Assignments - Engineering 190W - Spring 2024 - Bach Sections - Research Guides at University of California Irvine

APA Citation

The 7th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 2020 is the current Style Manual and is found at all REF desks at: REF BF 76.7 P83 2020 - for additional support with the APA style manual please consult the following resources and follow this example for a journal article:

author (date of publication). Title of article. Source of article. Volume #, issue #, page references. DOI (if listed) - example:

Meadows, A., Nolan, L. J., & Higgs, S. (2017). Self-perceived food addiction: Prevalence, predictors, and prognosis. Appetite 114, 282-298. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.appet.2017.03.051

Additional Resources for APA 7th ed

Overall Assignments

You have several assignments in this class. They include writing essays, group collaboration, presentations, research papers, technical papers.

Engineering Ethics Essay
Examine the NSPE Code of Ethics as a baseline for impact when you consider other applications.
Collaborative Research Paper I & Presentation
with subsequent drafts & use of powerpoint
Extemporaneous Speaking
3 min on topic of choice - consider support from Toastmasters for ongoing help in this area
Midterm Technical Research Paper & Presentation
Journal Article Summary & Presentation
Collaborative Research Paper II & Presentation
Peer Review of classmate's writing
You will want to consider the reading experience of this paper - did the full paper deliver everything noted in the abstract? Were you able to find the sources that were cited or discussed? What about clarity, conciseness and meeting objectives? Did it meet your expectations? What kind of impact did it have?

Hints

HINTS

There are many hints about how to become a more effective communicator, writer and presenter. Remember that this first and foremost is an advanced technical writing class. Some ideas include:

1. Write from an outline

2. Expect to write several drafts

3. Use Tracking to see revisions

4. Create Bibliography as you write - consider using Bibliographic Management Software -

5. For a research paper, you may find the following outline helpful:

Hypothesis

Background/ Description of Problem or Question/Context/Importance

Research Methodology

Findings

Summary of Literature Review

Conclusions

Acceptance or rejection of the hypothesis

6. Read paper aloud - see cadences and length of sentences - shorten when possible for clarity

7. Create your portfolio.

Working in Groups

Some hints for achieving success iin group projects:

establish a group leader to keep everyone focused and on task
contract with one another about what each will deliver
share information widely
work from an outline
use Tracking option in MS Word - go to "Review" tab, click on "Tracking Changes" to activate and save different versions that will note editorial revisions
remember that group effort contributes to defining everyone's outcome
consider using a platform such as Google Drive to share writing passages and ideas - you will need to register - see http://www.google.uci.edu/ and http://www.google.com/google-d-s/documents/

Hints for Specific Assignments

There are several different assignments to be completed in this brief term and some hints follow for each assignment:

Ethics essay - follow the recommended methods to consult appropriate resources about a real-world engineering case study or scenario
Collaborative or Group Research Project - establish some basic ground rules in conducting research, sharing information, drafting sections, editing to create a "common voice" - set up some ways that each group member can lead and be aware of progress of other members
Technical Research Paper - write from an outline; conduct research early on; consider consulting with a librarian
Presentations - consider any supplemental materials that you will use in your presentations - posters, powerpoint, and make sure that it is a blend of text and images, with everything well documented and cited
Finding appropriate journal article. Consider audience to whom you will present so that content is appropriate and interesting - Think of your topic. Browse or search in appropriate database or index to find several articles and then choose the one that is most relevant. Consider the main points of the article when you write up the summary and prepare oral presentation.
Technical description to a generalist audience - consider directions to a new gadget or appliance or summary of something that is complete - a good exercise is to read the general news magazines or newspapers and compare the coverage of it with the original scientific or technical article on which it is based
Public speaking - inject humor and relevance to the talk or presentation; appear relaxed and comfortable with topic as well anticipate any questions that may be posed

Hints for Group Assignments

There are several good sources for each topic - please use them as a starting point and then consider what additional sources of information are needed - the links to the sources are found below:

Section: 8:00 am class -

Group 1 - Artificial Intelligence

Subject Headings include: AI, Artificial intelligence, Machine learning

Sources will include: ACM Digital Library; Compendex; Inspec; IEEE Xplore, Academic Search Complete; Business Source Complete; BCC Research; Gartners - and depending on the exact aspect of your research can identify other databases.

Group 2 - Electric Vehicles

Subject Headings include: Electric vehicles

Sources will include: Transport; Compendex; Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Database; TRID; TRB; SAE Mobilus; ASME Digital Collection; IEEE Xplore; BCC Research; UCLS for books, book chapters and articles

Group 3 - Renewable Sources of Energy (solar,wind, hydro, geothermal & biomass)

Recommended subject headings: Renewable energy sources; Smart power grids, Internet of things; Solar; Wind; Hydropower; Geothermal; Biomass energy

Sources will include: Knovel, Compendex, Inspec, ASME, SAE, Academic Search Complete, BCC Research, Plunkett Research Online, UCLS

Group 4 - Virtual Reality & Human Perception

Recommended subject headings: Virtual reality; Perception; Cognitive sciences;

