Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W - Fall 2019 - Hong Section: Managing & Citing Information


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W_HongSection_Fall2019

Citing Sources

In order to avoid plagiarism and to honor intellectual integrity, make sure that you cite the authority in a bibliographic reference to anything that is not your original writing or creation - that means when you quote a passage, insert a graphic image, figures, or illustration, that you cite the original source. This class will use the IEEE Editorial Style Manual (2017).  The style manual you choose to follow should document how you cite electronic resources. Standard formats include the following reference elements:

Standard formats include the following reference elements:

For a Journal article or conference proceeding:

Author(s) - last name, first name, MI, - [include multiple authors if noted] (date), Title of article. Source of Article/Title of Journal. volume #, (issue #): pages. If it is only an electronic publication with no reference to print pages, then you cite the DOI - Digital Object Identifier and the date last visited.

If it is a conference paper, then you cite the Source of the Publication, Title of conference, date and location of meeting.

For books, the format is:

Author, editor of volume or chapter, (imprint date). Title of chapter in Title of Book, edited by editor if different. City of Publication: Publisher, page references. Note if it is an eBook.

For full volume:

Author, (date). Title of Book. City of Publisher, Publisher: pages

**IEEE Citation Style**- The IEEE Editorial Style Manual (2017) notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled.

MLA Style Format is documented in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 2009 at any of the UCI Library Reference Desks at           REF LIB 2369 G53 2009

APA Style - the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 2010 is the current Style Manual and is found at all REF desks at: REF BF 76.7 P83 2010 - for additional support with the APA style manual please consult the APA Style & Citation Resources tab at http://libguides.lib.uci.edu/psychology

Other hints:

  1. Avoid plagiarism, be ethical – OVERCITE!
    Plagiarism: what it is and how to recognize and avoid it. A guide prepared by the Writing Tutorial Services, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN http://www.indiana.edu/~wts?plagiarism.html

     

  2. Consult http://www.turnitin.com, a plagiarism detection program - ask your professor if you are interested in this.

     

  3. Be consistent

     

  4. Work on your presentation skills
    • very important now
    • when interviewing for job

     

  5. For additional information, consult with instructor, librarian, examine your style manual.

     

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual.  For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.

Finding Images

The Subject Guide for Finding Images should be a point of departure. 

Organizing and Managing Images

There are a number of ways to manage images and materials scientists may find these useful.
  • Digital Image Collections Wikispaces  
    The Digital Images Collections Wiki is a resource of Free- and Fair-Use digital image collections that are available for anyone to use for personal or educational purposes.
  • Flickr - The Commons  
    World's public photography collection/archive. Library of Congress, various museums, and libraries have also posted photographs for you to view
  • ARTstor  The UCI Libraries are providing campus-wide access to a new image management tool for research and teaching.
  • See also the Subject Guide for Images

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu