Research Guides: Sociology: Race &amp; Society

Academics on Related Racial Issue

Global Digital Media Prof Jonathan Corpus Ong
Research areas of global media ethics, digital politics, and the anthropology of humanitarianism. In his disinformation studies research, Jonathan uses ethnography to understand the social identities, work arrangements and moral justifications of "paid trolls" and political public relations strategists.

Library Link Backs

UCI Libraries - ReWatching History: Uncovering Diversity in our Past contains themed streaming media options to learn more about this topic. Also see our diversity statement and access the various collections.

Cultural Studies Guides

African American Studies
by Melissa Beuoy Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 466 views this year
Asian American Studies
by Julia Huynh Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 243 views this year
Middle East Studies
by Nicole Arnold Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 148 views this year
Native American Studies
by Melissa Beuoy Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 604 views this year
Latin American & Caribbean Studies
by Melissa Beuoy Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 167 views this year
Italian Studies
by Melissa Beuoy Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 70 views this year
Chicano / Latino Studies
by Elizabeth V. Hernandez Last Updated Sep 25, 2024 692 views this year
Asian Studies
by Ying Zhang Last Updated Oct 4, 2024 3415 views this year
Gender and Sexuality Studies
by Melissa Beuoy Last Updated Sep 20, 2024 670 views this year
Russian Studies
by Mitchell Brown Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 202 views this year

Intro

Societal Issues involving race and gender can make us uncomfortable and can be hard to understand, analyze, and explain.

What are the domino effects that have led to this situation? Many reasons might include manifest destiny, colonialism, along with self-righteousness, power, money, greed, capitalism and other commandeering actions. There is likely a pervasive propaganda mechanism within each society that allows for manipulative behavior throughout history. How was it structured? Unfounded and wrong-footed in hindsight, many past decisions create enduring ripples and ridges in society, growing deeper, and today we take for granted as the correct form of society, when it is not, and was not.

How to research these societal themes: Research the social and political balance over time. Who had the power and who markedly did not? Research the social pressures and trade in that part of the world - climate, culture, natural resources. Research the cultural museums, libraries and archives in the region and the data they've collected - what did the community find important rather than the textbooks? What history was saved and who's did not survive the test of time? Research the population growth and expansion, or lack thereof. What culture thrived and why?

Indigenous Awareness

UCI is on located on traditionally shared territory of the Acjachemen and Tongva peoples.

Native Land Acknowledgements: https://sacd.sdsu.edu/diversity-resources/land-acknowledgment and https://native-land.ca/

Eroding Indigenous Sovereignty - The Nation Article September 2024

Nearly 1,000 Native Children Died at Boarding Schools, Interior Dept. Finds - NYT Article July 2024

New fund to plant seeds of reparations for California’s Native American communities - CalMatters Article May 2022

Native American Studies Research Guide
Librarians across the US and Canada have started a collection of tribal resources, archives and scholarly works that may assist your research.
Blas Aguilar Adobe Museum and Acjachemen Cultural Center
Center's Facebook page to learn more about how they are educating the community on the Juaneño / Acjachemen people
Sacred Places Institute for Indigenous Peoples
Advocates for environmental, social and cultural justice and works locally, regionally, and globally to build the capacity of Native Nations and Indigenous Peoples to protect sacred lands, waters, and cultures.
National Indigenous Women's Resource Center
Providing national leadership to end violence against American Indian, Alaska Native and Native Hawaiian women by lifting up the collective voices of grassroots advocates and offering culturally grounded resources, technical assistance and training, and policy development to strengthen tribal sovereignty.
Sovereign Bodies Institute
Built on Indigenous traditions of data gathering and knowledge transfer to create, disseminate, and put into action research on gender and sexual violence against Indigenous people.
Operation Lady Justice
Presidential Task Force to enhance the operation of the criminal justice system and address the legitimate concerns of American Indian and Alaska Native communities regarding missing and murdered women and girls.
UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
Establishes a universal framework of minimum standards for the survival, dignity and well-being of the indigenous peoples of the world.
California Truth and Healing Fund The California Truth & Healing Council, created by Governor Newsom via Executive Order N-15-19, bears witness to, records, examines existing documentation of, and receives California Native American narratives regarding the historical relationship between the State of California and California Native Americans in order to clarify the historical record of such relationship in the spirit of truth and healing.
Land Back: The Indigenous Fight to Reclaim Stolen Lands
KQED article on the Indigenous Land Back movement.
more...less...
Landback - https://landback.org/ and other resources in article sources.
AlterNative Journal
Internationally peer-reviewed interdisciplinary journal on latest thinking and practice in Indigenous scholarship, on Indigenous worldviews and experiences of decolonization from Indigenous perspectives from around the world.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Collection
An extensive collection of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures, complemented by essays written by anthropologists, historians, and teachers.
more...less...
More online primary source from UCSD https://ucsd.libguides.com/primarysources/nativeamericans

Decolonizing Methodologies by Linda Tuhiwai Smith
ISBN: 9781786998125
To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This book explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being.