Recommended Sources will include: UCLS; PsycINFO; Academic Search Complete; Scopus; Web of Science

Group 5 - Quantum Teleportation

Recommended subject headings: Quantum teleportation; Quantum optics

Recommended Sources will include: UCLS, Web of Science; Compendex; Proquest Materials Science & Engineering Collection; SPIE; Optic

Section: 10:30 am Class

Group 1 - 5G Technology Applications

Recommended subject headings: 5G mobile communication systems; Telecommunication - Technological innovations; Broadband communication systems; Wireless communications systems

Recommended Sources: Business Source Complete; BCC Research; Frost & Sullivan; Gartners; Compendex; Inspec; IEEE Xplore; ACM Digital Library

Group 2 - MAGLEV

Subject headings include: High speed ground transportation; Magnetic levitation vehicles;

Sources will include: UCLS; ASCE Digital Library; SAE Mobilus; Compendex; Materials Science & Engineering Collection; Business Search Complete; BCC Research; Frost & Sullivan; Transport; TRID

Group 3 - AI in Transportation

Recommended Subject Headings: Artificial intelligence; Intelligent transportation systems; Transportation Technology and Traffic Engineering

Recommended Sources: Compendex; Inspec; Scopus; ACM Digital Library; IEEE Xplore, Academic Search Complete; Business Source Complete; ASCE Digital Library; Transport; TRID

Group 4 - Future of eVehicles

Recommended Subject Headings: Electric vehicles; Hybrid electric vehicles; Transportation

Recommended Sources: Compendex; UC Library Search; Transport; TRID; Scopus; Web of Science; ASCE Research Library; SAE Moibilus; BCC Research; Plunkett Research Online;

Group 5 - Water Pollution

Recommended Subject Headings: Water- Pollution; Water resources development; Hydrologic cycle; Waste products, Water quality management; Pollution, Groundwater, Environmental sciences; Watershed management; Hydrology; Water Science; Biodiversity; Coastal ecology

Recommended Sources: Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Collection; Agricola; Scopus; Compendex; BIOSIS; Water Resources Abstracts; IWA Publishing - Journals; ASCE Research Library; Web of Science; Academic Search Complete; UCLS for books, book chapters & articles

Section: 1pm Class

Group 1 - Genetic Engineering

Subject headings include: Genetic engineering, Gene expression, Biotechnology; CRISPR

Sources will include: Compendex; Materials Science & Engineering Collection; Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Collection; Biotechnology Research Abstracts; BCC Research; Plunkett Research Online (in the Biotechnology, Drugs & Genetics Industry section); Gale Opposing Viewpoints; UCLS for books

Group 2: Water Pollution/Pollutants/PFAS

Group 3: Electric Vehicles: Positive Opportunities

Recommended Subject Headings: Electric vehicles; Electric vehicles - Environmental impact

Recommended Sources: Opposing Viewpoints; Digital Think Tanks; Compendex; SAE Mobilus; ASME Digital Collection; IEEE Xplore;

Group 4: Rocket Propulsion Engineering

Recommended Subject Headings: Astronautics; Planets - Exploration; Aerospace Technology and Astronautics; Space Sciences; Propulsion

Recommended Sources: AIAA Aerospace Research Central; Compendex; Scopus; Web of Science; Factiva; Begell Digital Library

Group 5: Artificial Intelligence: Cultural Interactions

Recommended Subject Headings: Artificial intelligence; Digital humanities; Sociology of Culture; History of Technology; Culture and Technology

Recommended Sources: UC Library Search; Compendex; Academic Search Complete; Business Source Complete; Opposing Viewpoints; Web of Science; Scopus

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual. For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.

EndNote and EndNote Basic
more...less...
There is an abbreviated free web version available via the Web of Science Databases. However, there is no UCI campus license to the full coverage of EndNote and if one chooses to use EndNote, it is recommended that one go to the UCI Bookstore and purchase it with an academic discount, and load it on a personal computer or laptop. Currently the Libraries provide access to EndNote version 6 in the Multimedia Resources Center (MRC), Langson Library Technology Enhanced Classroom (TEC), Interactive Learning Center (ILC), and in the Grunigen Medical Library at the UCI Medical Center. It is recommended that you take the trial on the Registration Page first before you invest in this product to see how it supports your workstyle.
Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. Software can be downloaded on a specific computer.
Zotero
Zotero is a free, open-source reference management tool that offers both a downloadable software for Windows, Mac, and Linux and browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox , or Safari.
more...less...
Researchers can add searchable notecards to their citations, organize them with tags, attach files to them, arrange them into folders, or export them as formatted citations. Zotero can capture a single citation or an entire results list of sources, which researchers can work with either online or offline.
Bibsonomy
Bibsonomy is a scholarly bookmarking service that offers its users related tags, the ability to create groups, and the ability to export records to BibTeX.
more...less...
Bibsonomy members can construct friends networks, import their del.icio.us links, generate private entries, and import their BibTeX libraries.
Mathematica
Provides quick links to support documents for Mathematica software.