Skip to Main Content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W, Spring 2022 - Hong Section: Assignments


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W_HongSection_Spring2022

Hints

HINTS

There are many hints about how to become a more effective communicator, writer and presenter.  Remember that this first and foremost is an advanced technical writing class.  Some ideas include:

1.  Write from an outline

2.  Expect to write several drafts

3.  Use Tracking to see revisions

4.  Create Bibliography as you write - consider using Bibliographic Management Software - RefWorks to allow you to save citations, recall them and apply them in your bibliography using standard formatting with one key-stroke.  This is a free web-based program that the Library licenses for all UCI affiliates but for which you must register

5.  For a research paper, you may find the following outline helpful:

Executive Summary

Hypothesis

Background/ Description of Problem or Question/Context/Importance

Research Methodology

Findings

Summary of Literature Review

Conclusions

Acceptance or rejection of the hypothesis

6.  Read paper aloud - see cadences and length of sentences - shorten when possible for clarity

7.  Create your portfolio.

Working in Groups

Some hints for achieving success iin group projects:

  1. establish a group leader to keep everyone focused and on task
  2. contract with one another about what each will deliver
  3. share information widely
  4. work from an outline
  5. remember that group effort contributes to defining everyone's outcome
  6. use MS Word Tracking (under Review Tab to activate)
  7. consider using a platform such as Google Drive to share writing passages and ideas - you will need to register.
  8. Make sure you can connect over Zoom or in a Skype call when needed to discuss your group work & projects, practice public speaking and your final presentation to get feedback

Group Assignment - Case Study

Following each entry in the outline or structure to the Group Assignment are a list of sources that will respond to each aspect of it - you don't have to use any of them but realizing that there are such resources will make you realize that you can use supportive evidence to document needs.

Since I can't join you in class, I have set up 3 sessions that students from any of the sections can attend to see how many of these resources can be searched and used - please join any of the zoom sessions or schedule on the Guide or by sending an eMail to librarian

Each group will create a product, like The Allergy Ally and members will have to approach the planning for the product to cover each of the following areas that develop the theme, Wearable and/or Internet of Things technology that provides a solution to a real problem.  It is like creating a business plan for this new product, so you will divide the research and work.  Your research will suggest that you find/cite evidence to substantiate your claims & arguments in the following areas that you must define, with some recommendations for different information resources to consult for each section - the closest alliance to the engineering literature is business information and I have provided many links to those sources:

  1. The Problem (evidence to show the problem to solve is real, not just your own impression) - search the major theme of your topic in resources, listed on the "Choosing Databases" tab, such as Business Source Complete,  Academic Search Complete (these two can be searched concurrently on the same platform  - by clicking on "Choose Databases" under the top blue banner) Gale Opposing Viewpoints, BCC Research - highly recommend because it gives an international portfolio of coverage in a 5 year window), Plunketts Research Online
  2. The Solution (evidence to show the technology as a solution is real, not just your imagination) - some of the above noted resources plus the following more basic databases: Compendex,  Materials Science & Engineering Database, IEEE Xplore, PubMed (clinical medicine coverage - will be technical); Gartner- different outputs including Magic Quadrants, Hype Cycles, Special Reports - all exceptionally well documented; IBIS World and eMarketer
  3. The Target Customer (evidence to show that there is a need, need to know customer demographic/needs profile, etc., make sure there is demand) - search for data in Google with a strategy like these:
    1. census of overweight population - you will retrieve The State of Obesity 2020; Overweight & Obesity Statistics
    2. what are top trends in fitness in 2022 - you will retrieve Wearable Technology is the Top Fitness Trend in 2022, Per Survey
    3. one of our newest sources is CB Insight - which gives you big insights in how startups function
  4. The Competition (evidence to show there are similar competitors in the marketplace) - BCC Research; content listed below from CES shows; Simply Analytics (use variables data after starting new project in specified location with Experian Simmons data for consumer behavior; or Sports Market Analytics
  5. The Method Approach (Timeline, cost analysis-component and labor cost estimates, based on credible evidence) - business data for entrepreneurship or development of a given product
  6. User Risk Management (Any standards to consider, especially when it relates to medical devices, etc.) - use ASTM SEDL - and search specific product for ASTM standards related to it; also have IEEE Standards;  To pitch an idea these resources will introduce the concepts and strategies to do it successfully

Hints for Specific Groups

There are several good sources for different aspects of the topic, wearable technology/portable technology/Interent-of-Things.  

According to the CES 2019 speculations, "Wearable used to mean “tracker.” Now SNS Telecom and IT estimate an exploding wearable device market of $45 billion by 2021. Wearables will find new form factors and use cases in the workplace, healthcare, fashion and even under the skin! The innovative creators of this transformative lifestyle market will congregate in 2019 to look into the wearable future."

Please use these refinements as a starting point and then consider what additional sources of information are needed - the links to the sources are found below:

  • materials - textiles, electronics
  • fabrication and production
  • functionality and purpose
  • unit costs and economic investment
  • images

Appropriate subject headings include:

  • Wearable technology
  • Waterproofing of fabrics
  • Flexible electronics
  • Smart materials
  • Smartwatches
  • Electronic textiles
  • Textile fabrics - Technological innovations
  • Fashion
  • Internet of things
  • Embedded Internet devices
  • Distributed operating systems

Liaison Librarian

Profile Photo
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Overall Assignments

You have several assignments in this class.  They include writing essays, group collaboration, presentations, research papers, technical papers.