Springer with imprint dates from 2008 forward.

National Academies Press - Output of the National Academies of Science & Engineering of commissioned research reports and books.

Wiley / IEEE Books - Available from the IEEE Xplore platform on topics ranging from bioengineering, communication, networking, robotics, signal processing, materials, electromagnetics, general topics, etc.

SPIE Online Books - Mostly on the subject of optics and photovoltaics.

ASM Books - Available via Knovel and on the ASM platform - covers materials science.

·  Google books

The Google legal agreement has been settled and there are 3 categories of books that can be searched: 1) In copyright & in-print books: titles that are available for purchase and may already be in our library collections to borrow 2) In-copyright but out of print books: titles that may be in library collections but can be purchased from special sources that handle out of print titles 3) Out of Copyrighted Books: Books that users can read, download and print and for which links will be available.

more...

·  Amazon.com

Commercial site that may direct you to interesting items including some that may still be forthcoming; you can check to see if they are at UCI by consulting Library Search.

·  Hathi Trust Digital Library

As a digital repository for the nation’s great research libraries, HathiTrust brings together the immense collections of partner institutions ... HathiTrust membership currently consists of the member libraries of the Committee on Institutional Cooperation (CIC) the University of California system, and the University of Virginia. You can register and save information by forming customized collections.  Ends September 10, 2021

·  America's WILD READ

A virtual book club that will engage and inspire people to connect with the outdoors.

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu