Skip to main content
* UC Irvine access only

Engineering 190W - Summer Session I, 2019 - Bach Section: Home


URL: https://guides.lib.uci.edu/ENGR190W_SS12019_Bach

Introduction & Background

This handout is to support students in this class on communication strategies and technical writing for engineers. It is organized to augment your assignments and serve as direction for conducting research for a range of information products and sources, perfecting writing and composition; developing presentation skills, etc. You have several assignments and this handout contains recommendations to several sources relevant to each task.

Building Research Skills

The UCI Libraries Homepage is your point of departure and serves as a gateway to all online resources that are used for teaching and research. In late Summer 2009, the new Library website was launched as the campus migrated to a new content management system.  This website will direct you to information resources and services, specifically, the online databases and will give you access to all that is defined by "Resource Tools" and "Finding Online Resources" There are two functions on this screen - to BROWSE assuming you know the title; and to SEARCH when you can search by title word or keyword. This new page allows you to search all online resources collectively or by type:

 

Evaluating Information

When using Online or Internet Resources, consider Search Engines vs. metasites - evaluate resource - be attentive to domain -may include .com, .edu, .org, .gov, .net

Evaluating Information – Applying the CRAAP Test

For Currency, Relevance, Authority, Accuracy, Purpose

http://www.csuchico.edu/lins/handouts/eval_websites.pdf

 

Goal is to establish relevancy.  The evaluation criteria includes these issues:

 

Scope of coverage

Currency – be able to distinguish currency from timeliness

Relevance – meaningful to what audience; at what level; will you cite it as authoritative?

Authority – stem is author – establishes the source of the information – author/publisher/source/sponsor; organizational affiliations & credentials; contact information

Accuracy – reliability, correctness of content; supported by evidence; is it verifiable; is tone unbiased, objective, impartial & free of emotion; free of errors?

Purpose – are hypotheses and authors’ intentions clear?  Why is content important – to inform, teach, sell, entertain or persuade?  Any political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional or personal biases?

Ease of use – Capturing, copying, citing; design & presentation

Citing Sources

In order to avoid plagiarism and to honor intellectual integrity, make sure that you cite the authority in a bibliographic reference to anything that is not your original writing or creation - that means when you quote a passage, insert a graphic image, figures, or illustration, that you cite the original source. The style manual you choose to follow should document how you cite electronic resources. Examples of resources that support multiple style manuals is noted in the Quick Reference Guide for Writing.  Standard formats include the following reference elements:

Standard formats include the following reference elements:

For a Journal article or conference proceeding:

Author(s) - last name, first name, MI, - [include multiple authors if noted] (date), Title of article. Source of Article/Title of Journal. volume #, (issue #): pages. If it is only an electronic publication with no reference to print pages, then you cite the DOI - Digital Object Identifier and the date last visited.

If it is a conference paper, then you cite the Source of the Publication, Title of conference, date and location of meeting.

For books, the format is:

Author, editor of volume or chapter, (imprint date). Title of chapter in Title of Book, edited by editor if different. City of Publication: Publisher, page references. Note if it is an eBook.

For full volume:

Author, (date). Title of Book. City of Publisher, Publisher: pages

There are numerous different style guides and for this course you will use the APA Style Manual noted below in red.

IEEE Style Manual  - The IEEE Editorial Style Manual (2017) notes the specific ways that references and footnotes are to be handled.  You will be writing with a model of California Engineer - check it out at the Science Library Current Periodicals Room by journal title or for back issues, by call number TA 1 C28 in the Science Library Drum (round part of the Library)

ACM Style Manual - supports the Association of Computing Machinery publications.

Comparison of Computer Science/Engineering Style Manuals - Compares IEEE, ACM and APA for every form of output.

*MLA Style Format is documented in the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 2009 at any of the UCI Library Reference Desks at      REF LB 2369 G53 2009

*APA Style Format  - The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed., 2010 is at every Reference Desk - REF BF 76.7 P83 2010.  A cheat sheet with many examples of how to cite different types of sources in many formats can be consulted.  Additional recommended resources are noted at this site. 

Chicago Style Manual - an online version of the Chicago Style Manual is now available

Other hints:

  1. Avoid plagiarism, be ethical – OVERCITE!
    Plagiarism: what it is and how to recognize and avoid it. A guide prepared by the Writing Tutorial Services, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN http://www.indiana.edu/~wts?plagiarism.html

     

  2. Consult http://www.turnitin.com, a plagiarism detection program - ask your professor if you are interested in this.

     

  3. Be consistent

     

  4. Work on your presentation skills
    • very important now
    • when interviewing for job

     

  5. For additional information, consult with instructor, librarian, examine your style manual.

     

Bibliographic Management Software

BIBLIOGRAPHIC MANAGEMENT SOFTWARE - allows you to discover, find, manage, recall and apply the citations you retrieve from all formats of work - journal articles, book chapters, edited volumes, standards, specifications, patents, conference papers & proceedings, lectures, etc. Neither Zotero nor EndNote support BibTeX or LaTeX, only the usual wordprocessing languages or Legal Style Manual.  For additional information, please visit the Bibliographic Management Software page.

Organizing and Managing Images

There are a number of ways to manage images and materials scientists may find these useful.

Liaison Librarian

Julia Gelfand's picture
Julia Gelfand
Contact:
Office: Science Library 228

Phone: 949-824-4971

EMail: jgelfand@uci.edu

Library Hours

Please check on the website for Library hours

During the academic year, the UCI libraries will be open Monday-Thursday from 8am-11pm

Friday from 8am-6pm

Saturday  from 1-5pm & Sunday from 1-11pm

All libraries will be closed on Monday, November 11 for Veterans Day & November 27-28 for Thanksgiving but  will be open the following  weekend.

Gateway Commons is open  from Monday-Thursday from 8am-3am; Friday from 8am - 9pm; Saturday from 5-9pm and Sunday from 5pm - 3am.

Please use the Campus Safety Escorts when leaving the Libraries alone after dark by calling 949-824-7233

 

 

Connecting from Off-Campus

Researching from home? Use the VPN Links below to access our databases.   Instructions on connecting from off-campus should be followed - for additional information, consult with NACS at 949-824-2222

Software VPN - strongly urge you to rely upon this method if you use the same computer all the time - less hiccups and complications

Web VPN

More Information Regarding the VPN

Mobile Access Optimized @ UCI

Increasingly many of our licensed library resources are available via mobile devices - this link will tell you what is available and on what platform.  

Ask A Librarian

For Chat, Text, eMail and to schedule a Research Consultation with a Librarian, use:

 

Ask A Librarian

Copying/Printing at the Libraries

Your UCI PhotoID will serve as your copy card for xeroxing and printing.  It requires that money be added to it by inserting it in one of the Regenerator machines found throughout the UCI Libraries.  Enter a few dollars at a time and add to it when it is depleted.  Costs will be debited at the rate of 8 cents per copy or xerox made; 12 cents per page of printing and more for color printing.  Beginning in Fall 2009, it will also be good in all campus IT centers but the costs for different functions may vary.