Asian Hate

UCI Libraries OC&SEAA Center (bottom of the Gateway Plaza) and their projects promote the history and diaspora of South East Asian Communities through instruction, oral histories, internships and more.

Review their amazing work and collections today! Get involved, find a mentor, and add to the community.

(Sometimes other's do it better - please see these great resource collections from other Universities)

Addressing Racism Against Asian Americans - an Exhibit Resource List from UC Davis

Stop Asian Hate: Anti-Racism & Cultural Awareness - general information and research sources from CSUSM that raise awareness of racial, cultural, and social issues impacting Asian Pacific Islander Desi American (APIDA) communities, particularly in light of the recent spate of hate crimes during the era of Covid-19

LGBTQIA+

Transgender Resources
Based in Miami Florida, this guide provides health and social services resources to the transgender community.

Racial Injustice

The 1619 Project
An journalism expose of the 400th anniversary of the first enslaved people arriving in America. - "A re-education is necessary."
more...less...
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_1619_Project
https://pulitzercenter.org/projects/1619-project-pulitzer-center-education-programming
Black Lives Matter
A global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes.
Eyes on the Prize; America's Civil Rights Movement 1954-1985
Produced by Blackside, EYES ON THE PRIZE tells the definitive story of the civil rights era from the point of view of the ordinary men and women whose extraordinary actions launched a movement that changed the fabric of American life, and embodied a struggle whose reverberations continue to be felt today.
more...less...
EYES ON THE PRIZE recounts the fight to end decades of discrimination and segregation. It is the story of the people -- young and old, male and female, northern and southern -- who, compelled by a meeting of conscience and circumstance, worked to eradicate a world where whites and blacks could not go to the same school, ride the same bus, vote in the same election, or participate equally in society.
Scholars for Black Lives
For collectives of scholars and researchers politically committed to the labor of conducting engaged scholarship, facilitating political education through public teaching, and advocating against injustice toward the improvement of the material conditions for everyday Black people.
Minority Health & Health Equity Archive
An electronic archive for digital resource materials in the fields of minority health and health disparities research and policy. Open to the public, academic scholars and health science researchers via the Digital Repository at the University of Maryland.
Resource Center for Minority Data
For comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States. Studies of immigration, place of origin, ancestry, ethnicity, and race.
Reparations in California; Exploring the Road to Racial Equity
Explore (this article series) why California launched the first-in-the-nation task force to study reparations for Black people — and what reparations could mean for the state.
Racial Residential Segregation in American Cities
Many studies find that blacks who live in segregated metropolitan areas have lower educational attainment and lower earnings than their counterparts in more integrated areas. This difference appears to reflect the causal effect of segregation on economic outcomes.

Civil Rights Era & MLK Jr.

Martin Luther King Jr. Documentaries
Remember the lives lived in and around the civil rights era through it's patriarch. Select titles in collection are accessible

Racism & Discrimination

Covert Racism by Rodney D. Coates (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9789004207011
Covert racism, subtle in application, often appears hidden by norms of association, affiliation, group membership and/or identity. Covert racism operates as a boundary keeping mechanism whose primary purpose is to maintain social distance between racial majorities and racial minorities. Such boundary mechanisms work best when they are assumed natural, legitimate, and normal, often taught subconsciously or even unconsciously within social institutions and groups.
Racial Innocence by Tanya Katerí Hernández
Call Number: E184.S75 H477 2022
ISBN: 9780807020135
Our national conversations about racism appear oblivious to the fact that Latinos can be racists. Afro-Latinos and African Americans suffer from discrimination at the hands of some Latinos who claim that their racially mixed cultures immunize them from charges of racism.
A Savage Song by Margarita Aragon
ISBN: 9781526121684
Building on extensive archival research, the book examines how African and Mexican American men have been constructed as 'racial problems', investigating, in particular, their relationship with law enforcement and ideas about black and Mexican criminality.

"Understanding and Combating Racism" Book List
To support the campus educational role and intellectual discourse on this timely topic, the UCI Libraries offer an ebook collection: Understanding and Combating Racism.

Extremism and Hate

Neo-Fascism
Wiki page to areas within neo-fascism, group names, including white supremacy, and other starting points to review these global extremist movements.
United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism
Leadership, coordination and capacity-building are provided in support of Member States’ efforts to implement UN Global Counter-Terrorism Strategy and take practical steps to prevent and counter terrorism.

Celebrating One & All

The Middle East Studies Collection
Featuring important and timely films related to current events and those celebrating the diversity, history and contributions of Arab and Arab-American communities. These seldom told stories also give insight into the struggles of Arab and Arab-Americans that go beyond stereotypes.